4/11, Falafel, AMPS 131 +2 203

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...0-1-25-161-2-167-pmps-132-2-184-4-139.288621/

Yesterday I posted about Falafel’s persistent UTI (I’ve known she’s had it and we’ve been treating since she was in the hospital on 3/3). Would appreciate the forum’s thoughts!

Secondly, she still has this nasty UTI :( after 2 rounds of Clavamox (1wk and then again for 2wks), vet prescribed Zeniquin 12.5mg bc they think the infection may be hiding in her kidneys (she does have slightly elevated kidney levels). They confirmed w the urinalysis that this bacteria should be susceptible to this antibiotic. I have to cut the tablets myself which is tricky, I’ve ordered a pill splitter though. Got the first half pill down successfully just now using a gel cap.

The round of Zeniquin will go for 28 DAYS! Vet said each time an antibiotic fails, subsequent rounds need to be longer. I am also questioning the dose of Zeniquin, google says 2.75mg/kg for 5-14 days is appropriate dosing. Falafel is only about 3.8kgs but the vet’s dose is more appropriate for Falafel at her regular weight (closer to 4.5kgs).

Am I overthinking this? I want to trust the vet but for some reason I’m flashing back to the first vet back when Falafel was first diagnosed and how he almost caused her death. (Happy thoughts at nighttime, clearly!)
 
You're not overthinking it at all. I've had vets prescribe wrong doses of meds to my kitties. A vet once prescribed a dog dose of Clavamox to Bandit and she was puking for 2 days after just 1 dose. Since then I make sure to cross-check doses prescribed by vets.

Tanya's website has great info on the various antibiotics as well as kidney infections:
https://felinecrf.org/treatments_antibiotics_painkillers.htm#marbofloxacin
https://felinecrf.org/pyelonephritis_utis.htm

You could repeat labwork/urine culture after 2 weeks and see if you need to continue to give Zeniquin for a month.
 
You're not overthinking it at all. I've had vets prescribe wrong doses of meds to my kitties. A vet once prescribed a dog dose of Clavamox to Bandit and she was puking for 2 days after just 1 dose. Since then I make sure to cross-check doses prescribed by vets.

Tanya's website has great info on the various antibiotics as well as kidney infections:
https://felinecrf.org/treatments_antibiotics_painkillers.htm#marbofloxacin
https://felinecrf.org/pyelonephritis_utis.htm

You could repeat labwork/urine culture after 2 weeks and see if you need to continue to give Zeniquin for a month.
This sounds like a plan. Also, the vet’s dosing seems to match the info on Tanya’s site so now I feel a bit better!
 
Also I have another question (sorry for the triple post!) since I’m having a cat sitter do PMPS on Saturday (4/13). I originally said not to shoot if she tests her BG and it’s below 150.

I also measured a dose of 0.25U for the sitter with an old syringe using colored liquid. I’m forseeing an increase to 0.5U for us but don’t want the sitter shooting a new dose when I can’t monitor much.

Now I’m rethinking this BG 150 number. I’d be comfortable with her shooting as low as 130 I think. Anything lower and I would worry (I plan on being home by PM+2 but can’t guarantee, might end up being PM+4). Sitter would be shooting and leaving, she can only come for about ~20 minutes. So then that makes me think actually, 150 is a safer number. It’s also our very first time having a sitter EVER, JFYI!

Thoughts on this protocol?
 
Last edited:
How long are you gone for? Just that evening? From when to when?
And you don't need to apologize for asking questions. :)
I woud be gone from AM +7 to PM +4, just for one evening! Sitter would come just for PMPS/shot.

Also, Falafel threw up 3-4x tonight (she’s fine now). The antibiotic dose was too strong I think :(
 
I woud be gone from AM +7 to PM +4, just for one evening! Sitter would come just for PMPS/shot.
You can measure the dose and leave it in the fridge before you leave so that you can be sure the sitter is giving the correct dose. I would have her shoot any number over 100. You can always get her to feed higher carb food and leave higher carb food in the autofeeder for +2 (if you use one) just for peace of mind.

Also, Falafel threw up 3-4x tonight (she’s fine now). The antibiotic dose was too strong I think :(
Oh poor girl. You want to give her a probiotic 2 hours apart from the antibiotic. They can really mess with stomach flora.
 
Back
Top