4/11 Stella AMPS/180 +2/94 +3/48 +4/38 +5/56

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Hello everyone!

Stella has everything in place. Because of the 'state' I found her in when I arrived home yesterday, we have dropped her dose yet again to 1.5. It seems to be doing ok, because this mornings AMPS look like a good starting point for the furry feline known as Stella without any huge bounce to speak of. :-D

It is nice to be back to my kitties. Stella seems to have 'snapped out of it' since I arrived home last night. Not that the vet tech was bad, she is actually very nice...but I have to find a back up since it is not her calling. I contacted a nation wide organization and they said they didn't have anyone at this time in my area to do insulin injections. Ironically, one of you had suggested care.com and I found nothing...and then someone called me after I cancelled the membership. So, we will do a meet and greet. I also found another sitter that I want to contact that looks promising.

If I seem obsessed with kitty sitters, I am! If you look at Stella's spreadsheet we have a lot of 'skipped' shots while I am away with work. It is not that I am lazy or won't pay for a kitty sitter, we just can't seem to find back up! So I am going overboard to try to find anyone qualified to keep on a roster of rotating assistance for Stella. Maybe we will find a bunch of back up and Stella will go off insulin. Hahahaha... I will take it. A girl can dream :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/11 AMPS/180

I feel your pain with the sitter situation. I went through that in the beginning and found no one on care.com. One sitter said she has dealt with diabetic animals ... but then I find out all she does is shoot and run. The vet techs i had lined up here unreliable in even setting up meet-and-greets and my regular sitter doesn't want to measure the dose. Getting a commitment to test at nadir was a deal breaker for them. So luckily my boss was very flexible. It is so hard. Good luck on your continued search. Fingers crossed on the OTJ - I despaired and finally gave up most hope in January but then magically in March Leo's pancreas finally started to play along. And he was VERY bouncy. Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/11 Stella AMPS/180

Thanks Lisa & Leo, you give me hope!!! I think Stella can do it. Actually, I know she can...I just have to get it to where she is getting consistent dosing. Thanks for the note. The kitty sitter dilema is :roll: :roll: :roll:
 
Re: 4/11 Stella AMPS/180 +2/94

wow. That was another hefty drop for Stella at +2/94 She may need a larger reduction than I gave her. That was my gut earlier...but Stella gave me no meow and no tone this morning so I had no way to know. She is actually doing it at this moment as I speak. Better late than never I guess. I just wish I knew how much less she was asking for. Tonight will be a bit late because of work, so I will shave it and that will be a significant reduction. Then I will wait and see.

I have contacted two kitty sitters. Now I have to arrange meet and greets. I am waiting for their reply. Wish us luck again!
 
Re: 4/11 Stella AMPS/180 +2/94 +3/48

There it is. +3/48 Just as I had expected when I returned home from my trip. Stella had been going way too low.
 
Re: 4/11 Stella AMPS/180 +2/94 +3/48 +4/38

+4/38 All this tells me is that Stella has learned how to communicate with me, and I have learned to listen. Tonight will not be a shave, but a dose decrease. All I know is that Stella is running this show. Go Stella, GO!!! Heal, heal, heal yourself baby!
 
I fed Stella each hour on her AM cycle up to +5 when I had to go to work. Thank goodness her BG is a 56!

I have set two kitty sitter meet and greets. One for tomorrow and one for next Friday.
 
Good luck with the reduced dose. It looks like Stella earned it. Wow on that 38. :shock: I hope she keeps surfing nice greens for you. Good luck with the meet and greet to find another pet sitter.
 
Hi Mary,
It's nice to have you back!!! Congrats on the reducie. Stella, What a way to welcome momma home! Good luck with your meet and greets. I hope you find a sitter who can take good care of Stella. better yet, i hope she goes OTJ quick and you only need someone to come empty the litter box!! have a good night. hugs and scritches to you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top