? 4/11 Lulu PMPS-126,+1-117,+2-83,+3-61,+3.5-68,4-70

Status
Not open for further replies.
it happens to everyone. maybe more got in than you thought. Even if not, she'll recover and get back on track before long.

enjoy your Caturday! :)
 
Nope, not a fur shot, +5 is 65. I am probably overreacting, but I have to go out this afternoon and am scared to leave her, she`s never been this low before. She seems fine. Help!! I will cancel my meeting if it means my little girl might be in trouble.
 
How long until you leave? I would give a couple tsp of regular low carb food and test on half an hour.
 
whew, she just tested at 95. I panicked, I seldom stray too far from home since Lulu`s dx, but would never forgive myself if she had a hypo episode without her Mama (and you guys to help me out). I won`t be gone for more than a few hours, do you think she`s okay for me to go?
 
Gave her some Friskies with cheese and gravy, about a tablespoon. I usually only feed pate, but keep these on hand just in case, along with the corn syrup in case things get really bad. I don't think I'm going to make anymore commitments until she is stabilized, we've only been at this a short time and I am so worried about her going hypo.
 
She could surf or she could dip down again once the food wears off since you gave high carb food. I take it from your answer, you are not going out. I don't feel I can recommend you go out since you don't have much data on how she reacts with these low numbers. I don't want to say go out and then she drops.

I would suggest you feed her some of the pate if you need to give her something again and see if she keeps surfing. What you want is two tests without a food influence where she stays in safe numbers. 95 is a safe number.
 
You're right, I've cancelled. This is going to cost me a friend, but c'est la vie. People who don't love animals just don't get it. I could go on and on about this, but it's not worth the space.
I am so grateful you are all here to help. I'll be testing Lulu again in a bit and see where she's at. I'm taking the 911 off the post.
 
If they are really your friend, they will understand. Just keep updating your subject line so people can check in on you and Lulu (I love that name).
 
It looks like she's going to surf. You might want to make a note on her SS of what you fed and when you fed her so you'll have that information next time she has low numbers.
 
If they are really your friend, they will understand. Just keep updating your subject line so people can check in on you and Lulu (I love that name).
Thank you, I love that name too. My dear departed kitty`s name was Puddin, as in PuddinCat :), another kitty name I love.
btw, I invited my friend to come here, and he did. I guess he does value our friendship.
 
I think tonight's the night Lulu girl and I will be having a pyjama party. These numbers are lower than those I've ever seen; I won't be able to sleep worrying about her, so will be doing some testing throughout the night.
 
She looks great Lori! The goal is to keep her in normal numbers so if it is possible, her pancreas has the opportunity to heal. The longer she surfs between 50-120 the better.

Don't feed her from +10 to pmps tonight unless she goes below 50. You want her pmps to not be food influenced.
 
Take a look at "Where Can I Find?" http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/where-can-i-find-________.127890/

for a little reading on shooting low, ie, shooting the regular dose into normal numbers.

At the top section, there is a yellow sticky called shooting and handling low numbers. That has a section on what to do if you're faced with a normal pre-shot number ie, a pre shot number in the 50-120 range.

In the bottom section there is a post called shooting low that links to a discussion on Charlie's thread that talked about it. Take a look at that one. Then look at the link in the bottom section called tight regulation protocol myths debunked. That one has one post - you'll need to scroll through, and see the post called shooting a dropping number. That one applies to this situation.

I'd suggest you take a look at these and be ready in case you're faced with a normal number at prehot tonight.
 
Her PMPS jumped to 126, which is significantly lower than her previous PMPS`s of 216, 293, 290, and 266. I`ve read the info @julie & punkin (ga) provided, and think it's okay to go ahead with Lulu's usual 1.75u dosage, but still not feeling confident. I am fully prepared to stay up all night to monitor her, but don't want to shoot without getting some feedback from you wonderful kitty-lovers.
As always, thanks so much for the hand-holding, I hope someday to be able to pay it forward.
 
Coming down slowly, she had something to eat after the PMPS, she was eyeing my spaghetti with a hungry look in her eye, so I gave her some Friskies pate.
 
Sounds good. She's still doing fine.

See you in another hour.

If she goes below 50, pop open a can with gravy and give her a tsp. Otherwise just keep giving low carb. Do you usually give her another meal in the pm cycle?
 
Not really a full meal at night, in a typical day she gets brekky (which she`s pretty hungry for), then a mid-morning snack, small lunch, mid afternoon snack, dinner and then small bedtime snack. I used to free feed dry food, but she got fat, which is probably a major factor in her getting diabetes.
 
She's looking great! She definitely likes this dose.

I haven't had a chance to welcome you all here as I've been off the board a couple weeks but you're doing great with Lulu. And she is absolutely adorable!!!
 
Thank you Marje, I sure do love my little Lulu girl. This website is a lifesaver.
Julie, she`s still dropping but not as quickly as between hr 1 and hr 2
 
it's ideal if we can get her to just surf along. keep doling out the low carb. just another teaspoon or two. we might need her to be hungry if she dips below 50.

i'd check her in 1/2 hr now.
 
very nice curve stacking up. If kitty is a good eater, i like to feed 2 tsp of LC at a time after tests until you get her stopped and flat. Then let Mr. L take over and learn how to surf!
 
fingers and paws crossed. Poor little thing is beginning to feel like a pin cushion I think. I hope she knows it is all done for love :kiss:
 
I think you`re right, Julie, last test was 70; and she`s forgiven all the poking...curled up beside me, kneading and purring
 
I think you're good for the night - perfect surf! If you want to call it a night (I'm not sure where you are and how late it is), i'd just leave extra low carb food out for her.

If you're worried, you could test again in another hour, but i suspect with leaving lc out for the night she's probably ok for the night.
 
Julie, thank you so much for being with me through this, it means a lot that you spent your Saturday night coaching me.

Take care,
Lori
 
Oh no, please go to bed, you have been so helpful. I'm going to go to bed too, I've left some food out for Lulu, who is purring and kneading away, happy as a clam. Goodnight, sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top