4/11 Tess AMPS~178 PMPS~123 +2~76 +4~79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Member Since 2010
4/10 Condo

Good Morning LL.
I was dreading testing this morning, but something must have been working in overnight, Tess came down to 178 for AMPS. I hadn't gotten up to give her the +8 snack either, since food had not brought her down at all last evening and I didn't want to add any more fuel to the fire. No Lantus smell in her fur this AM, but I'm sure last night was a fur shot.


WCR Very frisky today, she doesn't think breffus was big enough. Yesterday afternoon she went to the LB and made large deposits of both Ps. I wasn't expecting more this am, but there was another big poo overnight.

Tess is waiting to get brushed and play. 'Bye for now.
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178

I saw your note in Stu's condo that you were thinking of feeding raw. Gabby and Gizmo get their two primary meals which are raw. Their snacks are FF. I grind my own food - I get boneless, skinless thigh, breast, & liver that I grind and use a pre-mix for the supplements. I then freeze it in meal sized patties. I am cautious about bacterial contamination with ground food so freezing reduces any risk vs. keeping a tub of the ground food in the refrigerator. (It's also why the snacks are FF.)
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178

Thanks Sienne. Which premix do you use? I've found 3 mentioned and am not sure which to try. Feline Future offers a sample and I thought I'd give that a try. I'm giving up on any local store getting the premade stuff in. I was thinking of using a disher to make single serving size patties, flash freeze them and put in a freezer bag. Good idea on FF in the feeder, I will give it a try. Which feeder do you use?

Just did a +2, 131 whew.
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 +3~117

+3 down to 131 :-D Unfortunately we will be gone and can't check her ususl nadir at +4.

Ed: I screwed in the rush to get out the door. +2~131 and +3 is 117.
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 +3~117

Hi Ann, those are still nice numbers. I'm pleased when Check starts the day in the 100's. He doesn't usually,.
Is that 117 correct? You must be very happy, if it is :smile:
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 +3~117

cheryl is more energetic than i am. i buy tubes of pre-ground raw food for cats from Hare Today, Gone Tomorrow. they also sell packages of raw cat food supplements already made up, but i just add my own. i buy 30 pounds of chicken and turkey at a time. even with shipping, it turns out to be more economical than the cost of premium canned foods.
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 +3~117

:oops: Sorry I screwed up that last post, i managed to combine 2 tests.
  • +2~131
    +3~117

I also blew it this morning by not moving her shot up to 6:00am where I want it. After the fur shot last night it would have been the perfect opportunity. I guess I was just too depressed about those numbers to think about it. Until after I got up for the 6:30 shot. I know it won't be that hard to move half an hour over the next week, it just would be over and done with. :roll:

Thanks, Jill, I forgot about them. You don't have any problem w/ thawing in shipment? I want to start small scale on the raw to see if she'll eat it. I did a test of just a couple of chunks of chicken and she seemed to like it. I'd like to try rabbit too if I can get just a small batch. There is someone who works at the local feed store who raises rabbits. he hasn't been around when I've gone in lately and I don't know how he sells it. It would be easier to start w/ the premixed supplements.

Just got the +6, 135. Tess is usually up a little by now, so no green this cycle, but I'm happy w/ blue.
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 +3~117

i've had trouble with thawing from Feline's Pride, but i've never had trouble with Hare Today, Gone Tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 +3~117

Hi, Ann & Tess.. looking good in blue today, Yay!!
Cheering you on for going the Raw Route too! Soooooo healthy & absolutely a noticable difference in kitty.
I have always fed premium products, but the Raw has made Baby even more Beautiful, I can only hope for the same on her insides!!
Happy Sunday to you both & hoping Tess continually shows better #s & is feeling fabulous!
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 +3~117

Hi Ann. Tess's numbers look good, so maybe you didn't shoot a fur shot (I think I did this morning). You are really ambitious to contemplate feeding raw food. Good for you! I bought a can of raw rabbit once (I think it was from Wysong), but then I read that it was necessary to supplement with ground-up nutrients. I tried it, but Stu refused to eat it (he might have liked the rabbit, but I think it was the nutrients that turned him off)! (This was years ago, when he was first diagnosed.) So I gave up! The raw-food purchasing, preserving, and preparation that Sienne, Jill, and Nicole do sounds awesome. Keep us posted on what you decide to do and how you do it!
Ella
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 +3~117

+8~166 Fed .5oz. snack Wellness Turkey. Will test at +11 as well as PMPS to see where her BG is lower.

Ella, the suspected furshot was yesterday PM, not this morning. Her numbers just kept going up afterwards. This morning I had DH help to hold her still to make sure she got the shot. She's gotten really active in the mornings, between wanting to be fed (a very good sign)and wanting to play (not good for shooting)
 
Re: 4/11 Tess AMPS~178 PMPS~123 +2~76

Had fingers crossed for green tonight, but this is really early. Yes, she's back in her happy dose.
 
:mrgreen: She certainly is listening to Libby. I'd love to see more greens, but I'm crashing. I-) The ears can use a rest too. Test and snack at +8.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top