4/11 Eddie AMPS 236, +6/172, PMPS 221

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL! Happy Friday!

Yesterday's Condo

Our thoughts and prayers are with Rachel today. Land softly at the bridge Chyna.

Today:
AMPS = 236
+1.5 = 240
+5.5 = 200
+6 = 172
+10.5 = 226
PMPS = 221
+2 = 274
+3 = 254
+4 = 204

Eddie, that's about enough sun I think. You're going to get heatstroke! Time to come down and cool off in the pool or maybe even a dip in the lagoon. I keep waiting for Eddie to slide down from these yellows, but he seems to be stuck. On top of it, DH woke me in a panic this morning, having overslept, so the AM shot was over an hour late. I'm so relieved it's Friday. It has definitely been one of those weeks!

I'm not sure if he's still bouncing and continuing with his flat yellow cycles, or if the "novelty" of a new insulin (is there such a thing?) has worn off, and it's time to go up. This AM is cycle 14 at 1.5u. Eddie's first full week on Lantus! Yay!! :smile:

I'm not sure I understand when Eddie should move from the "initial" dose into the Phase 2 increasing the dose stage. Do you basically count 6 cycles backwards to see what the nadirs have been over the past six cycles?
 
Re: 4/22 Eddie AMPS 236

Hi guys .. I can't remember if I've been to your condo before or not, so welcome from us! No dosing advice from me, but I hope along with you that eddie decides to check out the lagoon soon! have a great weekend!
 
Re: 4/22 Eddie AMPS 236, +6/172

Hi Peter!

Thanks for the visit! :smile:

At +6 just after lunchtime, Eddie has finally dipped into the blues! :smile: Maybe he's going to finally decide it's time to get out of the sun and go for a swim. :smile:
 
Re: 4/22 Eddie AMPS 236, +6/172

Nice slide to blue for Eddie. You might want to put dose ? in the subject line. I'm not sure I can explain it very well.
 
Re: 4/22 Eddie AMPS 236, +6/172, PMPS 221

Hi Jen!

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

it's not completely clear in my eyes, because of the fact that he's just been 15 cycles on lantus, but here's what i'm thinking:

- it's been 8 cycles since he got in the 50's
- counting backwards 10 cycles (referring to the "when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing" clause) he's primarily had nadirs right around 100 or higher

i think i would give him another couple of cycles at this same dose, and then if he doesn't get into green numbers, say by Sunday morning, i'd increase by 0.25u. he's doing pretty well, but sometimes giving a little bump to the dose can move the whole range down a bit.

let's see what others suggest.

by the way, using the ? in the post icon will make sure your question gets seen. i know i always go to posts with ? first.
 
Thanks Julie!

I think that makes sense...if nadirs are over primarily over 200, you're going to look at increasing approximately every 6 cycles, and if they're primarily under 100, then hold for 10? Do you count bounce cycles?

I also realized I titled Eddie's condo with 4/22 rather than 4/11. Getting a little ahead of myself! :lol:
 
yes, you've got the right idea.

what i did with punkin, is every 6 cycles i'd look at the protocol, then flip back and forth between it and punkin's ss and asking myself where the nadirs had mostly been in the past 6 cycles.

bounce cycles . . . if they are bouncing, i look at where the nadir is when the bounce clears and count that as the nadir. if eddie is bouncing the whole 6 cycles, i wouldn't count that as 6 cycles in deciding on increasing. i'd wait til i saw the post-bounce-nadir and then decide. if the post-bounce-nadir is 150, then that's what i'd use. if it's 65, i'd hold the dose.

so in other words, you don't increase based upon bouncing numbers, but if the number in between the bounces is a number that would call for an increase, then i would increase.

does that make sense at all?

heehee i mentally sang the time warp song! :lol:
 
Yes! this does make sense! Thanks Julie! :smile:

I keep waiting for Eddie to do something after all these flat yellow cycles, but nothing yet! His last ProZinc bounce lasted six grueling flat yellow cycles right before we switched to Lantus. He does seem to be the master of the flat yellow cycle. Better than flat pink I guess!

During my freshman year of college, my advisor made me and the other students who had him as an advisor learn to dance the Time Warp! :lol:
 
Eddie, Eddie, Eddie.....that blip of blue today isn't going to cut it. Sorry Eddie's liver is trying to wait you out, Jen. I know how frustrating that is! I hope he clears the bounce tonight!

Shelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top