4/11 Rusty PMPS 197, +4.5 117. vet appt. tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68397

Good Morning, Everyone,

Another dreary, rainy, cold day. Our hike was postponed until next Wednesday. Good thing: we couldn't have seen anything from the top of the small mountain we had hoped to climb today.

Rusty had a good night. He woke me up at some point with face licks, and at some point he finished all of his nighttime food. I'm still not certain that he isn't "under the weather" and will keep a close eye on him today; he just seems subdued. Maybe it's the weather! Anyway, we had a good test, good shot, breakfast (Wellness Turkey: 1 oz. so far; one sitting so far). He hasn't wanted his second sitting of breakfast yet, perhaps because he had finished his nighttime food shortly before we got up. At present he is asleep in his basket next to the radiator.

We were relieved to see CD's post last night and are sending very strong healing vines to BigMac today. Continuing to keep Tena in our thoughts.

Wishing everyone a good day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155

Not a bad AMPS, but not really Rusty either. Paws crossed that he just is realllllly read for winter to end and spring to make up it's mind to show up!
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155

Hi guys .. I think rusty is just missing spring time weather .. he thought winter was done and over with! hey, didn't we all? :-D Hoping for a nice slow drop today down into some greens .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155

Good Morning Rusty and Ella :-D I hope Rusty isn't under the weather, maybe he's just in a funk? Either way he's still got some pretty nice numbers.

I hope it clears up for you soon, is it still winter there?

Have a wonderful day. :-D
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154 vet appt. tomorrow

Hi again,
Rusty isn't going down as he usually does by +5.5. He did finish his 2nd sitting of breakfast and ate a normal lunch (so far today he has eaten 2 oz. of Wellness turkey for 80 kcal. We still have +9 snack, dinner, and bedtime food to go, so I think he'll get enough calories today). He is still in the doldrums and hasn't much energy (although he went outside and chased a squirrel and later played a little).

Anyway, since his bgs have not been typical (for him) lately, I decided to make a vet appointment to see what might be going on. We are going to have a complete blood profile and urinalysis and I want to talk to the vet about the "vague" conditions that so many of our kitties seem to have, in the hopes that if something is brewing we will catch it early. I'm going to ask about pancreatitis, hepatic lipidosis, infection (he scratches his eyebrows and is drawing blood with his claws) (we're going to get his nails clipped!). I think I'll request a spec FPl test.

Rusty doesn't have any acute symptoms. His litterbox contributions are normal; he's not vomiting; he's not losing weight (to the contrary!). Mainly he just seems lethargic (in comparison to his normal behavior). I can't tell if he is in pain, although yesterday he didn't want his right side patted.

I would be most grateful if anyone could suggest what else I might bring up when I talk to the vet. I don't know much about medical things.

Rusty is due for yearly shots in June: FVRCP Vaccine and Feline Leukemia vaccine. I read in Dr. Lisa's site that these two vaccines are not needed for older cats because if they have had their shots as kittens, it is enough to provide them with immunity for life. I don't know what shots Rusty had as a kitten, but he had both of these vaccines last year (as well as a 3-year rabies vaccine). I now know that it is much safer to have the 1-year rabies vaccine (PureVax). I am also sure that Rusty's former vet used adjuvanted vaccines last year. I don't know what his current vet does and I need to ask her.

Thanks, everyone!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154 vet appt. tomorrow

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Anyway, since his bgs have not been typical (for him) lately, I decided to make a vet appointment to see what might be going on. We are going to have a complete blood profile and urinalysis and I want to talk to the vet about the "vague" conditions that so many of our kitties seem to have, in the hopes that if something is brewing we will catch it early. I'm going to ask about pancreatitis, hepatic lipidosis, infection (he scratches his eyebrows and is drawing blood with his claws) (we're going to get his nails clipped!). I think I'll request a spec FPl test.

Rusty doesn't have any acute symptoms. His litterbox contributions are normal; he's not vomiting; he's not losing weight (to the contrary!). Mainly he just seems lethargic (in comparison to his normal behavior). I can't tell if he is in pain, although yesterday he didn't want his right side patted.

Rusty is due for yearly shots in June: FVRCP Vaccine and Feline Leukemia vaccine. I read in Dr. Lisa's site that these two vaccines are not needed for older cats because if they have had their shots as kittens, it is enough to provide them with immunity for life. I don't know what shots Rusty had as a kitten, but he had both of these vaccines last year (as well as a 3-year rabies vaccine). I now know that it is much safer to have the 1-year rabies vaccine (PureVax). I am also sure that Rusty's former vet used adjuvanted vaccines last year. I don't know what his current vet does and I need to ask her.

Hi Ella,
I am so sorry that Rusty is not feeling 100%.

As far as the vaccines go, I would not get a FeLV vaccine for my cat. For a cat that goes outdoors, I would consider the FVR CPC and R, upon discussion with your vet and going by what schedule she recommends. If Rusty is at all under the weather, I DO NOT think that this would be a good time to do vaccinations on him. If he needs shots, I would prefer that he go back when he is feeling well. The vet can draw blood and do a titre, which will show what his current level of protection is. It's quite expensive, though. I know he goes outside only under supervision, but he is getting pretty close to that squirrel and there is potential interaction with Shadow, so if it were my cat (and he has no underlying disease or immune suppression) I would consider the vaccines. I don't know enough about them to tell you what to do, but do have the discussion with the vet. I would hate to see him tear up a squirrel and end up ill. (Of course I would feel badly for the squirrel, too).

I think that you are doing a good thing in getting him completely checked out. The Spec fPL is a good idea (note that he should fast before this blood work). I believe that Idexx has a panel called the ADR panel for "Ain't doin' right". It is a good idea to check for pancreatitis if a cat is "off". Some do say, however, that the cat has to be in an active flare for the test to show a positive result.

You mention a urinalysis. This will tell you something about his kidney function, and if there is blood or protein or bacteria or crystals in his urine. You may want to go one step further, and have them draw a sterile sample via cystocentesis (needle in the bladder) and send it out for C & S (culture and sensitivity). This will test for an active urinary tract infection, and if one is present, will tell you what type of bacteria are present. He doesn't really have symptoms, but if you want to be very thorough, you could do this. Just make sure that they ALSO do the urinalysis, or at least get his USG (urine specific gravity) because you want to know what that is for his kidney function.

You do want to get a full blood panel with CBC, kidney values, liver values, electrolytes, etc. I might also suggest that you ask for a test for thyroid function. T4 may be enough. Some here also suggest a fT4ED.

Are you concerned about hepatic lipidosis? I think you would be seeing a very ill cat if he had that. But I know you want to have him lose some weight, and it is best to discuss with the vet a safe way to do this in order to avoid HL. She can weigh him, and perhaps you can bring him back monthly to be checked on the same scale.

I am concerned that he is scratching at himself. Have the vet check for any sign of skin problems or seasonal allergies. Check for flea debris.

The vet's general exam should look at everything. Is he bright/alert/responsive? Is he well hydrated? Eyes and ears and colour good? Palpate abdomen and feel his internal organs. Listen to his heart. Take his temperature. You should mention that he didn't want his side patted. I wonder if he might have any early arthritis? The vet can feel his joints for thickening, and see if he resents having them moved. If so, then his joints could be X rayed. If he is feeling mellow the vet could try to check his blood pressure. It's not necessary unless it turns out that he has renal problems. If he does, you will want to know his BP.

Of course, you want to have his teeth and gums checked. That always seems to be a culprit when BG's are elevated.

Is his file clearly marked no Metacam, no Convenia? Always good to have that on there. Also mention no steroids unless it is thoroughly discussed with you.

How old is Rusty? Has his bloodwork always been OK? Didn't he have some issues with crystals in his urine (or am I thinking of someone else)?

I think you are doing a good thing in getting him checked out. You don't have to do all of the above, but this gives you a starting place to have a discussion with your vet about his symptoms. You know best when he is not himself.
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154, vet appt. tomorrow

Wow. Linda gave you a comprehensive set of recommendations. I really can't think of anything to add.
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154, vet appt. tomorrow

Many thanks, Linda! This is really helpful.
I may hold off on the spec FPl because our appointment tomorrow isn't until noon and I don't want Rusty to skip his shot because he is fasting. I'll see what the vet says tomorrow and make arrangements to bring him back early on another day if she suspects pancreatitis.

Rusty isn't due for those vaccinations until June, so I wouldn't want him to have them now in any event (and we are only starting the 2nd year of the 3-year rabies shot). I just wondered if he needed to have the ones other than rabies at all. (I've been reading Dr. Lisa's website).

We don't know how old Rusty is. I suspect somewhere around 11 or 12 years. Yes, he did have struvite (?) urine crystals last September, when we did the urinalysis. He also had the T4 and free T4 then as well as the full blood panel. His lab results are on a tab in his spreadsheet.

Thanks again, I'll let you know how it goes tomorrow. You are going to be a fabulous vet-tech!!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. to Sienne: thanks for concurring!! just saw your post.
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154, vet appt. tomorrow

Hi Ella, I am just catching up on condos here, and noticed Vet appointment tomorrow. You have thought for a while now that something is going on with Rusty. Sending lots of good Vetty vines from us for Rusty's appt. Linda sure did cover it all with what tests, etc. Try not to worry, easier said than done. Hugs and scritches to Rusty.
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154, vet appt. tomorrow

Wow Linda! :shock:
That is one for the old 'bookmarks'. Spot on information. You are going to make a great vet tech...or vet?!?! ;-)

Ella-
Sounds like you are on top of things. I hope it really is just the weather, or something simple. ((((((Rusty))))))
Will be sending lots of feel better and good luck vines to you all!

Dr. Lisa's site is really great for guidance on safe weight loss. I used it for foster Duchess with success.
http://catinfo.org/?link=felineobesity
A baby scale at home can also be a very useful tool.

Another medication (for pain) to be leary of due to it being so new is Onsoir. Just file that in the back of your head. ;-)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=43235&hilit=onsior

I hope he perks up today and brings those BG's back down.
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154, + 9 155 vet appt. tomorro

Hi guys, Did you ever see such a flat day? Makes me wonder if my meter and strips are ok (but retested on my other meter and it was in the 160s).
He did perk up at +9, because I gave him a little FF T&G!! :lol: (irresistible)

Thanks for the head's up on the new med, Carolyn. Good to know.

Tena, thank you for visiting. We are thinking of you so much. How's Sid doing?
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154, +9.5 155 vet appt. tomorr

Wow Ella, can we say flat? :smile:
Sending lots of good vetty vines for Rusty tomorrow. :-D

I know yours isn't the same as ours, but it's been sunny, cloudy, sunny, snowing, sunny again.... all day today.
This last couple weeks has been hard on the old bones and joints.
I wonder if cats feel it like humans do..
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty AMPS 155, +5.5 154, +9.5 155 vet appt. tomorr

Ella, I am sending good vetty vines to our Rusty Boy & hope that he is well & just has the winter blahs!
Moonie was flat like that the other day & next day, green :mrgreen:
Those flat cycles always lead to nice numb ers the next day--
Moonie just had the free T3 & thyroid tests & she was mostly normal..
Prayers for Rusty's good health-You know how much Moonie & I LUBS You & Rusty(& Ed)--
Hoping for a good result--Sounds like a skin problem to me....Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty PMPS 197, vet appt. tomorrow

Be a good boy at the vetty tomorrow, Rusty, and maybe the pretty tech will give you a tuna lollipop :-D

Hoping for just a case of winter doldrums, for Rusty, Ella. :smile:
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty PMPS 197, vet appt. tomorrow

Hi Ella - I will send good vetty vines for Rusty , as I can't think of anything else to add. Linda did a great job of that. She will make one great vet tech! I think it is good to be proactive, and make sure all is well.

It sure has been a nice flat blue day for Rusty - his version of a rest day. Think green Rusty!

Enjoy your evening - sorry for the rotten weather...
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty PMPS 197, vet appt. tomorrow

Good vetty vines for Rusty tomorrow. I'm sorry he isn't feeling great. Thinking of you and hope it all goes well!
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty PMPS 197, vet appt. tomorrow

All of our paws are crossed for Rusty's vetty visit tomorrow.

We live in an area of the country where there are rabies outbreaks and we are required by law to have up-to-date rabies vaccinations on our animals. Our vet agrees that these shots are not really necessary is able to write a note that we cannot do the vaccines because our cat has FD.
 
Re: 4/11 Rusty PMPS 197, vet appt. tomorrow

GREAT post from Linda....this condo is worth a bookmark! That's a wealth of info and really gives you something solid to ask the vet.

I hope all is well with Rusty. Please keep us posted.

Tobey said he'll bring KTSS and give Rusty a great massage. He'll even do it for his Auntie Ellabean without cimmamum cookies!
 
Thanks for visiting, everyone. I've spent most of the evening reading up on feline health. OMG, it's enough to make anyone a hypochondriac!

See you tomorrow,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top