4-11-20 TYLER AMPS-109/100@+5/102@+7.5/PMPS-88/81@+4.5

@Deb & Wink
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Hey guys I saw that you mentioned feeding liver was it actually like chicken livers or FF Pate Tender Liver & Chicken Feast Pate which is 2 percent carbs
Tyler usually has been eating FF Chicken Feast Pate 3 percent carbs
and FF Tender Beef Feast Pate 3 percent carbs all Classic
I would say maybe since 3-27-20 I have been feeding him some of the Tender Liver and Chicken Pate

Not everyday, I rotate that with the Chicken Pate and the Beef Pate

Looking at his SS before 3-27-20 he did have many AMPS pre shots but not as many blue PMPS pre shots

Now the last 10 days all blue AMPS pre shots except one
Three blue PMPS pre shots

Most likely the Liver and Chicken Feast has nothing to do with it at all because I only started that on 3-27-20

Were you talking about chicken livers and not the FF

I found the post where you talked about it , won't paste here I will put it under this post

So most likely its not the liver & chicken pate causing all these blues lately.
Sorry this was the only way I could copy and paste it
@Deb & Wink
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
So most likely its not the liver & chicken pate causing all these blues lately.

Diane, the Fancy Feast Liver & Chicken is low in carbs too, around 2%. But the other foods you feed Tyler are also low in carbs. Probably doesn't have anything to do withe Tyler's recent BG levels, as you said in post #9 in this thread.

I was talking about the liver ingredient in canned food.
Bron was talking about actual chicken livers. She makes her own raw food, and was trying to help someone else figure out the ingredients, I think.

New box of syringes by any chance? Syringes are notorious for the variance in the markings on the syringe barrel varying from batch to batch and even within the same box of syringes.

Does Tyler get spring allergies? Or are there some stray or feral cats around to get him worked up?
 
Diane, the Fancy Feast Liver & Chicken is low in carbs too, around 2%. But the other foods you feed Tyler are also low in carbs. Probably doesn't have anything to do withe Tyler's recent BG levels, as you said in post #9 in this thread.

I was talking about the liver ingredient in canned food.
Bron was talking about actual chicken livers. She makes her own raw food, and was trying to help someone else figure out the ingredients, I think.

New box of syringes by any chance? Syringes are notorious for the variance in the markings on the syringe barrel varying from batch to batch and even within the same box of syringes.

Does Tyler get spring allergies? Or are there some stray or feral cats around to get him worked up?
No same box of syringes, no allergies no cats around here at all
He is a blob lol
I am so glad that I never tried the drop dose when some suggested that to me, you were right when you told me he wasn't ready yet and I agreed with you
Do you remember.
I guess I'll just keep plugging along and she what happens with him
Thanks for getting back to me
By the way what is a token dose mean, I saw that it gives a percentage, but that doesn't help me to understand lol I'm dumb when its comes to that
Only asking because Alessandra keeps asking . I see you said that she just PM you and you posted it for her . So if she was shooting 4 units of lantus and should have shot a token dose what how many units would that have exactly been
I see she thought it would have been 1 unit, was that correct @Deb & Wink
 
A token dose is 10-25% of the regular dose. So it varies, depending on what dose the cat is getting.
No @Alessandra Franco does not have things quite right yet on some things. It's why she sent a PM, asking very specific questions.

She should have reduced to 3.75U when she got that low BG.
So 10% of 3.75U is a fat 0.25 (0.375)
So 25% of 3.75U would be close enough to 1U (0.9375) that 1 U would have been fine.
I have to use a calculator, to figure out the token dose, when the current dose is a bit odd.
Much easier to get it right, then having my brain try to figure it out. Especially if I'm tired.

p.s. Yes, I remember saying I did not think Tyler was ready for drop dosing. He may even need a fat 0.1U to get him out of those blues and back to greens. Not sure how you could measure that. It's difficult enough to measure 0.1U even with calipers.
But it doesn't hurt to practice the drop dosing technique. :bookworm:

Tyler is on such a tiny dose of insulin, I don't think you could do a "token dose."
 
A token dose is 10-25% of the regular dose. So it varies, depending on what dose the cat is getting.
No @Alessandra Franco does not have things quite right yet on some things. It's why she sent a PM, asking very specific questions.

She should have reduced to 3.75U when she got that low BG.
So 10% of 3.75U is a fat 0.25 (0.375)
So 25% of 3.75U would be close enough to 1U (0.9375) that 1 U would have been fine.
I have to use a calculator, to figure out the token dose, when the current dose is a bit odd.
Much easier to get it right, then having my brain try to figure it out. Especially if I'm tired.

p.s. Yes, I remember saying I did not think Tyler was ready for drop dosing. He may even need a fat 0.1U to get him out of those blues and back to greens. Not sure how you could measure that. It's difficult enough to measure 0.1U even with calipers.
But it doesn't hurt to practice the drop dosing technique. :bookworm:

Tyler is on such a tiny dose of insulin, I don't think you could do a "token dose."
Thanks for explaining a token dose to me
I would not even consider a token dose at all
I'll see what I can figure out a 0.1 fat unit
I have been practicing a drop dose if that time ever comes
Thanks again Deb I appreciate it
 
Back
Top