4/11/2024 - New Member - We just got the diabetes diagnosis this morning.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara B

Member Since 2024
My female cat Phoenix just turned 10 years old. For the last few years, save for the previous few months, she had grown to be a pretty fat cat. I chalked it up to having moved to a different house that did not have a doggy door, limiting her outdoor time and thus her exercise time as well. After moving again, I was not comfortable with her going outside in the neighborhood we lived in, so she became a solely indoor cat. She seemed happy and healthy, albeit rather hefty. Looking back now, I am afraid that those were probably the early signs that I just did not pay attention to. This past May, we moved again, to a bigger house and a downstairs that she absolutely loves. So when at the start of this year I noticed her shedding a bit of weight, I assumed it was from having more room to explore, and her always running up and down the stairs. Except the weight loss did not seem to stop. She started being more clingy, always wanting to be on my lap (more so than usual) and also constantly trying to drink out of our water glasses left on the counter, tables etc. Something which she had never done before. She also started begging for our food when we were eating. Another thing she had never done. I started getting worried so I made an appointment with a new vet in the area we had moved to. In the meantime, she continued to loose weight. To the point where when I pet her, I can feel the bumps on her spine, making me more and more concerned. Yesterday was her appointment, they ran a lab and this morning emailed me back stating the following:

"It appears that she is diabetic and has started to use her fat storage as energy, which caused fatty liver disease. We need to run one more test (fructosamine) to make sure this is primarily diabetes and not a stress response causing hyperglycemia. This test will show us what Phoenix's average blood glucose has been over the last 2 weeks. We can call the lab today to order this using the blood they already have. Cost: $79.98

It is important if she is truly diabetic to get insulin started immediately. We will teach you how to give the shot and will plan on applying a stay-on glucose monitor (Freestyle Libre) to help regulate the insulin. "

After already having paid $250 dollars for the initial lab test plus the appointment charge, as much as I hate to say it, I am so incredibly worried that I will not be able to the cost of the glucose monitor, let alone the cost of continual use of insulin. Finding this board however, has seemed to be a bit of a relief as seeing others in similar situations figuring out how to manage this makes me feel a little less alone.

At this point, I am not sure if I have any questions per se, as I am still waiting to talk to the vet after the second lab test is ran. But I am more than open to any suggestions or advise anyone may have. She's been by my side for the last decade, I was with her through her pregnancy, and she was with me through mine. We have moved 5 times together and to say I am getting freaked out would be an understatement.
 
Welcome :)

The Libre meter isn't necessary. Some vets suggest that option because they assume people don't want to / are afraid of pricking to get blood. The Libre may make more sense for cats who don't tolerate being handled much. That said, there are FDMB members who choose for one reason or other to use the Libre meter and also have a back up handheld Human blood glucose meter to use. Many other people only use a Human diabetic blood glucose meter for their cat. A basic meter isn't expensive. Members in the US often suggest the Relion meter sold at WalMart as a good inexpensive meter with affordable test strips. There are plenty of other brands available: AccuChek, OneTouch, Contour, etc.

A meter doesn't "help regulate the insulin". The meter just tells you what the blood glucose level is. A combination of diet and insulin and blood glucose testing will help regulate blood glucose levels.

Did the vet suggest any particular insulin that would work best for your cat? Lantus is what most vets recommend for new diabetic cats these days. When you know what insulin the vet plans to start your cat on, FDMB members can point you to the tips on how to source insulin inexpensively.

Insulin syringes can be bought at a pharmacy or online. Some US states require a prescription to purchase insulin syringes. Some people get around that by buying from Amazon.

Diet - did the vet say anything? You don't need prescription food, dry or canned, at all. Politely decline the prescription junk if the vet says you need it. There's nothing in prescription food that works magic for diabetic cats. It's very low quality ingredients at a very expensive price.

What are you currently feeding your cat? Since your cat is not on insulin yet, I suggest you switch to low carb canned food. A lower carb diet will improve blood glucose levels a bit until you get started on insulin. People here use this food chart: https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf Look at the column for carbs and choose foods that have under 10% carbs. There are many brands from Fancy Feast and Friskies to higher end brands like Koha. Whatever your cat will eat and you can afford is fine.

Some cats may not need to be on insulin very long. Starting the right diet and a good insulin and closely monitoring blood glucose levels have resulted in many cats going into remission.

There are tons of ways to save money on a diabetic cat. There's a Supply Closet forum on this board where people post unneeded items that need new homes: syringes, insulin, test strips, etc. I've gotten a few things off the Supply Closet for my first diabetic. And I think I've gotten things off the local FreeCycle group, too. I'm sure other members will post their tips.
 
Hi and welcome. I’m glad you are getting the fructosamine test done. That will tell you definitely if Phoenix has diabetes.
You have got good advice from squeem3. I agree the ReliOn meter is the way to go and I would ask for Lantus insulin.
@Diane Tyler's Mom may be able to tell you how to get it cheaper.

once you get the definitive result, post again and we can help get you set up correctly.
There are lots of low carb canned foods available that are not expensive
Diabetes is a very treatable disease and you will need to start insulin straight away.
Ask the vet if they tested for ketones. This is important.
 
After already having paid $250 dollars for the initial lab test plus the appointment charge, as much as I hate to say it, I am so incredibly worried that I will not be able to the cost of the glucose monitor, let alone the cost of continual use of insulin.

We have all kinds of tips on treating diabetic cats affordably. Skipping the "prescription" food and feeding low carb Fancy Feast Classics, Friskies pates or 9-Lives ground which are all much more affordable and easy to find is the first way.

Depending on which insulin your vet prescribes makes a difference too. Hopefully, it's Glargine (name brands Lantus, Basaglar, Semglee) which is the gold standard in treatment and all three brand names have a "Savings Card" where a lot of people can get a 5 pack of pens for $35. The pens come in boxes of 5 with each pen holding 300 units. That's 1500 units which is enough for at least a year for most cats (and some up to 2 years!). There is more information on these insulins and how to get them more affordably in THIS THREAD.
You don't want a vial. A vial holds 1000 units and once opened, the "clock" starts. Most of the time after 4-6 months, the insulin starts to lose efficacy and you end up throwing a bunch away. (although some people have been able to use a vial longer)

ProZinc is the other insulin that's a good choice for cats but since it's veterinary only, you can only get it from your vet or a veterinary supply pharmacy like the one on Chewy or Allivet. Also, ProZinc only comes in vials which hold a max of 400 units which makes it more expensive per unit than Glargine.

Hopefully your vet won't try to prescribe Vetsulin. Vetsulin is a fine insulin for dogs, but it doesn't work as well in most cats. In every other country in the world, it's called Caninsulin (the "canin" prefix is your first hint on what species it's meant for). Only in the US is it called Vetsulin.

You don't need the Libre if you're willing to learn to home test (and even if you do decide to try a Libre, you still need to know how to use a regular home meter because the Libre isn't very accurate at low numbers and can say they're lower than they actually are, so if you get a lower number on a Libre, it's important to re-check using a home meter).

As long as there were no ketones found in the blood or urine, you can take a few days and work on the food transition and learning to home test. You'll also want to get urine ketone strips in case your kitty starts to act sick, refuse food, hide or become lethargic during the food transition time.

If you're in the US, you can get everything you need to get started at Walmart.
434676613_448659347616237_3241959235762694299_n.jpg


Also, if you're still worried about cost, you can apply to Diabetic Cats In Need. We have two programs. Our One Time Assistance program is for people who just have trouble coming up with the money to get started but once you get started, you will be able to afford ongoing costs when you need more supplies. Anybody can apply.

The other program is our Compassionate Assistance Program which is meant for low-income caregivers who qualify. Proof of need is required but once accepted, we will continue to provide supplies as long as they are needed. You do have to re-certify once a year.

If we can help, feel free to apply! https://dcin.dreamhosters.com/assistance-programs/
 
Welcome take a look at this post tap in it ,there is information on generic lantus
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...tty-in-hospital-with-dka.288524/#post-3168093
Look at post #9. Post numbers are to the right

If your vet does prescribe Lantus you can get them here without a script from the vet, most vets or pharmacy's don't carry them
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20


if you live in the US
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197

Let us know where you live and just keep asking questions :cat:
 
Last edited:
Hello All,

Thank for so much for all of the replies and helpful advice. We got the results back from her fructosamine test and she does in fact have diabetes. The vet sent over the three below prescriptions for Insulin, Syringes and the Libre Monitor.

Rx:
Freestyle Libre Monitor
- to be applied by veterinary staff

Rx: Glargine (Lantus) 10 mL Vial
Give 1U under the skin every 12 hours, after eating a meal.
Use U-100 syringes

Rx:
U 100 Syringes 23g Box
use with Glargine (Lantus)

After looking into everything, I think my plan is to just fill all three prescriptions at the pharmacy, and bite the bullet on the cost even if I would be able to get the same things cheaper elsewhere, just to get the ball rolling. Once I start getting situated, I am going to take a deeper dive into how to get everything cheaper if possible. But I feel like it's best to get everything started sooner than later.

As far as her diet had been going, she was eating mostly dry cat food, alternating between Blue Buffalo Adult Cat Food and Iams Indoor Weight and Hairball Care (whatever was available when I was shopping), with the occasional "treat" of Sheba Pates or Sheba Cuts in Gravy. I am going to go shopping today to find a better low carb wet food to replace what she is currently eating. I've printed out sections on the Cat Food Protein Fat Phosphorus Chart squeem3 linked and plan on taking that with me to help decide what we are going to start getting her. I will also be looking into handheld Human blood glucose meter, which I would like to learn how to use to phase out the need for the stay on monitor.

Her vet is closed on the weekends, and I was not able to take her back in today, but I will ask if they tested for ketones as soon as I can get her back in. It's looking like Monday will be the day.

We are located in Edwardsville, IL, which is right across the Mississippi river from Saint Louis, MO.

After having some time to let everything settle, and reading all of your replies as well as other stories on different threads here, I am feeling a lot better about the whole situation. And truth be told, I feel like Phoenix is picking up on that as well, so a big thank you to everyone for that from the both of us. As someone who is incredibly squeamish and hates needles herself, I would be lying if I said I wasn't a little nervous about having to give her twice daily insulin shots as well as figuring out how to do at home glucose tests with the human blood glucose meter, but I am more than willing to face my fears for her. Can anyone describe what doing the at home test would look like? I believe I saw in another thread that they pricked their cats ear for the testing? Is that always the case or is it dependent on what is more comfortable for the cat? Fortunately Phoenix in her older years has become one of the most patient and tolerating cats I have met. I don't see her giving me a hard time administering the insulin or checking her glucose levels, as long as she gets her well deserved lovings before and after of course!

I apologize if I didn't address all of the questions above, I am still just trying to weed through everything. But we are always 100% welcome to more advice, tips and suggestions.

Again, I just wanted to thank you all from the bottom of my heart. Something that seemed so scary yesterday, is starting to feel a lot more manageable today. I am so happy I found this board, you are all doing such a wonderful thing here, and I plan on staying a part of this community for as long as I am able to.
 
Use U-100 syringes

Rx:
U 100 Syringes 23g Box
use with Glargine (Lantus)
You're in good hands here, if it wasn't for the members here giving me advice I know Tyler wouldn't be in remission for 3 years , he is still diabetic but low carb food controlled
Do the U-100 syringes you got have the half unit markings?
We use these because we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time and these make it easier to do

Using the pens instead of the vials should last up to a year depending on the dose. For human use the manufacturer or pharmacist might tell you to throw them out after 28 days that's just for human use
@Sara B
 
Last edited:
Can anyone describe what doing the at home test would look like? I believe I saw in another thread that they pricked their cats ear for the testing? I
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not thelancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with
Here is a video one of our members made testing her kitty
She's using a pet meter that has to be coded ,with a human meter you don't have to code it.
So ignore that
I have always used a human meter
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
@Sara B
 
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help
If you need help with setting up the spreadsheet just ask we have a member who will be happy to do it for you
@Sara B
Do you see my signature about Tyler in gray letters
 
As far as her diet had been going, she was eating mostly dry cat food, alternating between Blue Buffalo Adult Cat Food and Iams Indoor Weight and Hairball Care (whatever was available when I was shopping), with the occasional "treat" of Sheba Pates or Sheba Cuts in Gravy. I am going to go shopping today to find a better low carb wet food to replace what she is currently eating.

If you are still feeding any dry food you need to transition slowly
because switching to a low carb diet can lower the BG a lot
Link to transition to low carb diet from dry foodhttps://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/transitioning-your-cat-from-dry-to-wet-food.956/

A change to a low carb diet can significantly impact a kitty's BG numbers and greatly reduce the need for insulin. So any transition in diet when already on insulin, has to be made gradually and with careful monitoring of the BG (with home testing) and insulin requirements. We have had cats that have gone off insulin with just a change from high carb kibble to a low carb canned diet.

I have always left lantus in the fridge middle shelf after using it
You might want to read all about Lantus here. Read all the yellow stickys
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Last edited:
Next time ask for the pens *box of 5, 3ml pens. WIth most cats one can't use up a 10 ml vial before it loses potency. One can normally use a up a 3 ml pen. One draws out the insulin from the by sticking a regular insulin in where the pen needle normally goes and drawing out the dose.
@Sara B
Are you going to fill these prescriptions in person? You may be able to ask for the pens at the pharmacy and they can swap out.
My vet prescribed the vial, and actually at my pharmacy they only had the pens which turned out to be very lucky for me.
From what I read, dealing with the pens is a lot easier - more fool proof when drawing out the doses, lasts longer, and you don't have to worry as much about immediately refrigerating after use bc they were created for human diabetics to carry around with them. (I do still refrigerate, but if you leave it out on the counter for a bit it's not so bad!)
Also, kudos bc you seem very calm and handling this so well!!
 
If your vet does prescribe Lantus you can get them here without a script from the vet, most vets or pharmacy's don't carry them
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

My vet sold those exact same insulin syringes to me - for $52 :eek::eek: I didn't realize it until after I got home. It's definitely way cheaper to buy insulin syringes online. There are lots of different brands available.

Rx:
Freestyle Libre Monitor
- to be applied by veterinary staff

You can use the Libre for now but may want to switch to a Human meter later. Note that sometimes the Libre can fall off the cat and you'll need to pay the vet to put a new one on.

Rx: Glargine (Lantus) 10 mL Vial
Give 1U under the skin every 12 hours, after eating a meal.
Use U-100 syringes

Rx:
U 100 Syringes 23g Box
use with Glargine (Lantus)

Lantus is good. The 10 ml vial might last a month, maybe a little more, before it loses effectiveness (for cats). You only know when your cat has higher than usual blood glucose levels. Ask the vet to write the prescription for the Lantus Solostar pens next time. A box contains 5 pens and each 3 ml pen lasts to the last drop. The box will last nearly a year. There are ways to get the box of pens for $35. See https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-sourcing-insulin-more-economically.288053/

You can use insulin syringes with the Lantus pens. The ideal syringes to use with any U100 insulin with cats are 3/10cc with half unit markings. Needle gauge and length are preference but most people use 30 or 31 gauge 5/16 inch needles. Brand - your choice. There are lots of different brands out there at all price points. Do you have a WalMart store locally? The Relion brand of insulin syringes is what some members use and it's not expensive per box.

After looking into everything, I think my plan is to just fill all three prescriptions at the pharmacy, and bite the bullet on the cost even if I would be able to get the same things cheaper elsewhere, just to get the ball rolling. Once I start getting situated, I am going to take a deeper dive into how to get everything cheaper if possible. But I feel like it's best to get everything started sooner than later.

The initial cost is high since you have to buy all the supplies, different food, etc to get started. Ongoing diabetic costs are pretty much just test strips and syringes for many people. Maybe the occasional box of lancets or ketone strips. Shop around for the best price on the diabetic supplies you need.

If you have FSA or HSA, you can use those funds to purchase diabetic supplies and insulin. Or get reimbursed for those purchases later on. Check the specifics of your account to see what items are eligible.


As far as her diet had been going, she was eating mostly dry cat food, alternating between Blue Buffalo Adult Cat Food and Iams Indoor Weight and Hairball Care (whatever was available when I was shopping), with the occasional "treat" of Sheba Pates or Sheba Cuts in Gravy. I am going to go shopping today to find a better low carb wet food to replace what she is currently eating. I've printed out sections on the Cat Food Protein Fat Phosphorus Chart squeem3 linked and plan on taking that with me to help decide what we are going to start getting her.

Definitely get off the dry food and high carb canned foods. Do keep some high carb canned food and honey or corn syrup on hand to use in case blood glucose levels drop too low.

Hypo tool kit items: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/

Feed low carb treats. Freeze dried meat treats are best and zero carb. PureBites is one brand and there are many others.

Can anyone describe what doing the at home test would look like? I believe I saw in another thread that they pricked their cats ear for the testing? Is that always the case or is it dependent on what is more comfortable for the cat? Fortunately Phoenix in her older years has become one of the most patient and tolerating cats I have met. I don't see her giving me a hard time administering the insulin or checking her glucose levels, as long as she gets her well deserved lovings before and after of course!

Hometesting tips: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Ears are readily accessible so that's what most people use to get blood from. Paw pad pricking is also an option.

The home test process varies among everyone but generally the basic process is this: warm ear, prick with the lancet device, touch edge of the test strip to the blood drop, let meter do it's thing while you reward the cat with a treat.
 
I agree, try and get them to swap the vial for the 5x3ml pens.
Also make sure you get the U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings.
 
Rx:
U 100 Syringes 23g Box
use with Glargine (Lantus)

You do NOT want these! 23 gauge syringes are harpoons compared to the insulin syringes we recommend. Those also won't have half unit marks.

If you're going to Walmart, ask for Relion 3/10ml, 31 or 30 gauge insulin syringes. (Don't mention half unit marks because this tends to confuse them and they think you don't know what you want and will try to convince you that you need 1/2ml syringes---you DON'T)

ALL of the 3/10ml Relion syringes at Walmart have half unit marks. Trust me on this. You will want one of these boxes of syringes (the difference is the needle length...blue box are shorter needles than white box but both work fine). As long as the box has the purple stripe, they are the correct syringes.
upload_2024-4-12_20-17-34.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-4-12_20-17-34.jpeg
    upload_2024-4-12_20-17-34.jpeg
    60.8 KB · Views: 976
I suggest going with 5/16 inch needles to start with. It's far too easy for a newbie to do a fur shot with the shorter 15/16 inch needles, especially if the cat has longer fur and it's hard to see the skin.

1/2 inch needles are an option but may be too scary for a newbie to use.
 
Apologies for going radio silent over the weekend, I wasn't able to access my log in on my phone, but I think I've got it figured out now.

I was able to get the Insulin and the Needles at the local Walgreens pharmacy, which only cost roughly $55 dollars, not too bad. They had to double check with my vet on which kind of meter to give us, so I will be picking up that up this afternoon before taking her to get it attached. They did not have the pens as on option there, or if they did, they were weary of swapping out without the vets consent. I think it was the first time the pharmacy tech had done a prescription for animals, so it was a learning experience for the both of us. After the vet appointment today, I might shop around for a new pharmacy as well.

I have not started the insulin yet, but will once she has the meter on and I am able to monitor, and after I can talk to the vet about dosages and what not. I am not sure what kind of needles I have, they are at home and I am at work right now. If I am able to I can snap a picture and share here. I think I have 100, so if I end up thinking I would prefer better ones, I might just get new ones and keep these for emergencies.

We did switch to Sheeba Pates for food, as that was one of the low carb foods on the list squeem3 provided and was available where I do my general grocery shopping. I will also pick up some low carb treats, as well as getting a few high carb cans also at the advice of squeem3 - we typically always have honey at the house, so that is convenient.

As far as the human glucose meter goes, my father is actually diabetic as well, and though his I am sure is covered under his insurance, I am going to ask him if he has any insight on where to get the best deal on them and the test strips.

I am not sure if I am imagining it or not, but we are on day four of a low carb diet and I feel like I can notice a positive difference. More to come after the appointment today.

You all are the best!!
 
Also, kudos bc you seem very calm and handling this so well!!
Thank you for saying that, I think I have been saving the worst for my partner (who has been so wonderful and supportive during all of this), as he has certainly seen my ugly cry a few times about all of this. But I am goal oriented at the moment and am trying not to waste too much time feeling sorry for myself.


Do you see my signature about Tyler in gray letters
I got the signature figured out. I will look into getting a spreadsheet started when I have a little more time to do so.
 
Thank you for saying that, I think I have been saving the worst for my partner (who has been so wonderful and supportive during all of this), as he has certainly seen my ugly cry a few times about all of this. But I am goal oriented at the moment and am trying not to waste too much time feeling sorry for myself.



I got the signature figured out. I will look into getting a spreadsheet started when I have a little more time to do so.
@Sara B
When you get a chance please add the meter you will be using to your signature so members know .:cat:
I have always used these syringes and loved them
you can get them here without a script from the vet, most vets or pharmacy's don't carry them
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0D


Meter
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
@Sara B
 
Last edited:
I will also pick up some low carb treats, as well as getting a few high carb cans also at the advice of squeem3 - we typically always have honey at the house, so that is convenient.
I would also pick up some med and hc food to have in the house in case you need to bring Phoenix's BG up

Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
@Sara B
When you get a chance please add the meter you will be using to your signature so members know .:cat:
I have always used these syringes and loved them
you can get them here without a script from the vet, most vets or pharmacy's don't carry them
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0D


Meter
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
@Sara B

I've got the temporary meter listed now; I will update once I get the one you linked and start using that.

Thank you for the other recommendations, I will stop by Walmart to pick up the meter and strips, and I have the syringes saved in my cart on Amazon and will definitely be buying once I run out of the ones I currently have.


I would also pick up some med and hc food to have in the house in case you need to bring Phoenix's BG up

Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
I will be picking up some med and high carb food at Walmart as well.
 
So yesterday was the big day! I had taken all her scripts to the pharmacy on Saturday, 2 of 3 were filled, but they needed to confirm which Freestyle Libre Monitor my vet was requesting, so they told me they would call first thing Monday morning and have the rx filled once verified. However when they called the vet, I guess they didn't have that one in stock. Luckily I left work an hour earlier than originally I intended to, so I had plenty of time to call the other Walgreens stores and find one that did have one in stock, run out grab it, and still make out appointment in time. Then once we were at the vets office, getting ready to have it applied, the vet tech said that it wasn't the right one. Queue an incredible sense of disappointment. After about an hour of the vet talking to the pharmacists, trying to see if I would be able to exchange the one I had for the one they said I needed, they decided to go ahead and apply the one I got. So she has a Freestyle Libre 3 Monitor attached to her for the next 13 days. I downloaded the app to be able to track her Glucose levels, however, it is honestly less than ideal. Anytime she would be in the other room, or downstairs, my phone would start chirping very loudly to alert me it had lost connection to her monitor. That was pretty annoying to tell the truth and I had to turn my phone off before going to bed because it was going off about every half hour. Anyway, I started charting down her levels, after her meal and before her first Insulin shot, it was reading at 297 mg/dL. By the time we were getting ready for bed, it had lowered to about 85 mg/dL. This morning, her first reading at 6AM was 57 mg/dL. However after her breakfast it did rise, and after her dose was given, it leveled off around 89. The vet says her range should be anywhere from 80-180.

I will say that I was super nervous about giving her injections. Like I've said before, I absolutely hate needles and the sight of blood has been known to make me queasy, sometimes even to the point of vomiting or fainting. So although I have not started the manual glucose blood tests, I am already a whole lot more confident than I was a few days ago. At the vets office yesterday, the vet tech showed me with a saline solution how and where to stick her. It's only been twice now that I have given her the Insulin, but I gotta say, it really was NOT THAT BAD. My hands were a bit shaky at first, and I think Phoenix can always pick up when I am a little nervous too, but she was completely unbothered by the prick itself, and was just happy to be getting more lovins.

Everything seemed so daunting initially, but it really does seem more than manageable, and I believe everything will end up falling easily into our daily routines.
 
The vet says her range should be anywhere from 80-180.
The normal range is 50-120 on a human meter which the libre is.
Same goes for the human hand held meters
I'm going to tag Bhooma for you to set up your spreadsheet for you
@Bandit's Mom
Thanks Bhooma :cat:
@Sara B
I would suggest reading all about Lantus/ Glargine here read all the yellow stickys
Especially the 2 dosing methods to choose from they will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
You are only very early in the diabetic journey and I am concerned the Preshot BG was only 57 and you gave the 1 unit of insulin. Have you taken the BG again after getting the 89? Please take it again as it will most likely drop again after the onset of the insulin which is at about 2 hours after the dose. If the BG is dropping to 57 after only a few days of insulin I think you need to reduce the dose to 0.75 unit as Lantus is a depot insulin and the depot will take 5 to 7 days to fill up and until then you won’t know the true effect of the 1 unit dose.
Are you also giving snacks during the first half of the cycles?
It would be good if you could get some Manuel BG tests done with the ReliOn meter.
 
I forgot to mention, are you withholding feeding her 2 hours before you take Phoenix's AMPS ( first test in the AM) same goes for the PMPS (first test at night) test, you don't want her BG to be influenced by food.
@Sara B
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top