Min and Lord Fuzzy Bottom
Member Since 2024
Previous Day Condo: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-10-lord-fuzzy-bottom-pmps-126.288625/#post-3169038
Responding to question on previous day:
This morning his numbers were below 600 even though his last shot was yesterday morning. Today is his curve so I'm weighing how much he ate this morning so far:
3g of Science Diet Adult Cat
19g of Fancy Feast Flakes (i thought this one was a pate when I bought it, found out this morning, it wasn't)
These are the things I am asking the vet today- I typed them out so I can make sure he gets it:
1. Is he still in Diabetic Ketoacidosis? It was never mentioned if he was out of it or not. I do monitor via urine strips and try to do so 1 time a day. I understand how DKA is a dangerous thing for cats and they can go downhill very quickly.
2. I am concerned that with the Glargine being a depot insulin that his PM dose skips are working off the depot that his body has created. Is this possible?
3. Would it be better to lower his insulin to perhaps 2u every 12 hours instead of 4u every 12 hours? That way the depot has a chance to build back up and give him the long stable curve that it is known for. I believe that when he was first diagnosed and I was giving the insulin, I was having user error and I don’t think he was getting his entire dose which was causing his bg to remain high. And then after I watched him get the injection and recorded it so I could look back on it I haven’t been having any errors like I did in the beginning. I am barely having any ‘leakage’ after injection, most times now his coat is dry after the shot.
Responding to question on previous day:
No. I know what the Lantus website states to do. I asked the vet myself. I watched them and recorded them giving a dose of insulin with the pen. They stated they never prime the pen. But in the video I made, you can hear me asking if they prime the pen and you hear the tech stating no. But they had said that a droplet starts showing after the needle is on it showing that insulin is in the needle.Also, I’m just curious…are you priming the insulin pen before every use?
This morning his numbers were below 600 even though his last shot was yesterday morning. Today is his curve so I'm weighing how much he ate this morning so far:
3g of Science Diet Adult Cat
19g of Fancy Feast Flakes (i thought this one was a pate when I bought it, found out this morning, it wasn't)
These are the things I am asking the vet today- I typed them out so I can make sure he gets it:
1. Is he still in Diabetic Ketoacidosis? It was never mentioned if he was out of it or not. I do monitor via urine strips and try to do so 1 time a day. I understand how DKA is a dangerous thing for cats and they can go downhill very quickly.
2. I am concerned that with the Glargine being a depot insulin that his PM dose skips are working off the depot that his body has created. Is this possible?
3. Would it be better to lower his insulin to perhaps 2u every 12 hours instead of 4u every 12 hours? That way the depot has a chance to build back up and give him the long stable curve that it is known for. I believe that when he was first diagnosed and I was giving the insulin, I was having user error and I don’t think he was getting his entire dose which was causing his bg to remain high. And then after I watched him get the injection and recorded it so I could look back on it I haven’t been having any errors like I did in the beginning. I am barely having any ‘leakage’ after injection, most times now his coat is dry after the shot.
