4/12 Eleanor AMPS 291 +3 250 +6 257 PMPS 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...68-3-260-6-264-pmps-288-3-244-5-5-252.156054/

I only increased Eleanor's insulin by .25, to 4.75 instead of .5 to 5u. I realise I probably made a huge mistake. I did that because I am hoping the problem has been infection and as the penicillin works her bg will come down. Before she started mostly staying in blues and high greens, which I think was year two on Lantus, she would drop from high 200's to -30 when an infection was clearing.
Given that I am having a huge Lupus flare and am not functioning mentally and not fully waking up when I get up to test her, I'm concerned I might miss a big drop. I really did not want to increase the dose at all for a couple more days.

Eleanor is acting like her old self. No diabetes symptoms, eating on her own, sleeping beside me!!
Her mission for the day is trying to stuff herself into a small box. I'm just enjoying her and for now, trying not to think beyond this moment.
 
Great to hear Eleanor is feeling good today and have to love when they snuggle. It's better to be safe with her insulin needs and you know her best. Also have to remember your own health and ability to take care of her. Sending vines the infection clears and she comes down safely.
 
[QUOTEoodles & Karen, post: 1650920, member: 12801"]Great to hear Eleanor is feeling good today and have to love when they snuggle. It's better to be safe with her insulin needs and you know her best. Also have to remember your own health and ability to take care of her. Sending vines the infection clears and she comes down safely.[/QUOTE]

Thank you Karen.
 
Absolutely. Safe is the first consideration. Wise choice.

So nice to hear about snuggly kitties. And that she's feeling good. Here's hoping the infection clears and those numbers come down gently with the infection gone!

Marilyn and Polly
 
We usually recommend dose changes in 0.25 increments unless you have a really high dose kitty. Eleanor is not a high dose kitty.

I'm glad she's feeling good today. I love to watch a cat try to get into a small box.
 
I am so glad Eleanor is feeling better - that penicillin must be helping! We used it once with our civvie Petey, too, because the clavamox made him so incredibly ill - he also did well with the penicillin.

So cute that she's trying to stuff herself into a small box - silly sweet girl!!

Sending prayers that your flare passes ASAP....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top