4/11 Oscar amps 261 +4 260 - the DH strikes again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
So we were doing so very well..... He nose dived on the 0.5u, so I brought him down to a skinny 0.5u. His body fought the insulin each cycle for a few days because of the dive to the 30s on the 0.5u and we were just starting to see a break through yesterday. The hubby fed the dogs late yesterday morning. They didn't want to eat, so he decided to put the bowls of kibble on the counter..... and proceed to leave the house for a few hours cat(2)_steam Of course, Oscar thought that was just the dandiest thing in the world. He estimates that Oscar ate a good handful of kibble, and that shows in his numbers last night and today.

So my question - should I hold the skinny 0.5u dose until the carbs are out of his system hoping that it didn't set us back. OR - should I go ahead and expect the carb gorging fest to have set us back and raise his dose again to a solid 0.5u?
 
i may have upped the dose for a cycle or two to help the pancrease deal with the onslaught of carbs...then gone back down asap .
 
Maybe see how the next PS is.

About 3 mos after Beau went OTJ my youngest cats got into a package of dinner rolls I had on a shelf in my kitchen. I woke to find Beau tearing into them on the floor. His BG zoomed to 325 in a few hours. I should have shot than, but I waited. He brought himself down to low 100s, but could not sustain it. I waited 5 days while he varied between low and high 100s, then he was in the low 200s so I shot his previous "going OTJ" dose of .05u as needed at anywhere from +16 to +23 with a do not shoot of 130 (Beau had a high do not shoot even on lev).

The point being that he needed that .05u to get him back under control. It took 9 days (14 days total after the bread incident). I don't know how a carb load will effect a cat currently on insulin, but I would not let more than one higher PS go before giving a teeny bit more. Otherwise, like with Beau, you may struggle with wonky numbers for a couple of weeks.

If interested, Beau's *bread incident* is the last 2 weeks of Dec '09 in his SS.
 
Thanks Lori and Sheila for the input! I'll see what his pm preshot # is and probably will be taking his dose back up to a full 0.5u tonight.
 
Kelly & Oscar said:
Thanks Lori and Sheila for the input! I'll see what his pm preshot # is and probably will be taking his dose back up to a full 0.5u tonight.

Ack, look at those dog food kibble numbers! I hope he comes back down for you soon Kelly. Oscar must have thought he was in heaven finding such a treasure! :roll:
 
I know! It makes me so mad!!!! Good thing is - he has started to come down finally. DH got a 122 for tonight's pmps on the 0.5u. Hopefully we can bring him back down to the skinny 0.5u in the next few days.

Ever since 'discovering' the dog kibble bounty on the kitchen counter, he has been jumping up there non-stop! Appppppaaarentllly.....all the good noms are on the counter from here on out! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top