4/12 Bud PMPS 175, +2 167, +3 90, +4 44 HERE WE GO AGAIN

Status
Not open for further replies.
PMPS 175/199
+2 167
+3 90

I fed 14% carbs with shot and at +2 so that certainly didn't slow the drop. Just not sure what my plan of action should be from here. Test at +3.5?
 
Yes you are - congratulations on the reduction!! :D :D

You're familiar with the routine at this point I take it - feed the gravy and test again in 20-30 minutes. I'll be about for a while yet so I'll check back in with you then and make sure he's not going lower.
 
Yes you are - congratulations on the reduction!! :D :D

You're familiar with the routine at this point I take it - feed the gravy and test again in 20-30 minutes. I'll be about for a while yet so I'll check back in with you then and make sure he's not going lower.

Thanks! Yup, just last night Bud threw me a 40 at +4.
 
He's on a mission to get down those doses isn't he? The first time is always the worst - it gets so much easier after that - still a little nerve racking but once you know what to do and that he responds to it, not quite as terrifying. I'll stay here until you get your 3 rising numbers so you're not on your own with him.
 
He's on a mission to get down those doses isn't he? The first time is always the worst - it gets so much easier after that - still a little nerve racking but once you know what to do and that he responds to it, not quite as terrifying. I'll stay here until you get your 3 rising numbers so you're not on your own with him.

Thank you so much! It's like I know what to do but I like my hand held while doing it... Lol cause sometimes all thinking goes out the window when you see a low number.
 
I think most of us prefer to have someone else around keeping an eye on those numbers when they go low. I've always had someone around for support with Rosa because you're right it gets difficult to think clearly sometimes when they suddenly drop - it doesn't matter how much you know you can handle the numbers, a bit of reassurance makes all the difference.
 
Sounds perfect - you're doing everything just right for him. :D Fingers crossed he'll surf for you from here and you can relax a little, but let's see what the next couple of tests do as the gravy wears off. :)
 
Stacy

What we do want to be careful about is giving too many reductions back to back. Because he only had one shot at 1.25u and dropped into the 40s, it's hard to know if the additional insulin last night dropped him or if he was already thinking about a reduction on 1u. While I would normally suggest not to take another reduction so soon because of the depot, I think it's not a bad idea in this case. If he fails a reduction, you can always take him back up.
 
Stacy

What we do want to be careful about is giving too many reductions back to back. Because he only had one shot at 1.25u and dropped into the 40s, it's hard to know if the additional insulin last night dropped him or if he was already thinking about a reduction on 1u. While I would normally suggest not to take another reduction so soon because of the depot, I think it's not a bad idea in this case. If he fails a reduction, you can always take him back up.

Right. I also think the lower PS tonight came into play but I chose to shoot a full dose since I knew I could test and really don't want to disrupt any progress. I realize I probably could've "prevented" the 44 tonight with more carbs, but I was curious to see where he would go and actually surprised he went that low with 14% carbs. Normally I work all day during the week but I'm running a fever tonight so I think I will be home to monitor tomorrow if you think I should hold on to the 1.0 unit.
 
I was thinking that the one shot at 1.25 wouldn't have had a chance to build much depot which was why I was thinking the reduction would be good to go. I don't have anywhere near as much experience as Marje so would always defer completely to her advice if she thinks you should stick with the 1 unit though I notice she did say that giving the reduction this time might not be a bad idea as long as you can be ready to increase again if his numbers start going back up. With 14% carbs on board, either he isn't all that carb sensitive or he was pretty determined to grab a low number tonight - maybe he likes pj parties! ;)
 
If I had to work tomorrow, I would definitely reduce. Since I'll be home, I could hold the dose, but that is true that I can go back up if I need to.

65 at +5 so he's maintaining at least. I think the other cats are giving Bud extra insulin as they are enjoying the benefits of extra carbs! Lol! Can't feed Bud "the good stuff" without feeding the others too... ;) I believe I said in my thread last night that I didn't want another pajama party soon... Little bugger! :)
 
Maintaining is good - let's see if he can stick somewhere around that number as the carbs wear off. :) I know what you mean about all the other cats needing some of the good stuff too - I only have to think about opening a can of gravy food and I seem to be surrounded by all 6 of the little beasts here!!

It may be that he's just decided he wants to keep on coming down - Rosa did some fairly close together reductions for a bit too. I remember the back to back pj parties only too well - there were a few weeks where I'm not sure I ever slept for more than an hour or two at a time - I'm sure they do it as some sort of endurance test for us humans! ;)
 
I didn't mean to infer you shouldn't reduce. I was just "teaching". I want you to watch out for back to back reductions but was letting you know why it would probably be a good idea to take one this time.

The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles so we just like to keep that in mind when it comes to low numbers within a few cycles of each other.

I'd reduce to 0.75u tomorrow. If he bounces and doesn't come right back into green, take the dose back up to 1u; don't sit on the reduction too long if it isn't working.

Hope you feel better!
 
Yup, I got 6 here myself! So usually I'll split half a can of the gravy stuff between them all so I know Bud is only getting a smidge of it. And save the other half for the next low number... Lol

That was one thing I was always content with, that Bud has never required much insulin. But his numbers being all over the place is frustrating. This would be great if this downward trend in his numbers sticks! And I'd have to say, that's a heck of a way to test our endurance, getting poked a ton of times! Lol!
 
I didn't mean to infer you shouldn't reduce. I was just "teaching". I want you to watch out for back to back reductions but was letting you know why it would probably be a good idea to take one this time.

The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles so we just like to keep that in mind when it comes to low numbers within a few cycles of each other.

I'd reduce to 0.75u tomorrow. If he bounces and doesn't come right back into green, take the dose back up to 1u; don't sit on the reduction too long if it isn't working.

Hope you feel better!

Oh I understood that you for the reduction, I was just thinking out loud I guess.
A reduction sounds perfect as I think Bud and I could use a break from this constant testing lol.

Thanks for the well wishes!

Off to test again...
 
Well they're cats - don't expect anything we'd think of as 'normal' from them! ;) You'd wonder why they want pj parties when it means a load of extra pokies, but some of them seem to enjoy it! Splitting the gravy food is a good way of making sure it gets used up without either over-carbing Bud or having to throw half a can out after a day or so in the fridge - I finished up throwing out a couple of half cans before the other cats caught on that it was something they might actually want. Of course now they hang out near Rosa at food time to see if she's getting anything special - they even all had to have some baby food a week or so ago when Rosa was sick for a day! It's probably my own fault because I let them have it but I've never given Rosa or her twin any food I didn't also offer the other one (I wouldn't want them getting jealous of each other) and now with the other cats in the house, I've just extended that to cover all of them!! ;)

The bounces and numbers all over the place really is frustrating at times, but worth it when they suddenly start to get the benefit of the insulin and get into better numbers more of the time. It looks like Bud might just be getting to that point now (anti-jinx) so here's hoping he continues giving you those nice healing numbers. :D
 
88 at +5.5 so coming up but not crazy up, yay! I'll grab a +6 and if it's up, I'll probably call it a night.

Oh I see what it is, keep the beans up at night because the cats know they can sleep during the next day anyways! Lol! All my kitties get the same food, too. Which I feel guilty about sometimes just because here poor Bud is doing all the work for them to all benefit from the special food and treats!

I'm feeling much more hopeful tonight about Buds numbers tonight then I have in a while so hopefully you're right that he's heading in the right direction! (Anti-jinx!)
 
That's a perfect rise back up the numbers - not too high, not staying so low you have to worry. If he's good at +6 then you should be fine to leave him for the night. You handled that like a pro! :D :D You were already there with everything you needed to do and had done it perfectly before I even said anything - well done! :D

I think that's about it - we get to stay up all night - then we have to go to work and get things done in the day and the cats just get to sleep! :P I keep reminding all the other cats here that they're doing nothing at all to earn the treats and special food they get - somehow I don't think they care much. ;)

You can never have too much anti-jinx no matter how good things are looking, but I do think he's looking better over the last few days numbers-wise. Long may it continue! (and more anti-jinx)!!
 
Oh I see what it is, keep the beans up at night because the cats know they can sleep during the next day anyways!

You're onto their devious plan!! They also figure a tired bean might make a mistake and feed them the "good stuff" when they don't really need it, therefore making us scratch our head going "where did that high number come from?"
icon_lol.gif
 
Thanks for staying with me April! I should be at least a semi-pro at this pajama party thing now, but I'm not looking to go totally pro anytime soon! Lol.

Well, I'll just show these kitties what's up tomorrow when I just sleep all day with them! Ha! Take that! Lol oh but if only that could happen everyday...

I'll retun shortly with that +6!
 
No worries - any time you want someone just to be here if you're worried...or just want a little reassurance...just tag me - I just finished the job I was at so I'll be about a lot of the time. :)

Wouldn't it be great if we could just work on the kitties' schedule when they keep us up all night like this! They're in for a shock tomorrow when you don't get up and go to work! :smuggrin:

Fingers crossed for you that his +6 is looking good and you can get some sleep - and hopefully get to feeling better tomorrow.
 
He's definitely going to be fine for the night now - he's obviously decided you do need at least some sleep! ;) I hope you get a good rest and wake up feeling better in the morning. :)
 
One last thing I want to point out, Stacy, is you want to manage the curve with food to try and keep him in green numbers above 50 as long as possible. I would try and prevent those lower numbers so you don't have to take a reduction. I don't mean feeding him tons of HC food to keep him above 50 and if you are having to feed him a lot to keep him safe, he probably needs a reduction. But I wouldn't just let him drop to see where he's going.:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top