4/11 Chino|AMPS=323|+4=208|+6=130|+7=84|+7.5=65|+8=55|+8.5=74|PMPS=119

Status
Not open for further replies.
130 at +6 :cool:. If he keeps dropping at a rate of 80 mg/dL per hour, he'll be in the 50s or below by +8, so I'm testing again at +7, hoping for green. If so, I'll give a little of what I feed him in the mornings and test more frequently until it stabilizes or starts rising again.
 
84! :D It's not easy to slow him down with LC, and his usual food is 2%, but we're only an hour away from his usual nadir at this point, so I opened a can of LC 5% and gave him 2 tsp. Testing again in 30.
 
AMPS: 323 (1st meal LC 2%)
[10 units Lantus]
+4 = 208 (2nd meal LC 2%)
+6 = 130
+7 = 84 (2 tsp LC 5%)
+7.5 = 65

Gave 3 tsp LC 5% with 3 drops Karo, thinking he was still dropping at a rate of 40 mg/dL per hour. Then I saw the post 2 posts above the one I'm typing right now. He was dropping at a rate of 80 mg/dL per hour before, so the 2 tsp LC actually did slow it down by half. :facepalm: :banghead:
 
Whoa Chino - that's low enough!:D

Cats don't drop at a consistent rate during the cycle. There's usually a point when the big drop occurs, then they slow down.
 
AMPS: 323 (1st meal LC 2%)
[10 units Lantus]
+4 = 208 (2nd meal LC 2%)
+6 = 130
+7 = 84 (2 tsp LC 5%)
+7.5 = 65 (3 tsp LC 5% + 3 drops Karo)
+8 = 55 (3 tsp LC 5% + 4 drops Karo)
 
Cats don't drop at a consistent rate during the cycle.

When I calculate the rate of the drop, it's so I know when he'll approach 100 or when he'll approach 50 if he keeps going at the same rate. I don't assume that he will but I have no other data to go on. It tells me if I need to test sooner and helps me decide when to test. It also helps me determine if subsequent readings show that he's slowing down or not.

I know that the numbers up to this point are still safe, but the rate isn't. If this happened at night, I would've tested again at +5, given MC/HC, then gone to bed if +5.5 showed a slowed rate. Since it happened during the day, I didn't want to bring out the HC while he was still above 100 in case it kept him from reaching normal range. Next time, I'll start giving LC when he's dropping quickly and gets to 150 or below. (That number will be adjusted based on the results I get when I try this.)
 
AMPS: 323 (1st meal LC 2%)
[10 units Lantus]
+4 = 208 (2nd meal LC 2%)
+6 = 130
+7 = 84 (2 tsp LC 5%)
+7.5 = 65 (3 tsp LC 5% + 3 drops Karo)
+8 = 55 (3 tsp LC 5% + 4 drops Karo)
+8.5 = 74

Either we're past the peak, I gave too much Karo, the bounce just started, or all three. I think the biggest lesson in this is that I should intervene sooner with LC when the BG is still above 100, but if I wait until it drops below or I don't catch it until that point, I need to start with HC.
 
It's a good rule of thumb to feed LC when they start to see green or if you are seeing fast drops early on.
 
It's a good rule of thumb to feed LC when they start to see green or if you are seeing fast drops early on.

That's why I've been waiting to step in until I see green, but it occurred to me today that this probably applies to a normal cycle, and I don't think he's gone under 100 on a normal cycle yet... he's always either coming down from a bounce or a fur shot.
 
This is interesting... his BG was 73 at +9 and +10. I only gave him a small piece of freeze-dried chicken after each test. It's great to see that he isn't rocketing to the moon! But I have to leave here in 30 minutes and when I come back to test/feed/shoot (and leave again), I hope his BG is high enough to give the full dose without needing to get a +1.
 
We decided to cut the ceremony short rather than break for T/F/S, come back for 40 minutes, then drive back home for a +1 if needed. So I tested at +12.5 and got 119. The lowest I've shot so far was 110, and a slow bounce followed (blue cycle, then yellow cycle, then pink/red cycle). I fed 7% just in case his BG actually does go down tonight. I'm starting to love these slow bounces. A flat blue cycle and a flat yellow cycle are so much better than 3 days of pink/red.
 
All of this data is practically useless when it comes to predicting what he's going to do. The +2 reading was 308. I know I can't control this, and I'm not trying to. The value in being able to predict is being able to choose the best option to feed for a particular cycle, or to know when it's best to give (or not give) R and what dose to use. It's not a slow bounce this time. I'm tempted to give R with his next meal at +4 but won't be up to test again until +8.
 
What a nice day for Chino...lowest PMPS yet. Looks like you are right at the perfect dose.

If only I could find a dose that gets him into the normal range and keeps him from bouncing... that would be a perfect dose! I see Bronx has green pre-shots now and then. Hard to imagine ever getting there with Chino. Did you hesitate at all when you shot your first green PS?
 
I see Bronx has green pre-shots now and then. Hard to imagine ever getting there with Chino. Did you hesitate at all when you shot your first green PS?
It's much easier on Levemir to shoot a green preshot, as the onset is a lot later. Even if I gave Neko insulin in the 50's, I knew it was 5 hours until onset so plenty of time to get her numbers up. Even on Lantus the first few times I shot green she just zoomed up after.

As for the dose, the nadirs are good on this dose. He just needs to spend more time learning that green and low blue are good. It takes time. Eventually the height of the bounces will go down. It took Neko a long time but she did eventually get to a point where most of the time her bounces only went up to low yellows. For now, concentrate on the nadirs and try to ignore the highs (easier said than done I know).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top