4/11 Nonnie AMPS 143 +3 31 +3.15 29 +3.45 57 +7 110

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phyllis

Member Since 2012
Gave FF gravy at 31 and 1.5 ml Karo at 29. That usually does the trick. Expect this is the bounce from the high numbers last night....does this stop at some point? What am I doing wrong. He got 1.25 units this am. Seems to be slowly creeping back up. Will wait a little longer this time, too. Usually when he is still rising after 3, he stays up, but will keep checking. Last number was 84 but it wouldn't let me put it on subject line.
 
Re: 4/11 Nonnie AMPS 143 +3 31 +3.15 29

Hi guys .. I don't think I've been to your condo before, so welcome from us! Nice catch on those lower numbers .. I don't have any advice on bouncing .. I could never figure it out with mocha .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/11 Nonnie AMPS 143 +3 31 +3.15 29

Hey Phyllis,

The high numbers last night were a bounce from the low numbers you saw yesterday. Today, Nonnie broke the bounce. Since Nonnie's dropped so low, you'll need to reduce the dose again tonight. I'll let the experienced dose advisors help you with the right dose.

For now, please keep checking every 15 to 20 minutes and keep feeding the Karo if you need to. I have to go teach a class, so I won't be able to stay with you. If you need help, though, go back to your very first post in this thread, click the "edit" button, and click on the "911" icon. That will get others' attention so that they can help you.

You're doing a great job. Just keep checking bg and steering the numbers with the high-carb food.
 
Re: 4/11 Nonnie AMPS 143 +3 31 +3.15 29

This could still be from the larger depot at 1.75 but that 29 means business! I'd probably count on reducing by .25u at next shot.
 
Re: 4/11 Nonnie AMPS 143 +3 31 +3.15 29 + 3.20 45 +3.45 57

Hi,
you can take a test number out of the subject line to keep it updated.
Just keep the amps, the lowest one and the current one at least.
I'll flag someone so you know what dose to give for the next shot.....
 
adequan is for arthritis.... quite a few of us here give it to our cats ( or dogs)
It's made for dogs and horses and someone tried it on cats and found that it helps a lot.
 
I would definitely reduce Nonnie's dose tonight. I'm thinking that you may want to reduce to 1.0u but if she's still in lower ranges tonight, please keep a close watch on her numbers. It's likely that you're seeing these low numbers since you've eliminated dry food from Nonnie's diet. As a result of the food change, her insulin needs are changing.
 
You definitely want to decrease Nonnie's dose again tonight...down to 1 unit

It would be really helpful for you to get a +11 so when it's tonight's PMPS time, you can see if he's coming up or dropping. If you can't get a +11 (or +11.5) and get a Pre-shot of less than 150, you should probably stall, DON'T FEED, and retest in about 20 minutes....you want to make sure he's coming up without any food before shooting again

Nonnie sure seems to be a kitty on a mission!!
 
Just saw this....got a +10.5 of 88. If you are still here....do I just feed (would be about 15 minutes) and then give 1.0 and watch closely or what??
Thanks~
 
can you post a +11.5 in another hour?

you don't mean you're feeding him between now and +12/shot time are you? we usually withhold food from +10 on so that the preshot isn't a food-influenced blood sugar number.
 
Yeah you don't want to feed for the 2 hours prior to the Pre-shot test so you know for sure that the number isn't influenced by food.

If you got an 88 at +10.5, it's best for you to NOT feed and then maybe get a +11 (or 11.5) so when it's time to do the pre-shot test, you'll know if he's coming up on his own.
 
I'm sorry...his normal time is 7am and 7pm so this WAS a +11.5 I'm so confused today cause his SS is weird from so much testing earlier. Based on this...what would you suggest? It's been going on 20 minutes....actually it was more like +11.7 as I was preparing to feed and with 18 cats that takes a while. But I try to test before I feed....actually, this would normally be his PMPS, but I thought I'd wait and do one in about 10 minutes to see if it changed??
 
mmmm, well, ordinarily an 88 is a fine number to shoot. can you monitor tonight? often shooting low will flatten out the numbers so you have a line instead of much of a curve, phyllis. shooting low doesn't mean he'll go low, but there's no guarantees.

if you're supplied and have the fortitude, i'd probably go ahead and shoot the 1.0u. but the choice is yours. you can also reduce to 0.75 if you're nervous about it.

you've been through a ton of testing the past few days. it looks like removing the dry food has made a huge difference.
 
I have plenty of supplies and Karo, so I think I'll go with the 1 and see what happens....Karo has usually done the trick if it's very low. Otherwise I took someone's suggestion and got food with gravy and I squeeze the gravy out and use that if it's not too low. I'll keep posting so you can see what's going on if you are around. Thank you!!
 
good for you, phyllis! it's hard to take cycle after cycle like this, but every hour you keep him under 120 is so good for him. you're making an investment now - and he is coming down the dosing scale very nicely.

i'd get a +1 and a +2, just to be safe and know what he's doing.
 
That was me Phyllis...about squeezing the gravy out of the Gravy Lovers food since the carbs are in the gravy!

It's also good because giving a few teaspoons of gravy doesn't usually fill them up, so if you need them to eat later, they'll do it (and so far, I haven't seen many cats who didn't LOVE the gravy!!)

Nonnie is making huge progress! Amazing what getting rid of the dry food does, isn't it? :mrgreen:
 
Gave 1.0 units at 7PM with PMPS of 88. Was 178 @ +1 and 138 @ +2.5 He's 118 at + 3.5. If I can get another one sometime during the night I will, but I think we'll be ok. I feel pretty good about these numbers.
 
i think i'd leave him out some canned low carb food when you go to bed, regardless of what the +3.5 number is. He's in an active cycle tonight with the drop from +1 to +2.5. some food can buy you peace of mind. i'd err on the side of too much food rather than too little, given his numbers earlier today.

If he is at 100 or below, can you set an alarm and get another test?

one observation - he didn't bounce from that 31 today. so his liver has gotten used to his body being in these numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top