4/11 Marley AMPS 254, +2.5 46, +3 35, + 3.3 46, +3.8 38

oh man then he goes and throws a spanner in the works and I feel I need someone here by +2.5
 
Why are t you taking reductions when earned? There was a 49 on 4/4 but no reduction. That’s why now you are in very low numbers. Are you feeding hc and testing every 20 minutes? You are in danger of a symptomatic hypo.
 
Why are t you taking reductions when earned? There was a 49 on 4/4 but no reduction. That’s why now you are in very low numbers. Are you feeding hc and testing every 20 minutes? You are in danger of a symptomatic hypo.
Because with Marley because he was jumping so much dose wise we went on to a protocol where its immediate reduction under 40, but I wait for 3 under 50
 
Why are t you taking reductions when earned? There was a 49 on 4/4 but no reduction. That’s why now you are in very low numbers. Are you feeding hc and testing every 20 minutes? You are in danger of a symptomatic hypo.

It's quite stressful enough without feeling I'm getting told off.

Ive literally given up my whole life for Marley.

He is right next to me, less than 1/2 a metre away. Looking fine. I am keeping a close eye on him.

Under 40 I do every 20 mins, above I do every half hour
 
He has earned a reduction to 2.25U. Did you feed HC at +2.5? Food with carbs > 20%?
I did the food that isnt that high but works better than the one that is at +2.5. Then at three I did yoghurt and that same food at +3.5 - yoghurt always brings him up, just done more of the same
 
I just worry I will be putting him in danger not getting low enough.....
Both DKA and hypoglycaemia are dangerous. The idea is to find a balance. A dose where he sees neither too high nor too low numbers. You have to do the best you can given the circumstances. There is only so long you can stay at home and refuse work.

I did the food that isnt that high but works better than the one that is at +2.5. Then at three I did yoghurt and that same food at +3.5 - yoghurt always brings him up, just done more of the same
Doesn't seem to be working today!
 
Both DKA and hypoglycaemia are dangerous. The idea is to find a balance. A dose where he sees neither too high nor too low numbers. You have to do the best you can given the circumstances. There is only so long you can stay at home and refuse work.


Doesn't seem to be working today!

I guess its hard to know how strong the drive is but seeing the drop from AMPS to +2.5 I probably should have given him yoghurt at +2.5

I was going on just the 46 bg number, which I have bought up several time with that food.

But I guess not off the back of such a big drop.

My mistake - I must remember to consider the drop.
 
Both DKA and hypoglycaemia are dangerous. The idea is to find a balance. A dose where he sees neither too high nor too low numbers. You have to do the best you can given the circumstances. There is only so long you can stay at home and refuse work

Ok so if I get this work I am hoping for in the next couple of weeks and dont have someone to test in the mornings, I will do a drop - with a look to the future where I can leave my house later so I can be with him.........
 
I guess its hard to know how strong the drive is but seeing the drop from AMPS to +2.5 I probably should have given him yoghurt at +2.5

I was going on just the 46 bg number, which I have bought up several time with that food.

But I guess not off the back of such a big drop.

My mistake - I must remember to consider the drop.
Please give him some higher carb food. The food and yoghurt don't seem to be helping.
 
Does it make a difference he has been running around the house?

Ive given him some high carb.

He's now gone under the bed so I can't test
 
I would strongly recommend you to follow the advice of @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee. They are both very experienced.
With a BG of 35, you really should be feeding HC food and testing 20 minutes later, to see the BG is rising. If he’s gone under the bed, I would get a broom, sweep it under the bed and get him out. The 30s is not to be messed with. :) He can be fine one minute and have hypo symptoms the next.
We all only want what is best for Mar Lai
 
Last edited:
I will always follow @Bandit's Mom advice as she knows Marley and me, but people who know nothing about either of us, coming on and telling me off when doesn't feel very kind nor helpful.

Its really offensive to be accused of putting him in danger when I have given up so much of my life and I completely prioritise him.

He is under the bed now, happy as Larry. Purring away. He never purrs when he is low and stressed.

Ive given him 2 hc feed while he's been there. I feel confident hes fine now for the day. But I am home for the next several hours and will check on him.

Its the most ridiculous advice for Marleys character to think trying to sweep him out with a broom would be good.

If he was having a seizure or something (and I have been constantly checking on him) I would pull him out by whatever means I could but if I did it now in the state he was in he probably wouldnt come for his evening shot or forgive me for days and that would make life very very hard.


The reason I dont automatically give him HC is because he always bounces much worse and for much longer when I do. He's had plenty of lows that hes got through without HC and just with normal food and yoghurt, and he does better with these, he returns to good numbers faster
 
I guess you THINK you know best. I hope the best for your cat and that he doesn’t go hypo. You are playing with fire.
 
I guess you THINK you know best. I hope the best for your cat and that he doesn’t go hypo. You are playing with fire.

I do not need this from you. I feel really bullied by you.

I take very seriously low numbers.

I don't think I know best at all.

I feel so upset by you. I literally am hanging by a thread this year and you are cutting thread with your unkindness.
 
Take your first comment "Why are t you taking reductions when earned? There was a 49 on 4/4 but no reduction."

Accusing me straight off of doing it wrong, why didnt you just ask me why I didnt take a reduction"
 
I am literally on the edge this year. I have all my family and friends telling me I should put him down, that I am wasting my life. I have every little support. My finances are in a terible state I might loose everything if something doesnt change I really do not need this from you.
 
As a Moderator, I must remind everyone that there is no tolerance for rudeness here. Everyone dealing with a diabetic cat is stressed and likely exhausted. That is still no basis to be rude.

@Jdubs no one is questioning your commitment to Marley. Members are worried about low numbers with reason. We have had very experienced members here who also know their cat end up losing them from a hypo because they didn’t realize something had changed with the way the cat responded to insulin.

Our number one concern here is safety. No member should rely just on one other for advice. It’s great you trust Bhooma but there are many experienced members here, like Elise (tiffmaxee) and Bron. They can be a big help to you and Marley. If they make a suggestion in a situation like this (low BG), it’s because of safety.

Perhaps Marley isn’t a cat you would want to use a broom to get him out from under the bed but the point wasn’t really what you use. The point was he needed to be accessible for testing. If he’s convulsing, it’s too late.

I’d like to add that HC food does not cause bouncing. What it can do is shorten duration so the effects of the insulin are minimized and the BG starts back up sooner than typical. Then if the cat bounces, the BG may go up quite a bit. This is where is takes experimentation to know how many carbs, how much food as well as how often to feed will generally keep the kitty from losing duration.
 
Last edited:
As another Moderator, I echo the points that Marje made. I'd also point out that asking an experienced member who routinely helps any number of people here to "Stay off my posts." will likely cause more than the one person to give your posts a wide berth. You will end up limiting the people who will lend you a hand. And, frankly, Bhooma is not here 24/7 to help. If you are following TR, then the information you received was in keeping with the protocol. There is nothing on your spreadsheet to indicate that you've fed your cat high carb food or you're using the 3 drops in the 40 - 50 range to qualify for a reduction. With regard to the latter, it would help if that information was in your signature. All of us are limited by the information that is accessible.
 
@Jdubs I’d like to add some information about reductions.

First, while it is not wrong for you to use the three drops between 40 and 50 as a reduction point, he’s not a newly diagnosed cat. He’s been diabetic for over a year and so really, the best suggestion I can make is that you don’t reduce him until he drops below 40 as the protocol is written. Using three drops between 40 and 50 is really meant for newly diagnosed cats (diagnosed under a year) who can’t hold reductions. Second, sometimes the depot can get ahead of you even if you are following one drop below 40. What I mean by that is he hasn’t dropped below 40 during a cycle but you are having a very hard time keeping his BG up. In that situation, I’d suggest taking the reduction for safety. You can always go back to the higher dose if you need to.
 
Back
Top