4/11 Doodles AMPS 295 PMPS 331 +2 402 (2.5R) +3.5 285 +5 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 4/10 NDW It's been 27 days since we've had a Yellow start which was the morning on the day we started his heart meds. Yesterday this bean had another rough day. Even knowing it was likely NDW didn't help control my emotions. Last night I gave his R @ +2 hoping for a lower AMPS and it seemed to have worked. I did set my alarm for PM+8 and yeah.....didn't get up :( I've struggled with this in the past and will have to figure out something. Changing my alarm ring tone for the overnight tests might help.

He's eating good and all other P's are in place except for the playing. I have noticed in the last week or so his fur looks and feels on the greasy side :confused:

Vines and prayers to all the kitties and beans.
 
Love seeing yellow! Karen, so sorry you had a rough day yesterday. What you are going through is rough and taxing for you for sure. All the P's in place sounds good. Not sure why his coat would be looking greasy unless it's because of the higher numbers he had been in. Sending hugs.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you. Doodles mouth was open a few times yesterday too. I worry about his heart especially since the IM vet feels the need to remind me that he's in heart failure.
 
Yay for a yellow AMPS!!!
(and 10 hours since R)
image.jpeg

Great job Karen & Doodles!
 
Love that AMPS!!! I'm sorry Doodles does some open-mouth breathing - and that the IM feels a need to remind you about his condition :confused:...I know it's hard enough without being reminded (as if you need to be reminded) :bighug::bighug::bighug:. Here's hoping today is a better day!
 
It's a rollercoaster. Not a fun one, either. But you are being masterful with your care for Doodles. Hang on to that. Believe that. And when the down times come, punch a pillow. Again and again and again. When the good times come, and you've got some great numbers now, breathe deep and relax. Always know, though, that the two of you are doing the very best you can.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Small victories are important!!
image.jpeg


See where he goes. You can give more later if he continues to creep up although he's fairly flat. I know you would prefer flat in the other direction.
 
See where he goes. You can give more later if he continues to creep up although he's fairly flat. I know you would prefer flat in the other direction

That was my thought too...can give more later if he doesn't turn himself around. At least I know that 1.5 R still isn't enough...well for this cycle anyway!
 
Well my conservative dose was not such a good choice but at least he's just plain FLAT. I'll check @ +7 and likely give another dose of R.
 
Well my conservative dose was not such a good choice but at least he's just plain FLAT. I'll check @ +7 and likely give another dose of R.
Is give it as soon as you are back home...if that's +7, that's fine. I had a suspicion that you would need a higher dose of R but you never know until you try. It kept him flat so that's great!
 
Sorry about your rough day yesterday! You're doing such a great job with Doodles... but it looks like taking care of him is a full-time job!

...and I know what you mean about the not fully waking up for the alarm. I sometimes have mornings where I don't even remember if the alarm went off or not. :rolleyes: The one thing that helps me is putting my cell phone across the room so I actually have to get out of bed to turn off the alarm.
 
Doodles had an awesome streak of yellow last night! I love that start. It's progress. Kitten steps, but going in the right direction. :bighug:

And don't worry so much about whether you didn't do enough R this morning. R scales are build by gathering data, which you are doing. And now he's back in yellow, so all good. The next couple of cycles will be interesting, that's often where you see the increased L dose do it's thing.
 
YAY for the yellow start, and glad he seems to be feeling good! Sending vines to you so that you can get rest, and feel rested too :)
 
Speaking of the IM vet reminding you of Doodle's heart . . . one of the most "OUCH" things that someone said to me (who didn't have a high dose cat) one day when Punkin was having some decent numbers, was "it's a sad day when an acro cat has better numbers than (name of her cat.)" *sigh* I never forgot that one.

Some people just say dumb things, even when they are good people. It sounds like the IM vet is one of those who just doesn't think.

And I'm celebrating Doodles numbers!!! Look at the improvement in the last 3 days compared to the week or more prior to that! The look of his spreadsheet changed - and for the better. You're getting there, slowly, safely but surely. Just like a tank! [URL='http://www.felinediabetes.com/OLDFDMB/posting.php?mode=smilies&f=9#'][URL='http://www.felinediabetes.com/OLDFDMB/posting.php?mode=smilies&f=9#'] [/URL] [/URL]Carry on!!
 
one of the most "OUCH" things that someone said to me (who didn't have a high dose cat) one day when Punkin was having some decent numbers, was "it's a sad day when an acro cat has better numbers than (name of her cat.)" *sigh* I never forgot that one.
Ugh....I'm sorry that happened.

And I'm celebrating Doodles numbers!!! Look at the improvement in the last 3 days compared to the week or more prior to that! The look of his spreadsheet changed - and for the better. You're getting there, slowly, safely but surely. Just like a tank!
So thankful for the SS and the color coding (sometimes). I was just showing DH and he agrees on the progress. I slacked and didn't make the call & email about Levemir today. I know it's the right thing but also worried about another change/learning curve. With the late nadirs of Lev and my ability to get up between 2am & 5am have proved to be challenging. :confused::confused: We're getting there....
 
I agree with Julie that the has been a big change in his SS. Durn but he's getting a +2 spike at night now! He's still looking soooooo much better!!

You are doing a great job. Next stop....blue. Think blue thing blue blue blue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top