4/11 Niko PMPS 343, PM +11 40, AMPS 135

Niko's Mom

Member
Prev: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-10-niko-amps-120-1-85-2-50.299966/#post-3263388

Hi all. Niko just freaked me out this morning at his PM +11 (an hour before his AM shot) at a 40 (triple checked). I gave him some HC because he was starving.

We just did a reduction last night to 1.50 so this is the surplus depot, I'm assuming. If he goes up to over 50 for PS, do we still give the full...?

Little rascal. We are home to monitor but this wont be a fasted PS.
 
You have to wait for a while now after giving HC before you can shoot. For next time, when in the 40's this late, try waiting 15-20 minutes and retesting to see if he's coming up on his own. You can give a bit of LC at that point. If he's coming up now, it's due to the HC. More details in this Sticky: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

You are right, when following TR, you would call this the influence of the previous depot and stick with 1.5 units.
 
You have to wait for a while now after giving HC before you can shoot. For next time, when in the 40's this late, try waiting 15-20 minutes and retesting to see if he's coming up on his own. You can give a bit of LC at that point. If he's coming up now, it's due to the HC. More details in this Sticky: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

You are right, when following TR, you would call this the influence of the previous depot and stick with 1.5 units.

Okay, gotcha. So, we would just be late with his shot? And then walk it back tonight?

I said HC but I actually ended up giving him MC which is around 12%, I just realized. I still would assume the same would apply.
 
Have you retested yet?

There are a couple options, one is to wait a couple hours for the shot. But that will take you a while to get back on schedule. A second option is to not feed anymore, and keep testing frequently to see when he starts zooming up. If you get a couple rising tests in a row with no extra food on board, it is likely due to bounce or insulin from the previous cycle wearing off. Details are in the Sticky Note section on dealing with low preshot numbers.
 
Have you retested yet?

There are a couple options, one is to wait a couple hours for the shot. But that will take you a while to get back on schedule. A second option is to not feed anymore, and keep testing frequently to see when he starts zooming up. If you get a couple rising tests in a row with no extra food on board, it is likely due to bounce or insulin from the previous cycle wearing off. Details are in the Sticky Note section on dealing with low preshot numbers.

Yes, 20 minutes after the MC spoonful he was up at 88. I have about another half hour to go, so I stopped feeding him after that spoonful. With his cycle, I know he will most likely bounce now so I will probably dose full if he is still coming up in 30 minutes.

Sorry, just got a bit panicked this morning (he keeps catching me off guard right after I wake up recently). Thanks, I'll re-familiarize myself with the stickies and make sure it's LC next time this happens...
 
Back
Top