4/11 Jupiter PMPS-273/+2-255/+4-262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
yesterday/last night/this mornings post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92973

So while I am very glad to see some lower numbers for Jupiter - last night was scary.

I am nervous about today - but still shot the 2.25U dose.


Todays numbers :

AMPS-104
+1-119
+2-143
+3-137
+4-144
+6-277
+10-337


PMPS-273
+2-255
+4-262
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104

You did great last night! I'm so thrilled to see Jupiter with a great number this am.
Paws crossed that Jupiter can earn a reduction today.
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119

Yes Jamie, that first time is very scary. I think last night was your official "right of passage" into greenland! :mrgreen: You did great and I hope today goes smoothly for you. Keep us updated on Jupe's numbers. You've got a beautiful start to the day in those blues! :-D
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119

Great job last night Jamie! I'm so proud of you for shooting this morning! I know you have to be exhausted and also with your migraine.

Remember if the +2 is about the same or much less than the preshot,you are probably going to be busy again today.

There's just not enough ~O) ~O) ~O) for me this morning :-D

I really thought Jupiter would bounce up....pretty murky crystal ball.

And now you get to join the International Coast to Coast PJ Party group ;-)
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119

Thanks so much Marje for helping Jamie last night. I'm sending you some coast to coast espresso shots to give you and extra boost today. I hope you have a great visit with your sister! :-D
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119

jamie. welcome to the vampire club. first time is always scary. wheezer has been dropping into the 20's. no panic here cause I know my cat. a tsp of food(very carb/food sensitive) and I can go back to bed.

look how far you have come since deb and I came to help show you how to test.
very proud of how you guys are doing.
keep up the good work and hopefully jupe will be on his way down with the insulin and hopefully OTJ.

pat yourselves on the back

thanks to all that was there for Jamie last nite
PS I think your migraine is getting better cause now I am getting it
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137

Thank you all for your replies and your support.

And thank you to everyone who helped me during the night last night - I am so glad I didnt have to do this alone the first time. You guys were all so amazing!!
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137

I was actually able to get about an hour of sleep this morning while Dane was here - he tested Jupiter for me. He is getting ready to leave for work here in a few minutes. I think that hour nap really helped a bunch though - my migraine really isnt too bad now either. If I do sleep today, I will just take short naps so I can test every once in a while. These numbers still make me a little nervous right now.
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137

Was wondering if I should still be testing every hour or if I should test every other hour?
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137

since you are up, I would get a +4 since he came down a little. just to be sure where this is going. then if ok, would do a +6 which may be his nadir and then I think you will be ok til PMPS. all depends on what the numbers say. +2 and +3 are basically the same number so he may be leveling off here
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137/+4-144

Looks like he is holding steady. His poor little ears look so sore =[

I have a hard time testing with the neosporin ointment on his ear.. so I just put some neo on one ear and will use the other to test the next couple times... then I will try to switch ears a little later and put some neo on his other ear.
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137/+4-144

I think you can call it a day. when using neo, just have a very light coating on it. do not need much at all.
take a break you deserve it
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277

hmm his numbers are on the rise again. I was just starting to get used to those blues =[
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277

Yup. We all like blue and green!!

Remember Marje's note that Jupiter is likely to bounce. It's a normal response.
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277

Nice job last night! Boy, Jupiter decided to start using all the juice at once, right? :-D :-D :-D Leo used to do that @-) @-) @-) without warning sometimes and have me up half the night. You survived!
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277

I agree,, bounce cause he is just not used to the lower numbers.. go nap we do not know (yet) how long it will take him to clear the bounce. some do it in 8 hours, some take as much as a couple days.
hang in there
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277

Guess I fell asleep for an hour.. Man I just woke up and was panicking so bad, thought I had been sleeping for a while and thought I forgot to test him. Sheesh.


Just realized my migraine is finallyyyyy gone!!
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277

Jamie7489 said:
.. Man I just woke up and was panicking so bad, thought I had been sleeping for a while and thought I forgot to test him. Sheesh...
I know that feeling, exactly! You did fantastic, btw!!!
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+1-119/+2-143/3-137/4-144/6-277/10

Hmm his numbers keep going up again. Really dont understand how this works. I am wondering what is a bounce and why it happens? If anyone could explain I would really appreciate it - Thanks!
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277/+10-337 Quest

Yeah I think that helped a little bit. Still a little confused though. Like I guess I am kind of unsure why it happens in the first place.

Just to be sure I am understanding - If his numbers drop low - it causes a bounce because hes not used to the low numbers so his body responds by making his numbers go up??

But what makes the numbers drop quickly like that in the first place?


I am sorry if I am asking in a confusing way. I just want to understand as best as possible and I am having a hard time.
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277/+10-337 Quest

here's a short answer of what a bounce is.
When a cat's blood glucose goes low, their body will react instinctively by releasing "glucagon", "glycogen" and counter-regulatory hormones into the blood stream. This causes the BG to rise, usually significantly. It usually makes them stay higher for a day or longer too.

By "low", that doesn't have to mean hypoglycemic low. Just lower than what the body is used to. A cat who has been running in high numbers in the 350-400 range can bounce if the numbers drop a couple of hundred points. Because the cat isn't used to BGs in the 100-200's range.
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter AMPS-104/+3-137/+4-144/+6-277/+10-337 Quest

Numbers can drop for any number of reasons and not all have a good explanation. When a cat finds a "good" dose of insulin, numbers come down. If there's insulin and your cat's pancreas starts to produce it's own insulin, that will cause numbers to drop.

What I suspect has happened in Jupiter's case is that your kitty has been diabetic for a while before diagnosed. As a result, Jupiter was experiencing glucose toxicity. The term sounds worse than it is. What this means is that because Jupiter has been in high numbers for a while, his body had gotten used to sitting in high number and treats those high numbers as the "new" normal. Thus, as the insulin starts doing it's job and bringing numbers down, there's a set up for a bounce reaction.

If you think about why numbers come down in terms of how an antibiotic works, it may make more sense. If you have an infection, you're body is doing it's best to fight off the source of the infection. You start a course of antibiotics. For a day or two, you may still feel crummy and have a fever. And then, the antibiotic kicks in and you start to feel better. It may not be a perfect analogy but you get the gist.
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter PMPS 273

it is possible. never know how long it will take for him to clear the bounce. some 8 hours or 12 hours up to 2 days . your +2 should help tell the story
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter PMPS 273

will post a +2 in 20 minutes, a little nervous - while I like jupe to have low numbers (but not too low) I really want to get atleast 4 hours of sleep tonight so I am not completely dead tired. getting 2 hours of sleep today just wasnt enough..
 
Re: 4/11 Jupiter PMPS-273/+2-255

Maybe get a +4 and see if he's going steady or if he's still going down? I don't see a +3 so maybe you are taking a nap between tests - good plan. I have a feeling you might need to get some sleep when ever you can until Jupiter shows you a pattern of what he's planning on doing with this dose.
 
+4- 262 Looks like Jupiter is going to remain steady tonight. Not sure if it is necessary to test again or not.. ??

And yes Katie I am trying to nap in between tests tonight - need to try to catch up on some sleep
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top