4/12 Ducia +11 319, AMPS 279, sk 1U, +4 291

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Hello,

Today Ducia is in her 8th cycle since the reduction.

ETA at +4:
4/12 History: +11 319, AMPS 279, skinny 1U dose,+4 291 (1 h after 2 tsp 6%).
Really skinny dose v. 6% snack v. flat Yellow cycle v. bouncing?
Next snack 4%. Next test when wakes up and asks for food.


I was considering to increase her dose again but after she went down to 40 @+4 on Apr 11th I kept the dose. The PM cycle of 04/11 was Pink bouncing. If I am not mistaken, the nadir and the subsequent dose change cannot be made until after the bounce is cleared and nadir is determined.

However, because 1U sent her repeatedly too low and too fast ( as on 4/11 AMPS +2 149; +4 40 <2 hours after LC snack) I decided to try "shaving" the 1U dose.

I ended up filling the full unit into the syringe; there was small air bubble. I let it be. I did not let any drops out. On inspection the syringe looked full 1 unit with a bubble. After the shot I found a half drop like the one on the right in the picture below, maybe smaller than that:

DROP20DOSING_zpspwfcxphl.jpg


I hope it will make this 1U dose "shaved" because I want Ducia to have smoother lowering thru the day to nadir. If today she has another big drop/Light Green day I'll know she got her full unit and I don't know how to shave although watched the Demo video from the Sticky Note.

Was it a right decision to shave the dose? Or I did I make another mistake?

Maybe my husband can draw better and get 0.85 - 0.9U tonight. He has experience. My eye vision doesn't cooperate any longer.

Wishing you and your kitties wonderful day
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
On the spreadsheet, you should put the units as something like 1.0s, or s1.0 so that people know you did a skinny dose. Good luck with the new dose.
Was it a right decision to shave the dose? Or I did I make another mistake?
Ducia will let you know soon enough. She did hit 40 yesterday, and below 40 we strongly suggest a .25 unit reduction, so it could be too small a reduction. But like I said, Ducia will tell you. I used digital calipers to get those in between doses, and it also helps with consistency.
 
I put s1 in the dosage cell though not sure it was skinny.

She did hit 40 yesterday, and below 40 we strongly suggest a .25 unit reduction, so it could be too small a reduction.
I remember too well the talk about going below 50 3 times to earn a reduction for long time diabetics and for dose failures. There are also past ketones to worry about.
I used digital calipers to get those in between doses, and it also helps with consistency.
If that skinny dose works out well I will research about calipers more.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top