4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267; PMPS 211; +3 184- NEWBIE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93022CLEO'S CONDO

Morning all, hope this link works. Happy Friday :-D

Thunderstorms predicted in the afternoon for tomorrow. Hope they are wrong. I would not be able to test Cleo on time. She hides from thunderstorms. You would think she would be used to them living in FL, but no. My other guy, Opie, just sits out there (screened patio) and watches. He knows some lizards/frogs might come out to enjoy the warm wet. Simon is not afraid, but has the sense to come in from the rain.

Hope all kitties and their humans have a great day!
 
Re: 4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267

Cleo's condo

Morning! Here's your link. ;-)
Here's how it should look when you're ready to post... except the ???? won't be in there
[???url=http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93022]Cleo's condo[/url]

I'm crossing my fingers with you on the weather down here. No scarey thunderstorms!! have a great day!
 
Re: 4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267

We hate the thunderstorms too :-( Leo is currently hiding under the bed and isn't even coming out for treats and his test. Poor kittehs - I wonder why some are soooo scared. Have a good day and I hope Cleo relaxes.
 
Re: 4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267

Come down Cleo, thunderstorm is not scarry. Just concentrate on working the juice, K?
 
Re: 4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267

Hi guys .. sorry to hear about the storms .. Cleo, you'll be ok .. Head on down to the lower floors, lots of action going on there! have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267

Do you think you'd be able to get more tests in during at least one cycle over the weekend, thunderstorms notwithstanding? Before suggesting a dose increase, it would be helpful to see where Cleo's nadir is falling.
 
Re: 4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267; PMPS 211; NEWBIE

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93022 CLEO'S CONDO

Yes, my goal is to get a curve tomorrow! I am aiming for getting a reading about every two hours. I bought all flavors of the Pure Bites, but she just walks right by them :cry: She was never one to come hurrying for treats, but she ate them when offered. Friskies Crispers (sp) were her favorite. Could I offer her one after I test? I am not sure she will even want it, but it would leave her with a better feeling. She is eating her can food with no problems.
 
Re: 4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267; PMPS 211; NEWBIE

Send her to my house, my cats will show her how to eat the Purebites :-D
Another favourite for my lot is Fancy Feast Appertizers - I would give Honey about 1/5 of the packet for each test. It has to be a smelly fishy one though.
 
Re: 4/12, CLEO, AMPS 267; PMPS 211; NEWBIE

Denise, my other two boys are loving all the different foods coming their way. Fancy Feast every day, 7 different kind of treats........they are the ones who are coming running when they hear the cabinet door open ;)
 
Question please - What if her AMPS is below 200 tomorrow? Do I hold the AM shot and test again in 2 hours? Just post every 2 hour BG, and resume her insulin at 6PM if it is over 200? These lower numbers today are playing with my head!

Thanks for any info.
 
sounds like Cleo goes outdoors...
Could you keep her in on thunderstorm days?

She may grow to appreciate the purebites but it doesn't sound like she is impressed. Guess you've got a research project to find what she really loves.
Deli type meats are good ( just read the labels ).
My Shadow loves ham more than anything. Some cats love pastrami or turkey breast.... just watch for sugar.

boiled chicken?

The fancy feast appetizers are also good... no carbs in those... I get them for $1 each at petsmart.
 
I had to go back and read some history. It sounds like you work during the days so that's why there isn't any test data.

Will you be home tomorrow and able to get a curve or a mini curve ( every 3 hours)
Having a curve will help you to know where Cleo's nadir is ( not that it can't wander around).
If you expecting bad weather tomorrow, it would be good if you can keep her inside so you can get the tests.
If she's lower than 200 in the morning...
come post and ask.... put question... dose ? .... in the subject line. It would be really helpful if you can get a +11 to see where she is before her shot.... and post then so someone has time to respond. ( or even a +11.5 )
 
If Cleo's AMPS is below 150 (we use 150 not 200), post and ask for help.

FYI: The Friskies Crispies contain rice. They are probably carbo-licious which is why Cleo liked them. (Ingredients: Brewers rice, chicken meal, corn gluten meal, animal fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols (form of Vitamin E), animal liver flavor, malt extract, natural and artificial flavors, phosphoric acid, brewers dried yeast, added color, salt, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), citric acid, BHA (a preservative), BHT (a preservative), calcium carbonate. A-6216) These aren't my idea of a good time!
 
I will try to get up an hour or so earlier to get the +11 or 11.5. Cleo is an indoor only cat. She just goes out onto the lanai (patio) with her brothers, it is completely screened in. A kitty heaven - toys, perches, litter box and water bown. They go in and out all day if someone is home. If we are at work, they stay in the house all day, but all come marching to the sliding door as soon as we get home. They are all sitting out there now, watching a bush just outside the screen where a bunch of little lizards conregate. It is close to 10 pm here, and soon I will round them up to come in. Bedtime for me!
 
Cleo is looking good! :-D If she has a preshot lower than 150, do not feed! (It took us forever to figure that out :roll: ). Post for help. Generally, you will test again in 30 mins and hopefully catch her as she starts to go up and give her shot then. It's hard to plan ahead because so many different things could happen. Crazy cats. :lol:
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top