4/11 Oren; AMPS-74; +AMBG 0.5-84; +1-69;+2-65;+3-64; +4-89;+6-260;+10-493;PMPS-449;pm+3-328;+5-159

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday terrible, no good very black day.

Sorry for 911 this early, but I'm faced w/ the lowest AM shot yet and really could use watchers/helpers!
I'm stalling 30 min. from his normal shot time of 6.30a.m. (east coast time). Will test again at 7.00 a.m
then decide; if he's going up, do i still do a full dose and then just test him in 30 min?
 
Last edited:
Have you fed him?
Will you be around today to monitor him? Do you have lots of test strips, and some HC or syrup if needed?
 
haven't fed him yet, yes, strips and HC, no karo, but have honey, molasses and/or maple syrup. He's petitioning LOUDLY for breakfast right now!
 
Are you going to be home today to test? And do you have all the supplies to help bring Oren uo if you need (hc food, karo, test strips, etc)?
 
i will be home to test today as it's Saturday.

yesterday he bounced very hard from greens the previous night. He never left black during the day, but made it to mid blues by mid cycle last night.
 
I'm glad this lower AMPS happened on a Saturday, so you don't have to skip, hopefully.
 
I would, and I know it's scary, your first green PS. I would take advantage of you being around. Maybe, he could even earn a reduction..that's just a possibility. See if he eats well.
I would test again at +1.
 
ugh, that had been the plan, as i only got 5 hrs last night! maybe an hr nap. Is +1 really necessary or can i do +2?
 
I see that you only got 5 hours of sleep by your ss.
I don't think I would wait until +2 with this first ever green PS, but that's up to you. Are you able to nap later?
 
i had a day of yardwork planned, first time mowing this year, cleaning up leaves etc. but i can probably catch a nap somewhere. I'll test him at 8, which will be 1 hr.
I think he got a mouthful or two of his sisters breakfast, which is medium carb Friskies ! that NEVER happens, he is very hungry!
 
That's good that he's hungry. You don't want to get him too full. You may need him to eat later.
 
I agree with getting the +1 and I would plan on a +2 &+3 as well....

+1 may show an increase due to a food spike but as Dyana said, still a good idea to get. I would plan on getting a +2, 2.5 or +3 as well depending on when he normally does a drop....Skooter can drop anywhere between 2 and 3...so on normal days I get a2,,2.5 and/or 3...just to guage what I should be expecting from the cycle
 
Nice Shooting! Oren is still really new to those low numbers so more than likely he is going to bounce, but you still want to monitor him until the bounce starts because you never know if he will decide now is the time to stop bouncing. He has made some awesome progress.
 
Nice shooting this morning!

Just a note to how to post a 30 min. time. Since 30 min = 1/2 hour, you would have posted either as AMBG +0.5 or +12.5. The +30 would mean that you were 30 hours after your AMPS shot yesterday.
 
Wow! Just saw your message. Go Orren! Here's the link to Handling and Shooting Low Numbers. I've read it a hundred times and still find it helpful to reread. I've never shot a number that low before so I would be nervous, too. I'm really glad the calvary came to your rescue!

If you look at Zoey's ss, you will see that when she's in low numbers I will test her every 30 minutes. The sticky on low numbers says every 15 to 20 but I don't see any change after feeding her until about 30 minutes later as far as her BG numbers are concerned. I don't see any +1 or +2 testings (today will be a great day to get those numbers filled in for future reference) but it looks like the way you feed Orren that he goes up significantly after his morning feed so I would expect the numbers to rise ... but never assume anything Test.

I have found that I'm very calm as long as I know what Zoey's number is. You can control the low numbers if you know what they are. I've also found that if I panic and overfeed with a HC meal because I'm stressed about the low numbers, it causes her to boomerang and be off the chart. So stay calm and be logical. You are steering him with the food. Wendy gave us a great link that has lots of good reading and information for almost everything. I have bookmarked it (includes the handling and shooting low) so I have all of the resources available with one click. Here's that link. If you go down below the picture of the cat you will see a link to a post on feeding the curve. I found it helpful to see how the food steers them and influences the BG.

Stay diligent. You want him in those low numbers as long as possible so test and don't panic. You've got this!
 
Looks like Oren is already dropping so you will want to keep a close eye on him. You could go ahead and give a tsp of LC, but you don't really have to worry until he is nearing 50.
 
His numbers are pretty flat, since there is meter variance. I would have expected more of a rise from the food he ate previously, though. I would go ahead and feed him a little more LC.
 
If it were Zoey I would feed a smidge of food but not a lot. Only reason being is that it has dropped since you last posted and normally it looks like he rises. Don't go crazy with the food ... just a fraction to feed the dose and then test in 1/2 hour.
 
Looks like Oren is already dropping so you will want to keep a close eye on him. You could go ahead and give a tsp of LC, but you don't really have to worry until he is nearing 50.
I gave him a tsp or so of his LC just now. Is it ok to wait to +2 or should i recheck in 30 min now?

edited to add: HUGE THANKS AND HUGS to all who are holding our paws/hands !! I'm excited and terrified at the same time.
 
I think it would be okay to wait until +2, but I would still keep an eye on him and if he starts acting strange test immediately. Sometimes I get impatient and test early, but typically this early in the cycle there isn't much movement, although Sammy had a tendency to drop to nadir by +2 at times.
 
I think it would be okay to wait until +2, but I would still keep an eye on him and if he starts acting strange test immediately. Sometimes I get impatient and test early, but typically this early in the cycle there isn't much movement, although Sammy had a tendency to drop to nadir by +2 at times.
Oren RARELY seems to nadir early, on most days it's actually past +6 (but of course he's had a few earlier also. Not always a clear pattern.

So far so good, it's already 25 min from +1 and he seems fine. He's taken to resting/sleeping on his cardboard scratching pad, and is perched on it now, dozing. He and his sister Patty just had a nice interaction of licking eachothers heads just before the +1 test! It didn't escalate to biting like it sometimes does as I swooped in to do his test! Thank god for iPad; i actually caught an almost 45 min nap b4 the +1 on the couch!
 
oren_patty.JPG
patty_oren.JPG


this is after the +1 test, it was so very sweet. Patty was head-butting him occasionally and they switched on and off w/ the grooming. :)
 
You want to continue the test and feed approach until you are sure he is safe - past nadir, rising 3 times in a row often works.
 
A purrfect 64 at +3 :)
what a turnaround from yesterday?! is this the same kitty! I gave him another tsp of LC (he loves this part, except maybe the pokes!)

Now I'm going to try and dash outside and get the mower through the first part of the lawn if possible! but will come in for +4 I guess!
 
Looking really good. I would still continue to test and feed a teaspoon or two every hour until you see him rising. Once you see some rising numbers you can back off on the testing a bit
 
:D:DI believe this is called 'being in the lagoon?!' I sure hope he decides he likes it better after a few trips now and doesn't go bouncing to the moon again.
The rising seems to have started though, biggest move of the a.m. I only gave him 1/2 tsp food this time and hope to not have to test till +6?
 
Woohoo, look at SurferBoy Oren go! :D:D:) Good job shooting that this morning Megan. And yes, being in green is being in the lagoon, surfing those waves.
smiley_emoticons_mttao_surfer.gif


With Neko, I find that if she starts lower she nadirs earlier. You can probably go a little longer between tests now.
 
I feel like a proud momma! I can't believe the turnaround from yesterday; surfed black all day, then this?! really don't want him swinging so much b/n though. Not sure what i can do to stop that, perhaps i need to feed him more in the PM too to help level things?
 
Wendy; when at work, I've usually been feeding him 1/2 his morning amount at PS, then leaving other half in either 2-3 meals up till about +4 usually. Haven't regularly been feeding PM meals unless he's been low, which he started doing recently so i was feeding after testing. Or if i have to go out, i was sometimes leaving a few meals. Perhaps I should be consistent w/ 2-3 meals beyond the PS feedings both day and night?
 
nice while it lasted; but i wish he wouldn't go up so fast! nearly 200 pts. in 2 hrs. anyway, i think pokes are done till at least +10
 
Well darn! I just saw that you did not get your BOS award for shooting your first green number! it doesn't have to be a dropping number to get the BOS!

Great shooting this morning. Here you go!!!

bos_zpsb029e400.jpg


Better late than never ;)
 
haha Marje, thanks! was really only kidding, but it does seem like an appropriate award when you're barely awake and that low number is staring you in the face! Thanks for watching out for Rose and Zoey tonight! hope all goes smoothly. Oren is keeping me on my toes lately; he was green most of the a.m, bounced this afternoon, but was dropping again at PMPS. Doubt he'll go green on me again tonight, but perhaps... I'll check at +2 which for me will be 8.45 pm eastern time.
 
You're welcome. It is very appropriate....even if you are wide awake!

He's pretty much the same number. When you get up into the 400s, meter variance is easily 80 mg/dL. But I'll be around tonight stalking you all ;);):cool:
 
Wowser! I missed the lagoon party! Awesome to see Oren spend so many hours in normal numbers!

Good job shooting this morning. A few of these cycles may flatten his blood sugar and avoid those swings you hate.
 
so he's dropping again, even w/ some intervening feedings of 1/4 can at pm+2 & 4. gave him another 1/8th can at +6 and off to bed. wonder if I'll wake to green again...
 
I think it would be a good idea to set an alarm and check him again in a couple hours. He's come a long way down tonight and he cleared that bounce from today really fast. I'd be sure he doesn't continue down or you could wake up to another green number. Which is fine as long as it's not too low of a green number.

For me, personally, I don't like to quit testing until I know I've got at least a flat number past nadir.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top