4/11 Harry AMPS 378 PMPS 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harrycat

Member Since 2012
Hi guys,

I have been absent from the board the last couple of days as been attending meetings for work :-| :lol:

H is doing OK, a slight improvement today. I could tell his numbers were lower when I walked in the door as he just looked better and was holding himself better and more solid to the touch. I upped his dose in tiny increments over the last 2 days. I didn't go straight for the 1.25, just edged it up. Tonight he was lower than the AMPS when it came to shot time which is pretty much the first time he has not come back up again before the PM shot. I will test him again tonight when the kids wake me up as they have both been poorly this week and quite honestly I am shattered! I guess as long as I don't give the cat the kids meds or vice versa we will be OK.. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Jackie --

With Lantus, every time you change a dose, even if it's by one drop, you need to give the dose a chance to settle. The reason is that there's an insulin depot. Every time you change the dose, the depot has to change and this take time. The depot needs to catch up with the change in dose. So, it's best to increase (or decrease) by 0.25u all at once vs. making small changes over the course of a few days.

Also, please remember that Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle -- not on the pre-shot number. This is why it's important to get a test or two during the cycle.
 
Thanks for the reply :)

I'm not quite 'getting' how the depot is better off having the total increase though? I was working on the assumption that it is a storage site so what goes in, comes out over time and the storage is a matter of how fast the insulin is released? Are there some links anywhere that I can read up on that?

With ref to the test times - I am doing my best ;-) I know we need mid-day and mid-night blood tests but it's not always going to be possible (see my profile ;-) )

x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top