4.11.15 Zoey (437) PMPS (99) +1 (80)+1.50(112)+2.5(136)+3.5(130)+4.5(145)+7(251)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
Good morning!

Zoey's morning numbers aren't any better with her no feed after +6, but they're not much worse, either. On the bright side, it's the first night since this has started that I have been able to sleep more than 2 hours and 45 minutes between alarms to feed and/or test. DH is great at helping where he can, and he's tried to test ... but as of yet, he's not been able to master it without him and her both stressing to the max. I feel like a different person this morning with no where near the brain fog that has been creeping in these past few weeks.

The daytime show is Zoey's best act. We'll see what kind of performance she gives us today with her new feeding. I'm trying to feed her according to her numbers (Feeding the curve) . With her being so high this morning, I fed her the smallest amount and will gradually increase it and then decrease through the +6 hours so that she gets her food allotment for the day.

Here's yesterday's rerun.

Healing vines going out to all of our furbabies today!
 
Hi Rose; glad you got some sleep, i understand the fog very well!! I know you're not an expert yet, but I just woke to find Oren w/ a preshot number of 74 after his very bad bounce day. I'm a little freaked, it's the lowest number I've had to shoot yet (currently stalling till 7 to see if he comes up).. None of the regulars are around at this hour, my greatest fear!!!
 
Okay... New feeding schedule after reading feed the curve. Well, it must've worked. She's been in good numbers all day but was on her way up at last check. Now at 75. She's eating now (1/8 c) and I am available to feed as it goes along.

Am I good to shoot? Little nervous and anxious and excited and skeered...

@Wendy&Neko
@julie & punkin (ga)
@Patricia & Noodle
 
Hi Rose

I don't think I've posted to Zoey's condo as I've been off the board a bit but I'm a very experienced member. Wendy and Julie are out today but I'm around to help. Can you hold on just for a second and let me look at Zoey's SS? Please do not feed her yet. I'll be right back.
 
Just saw that you fed her already. I don't know what fsdt is....is it LC? You fed her 1/8 cup? Normally we would not feed before we shoot if numbers are above 50 because feeding can influence the BG and you might have a false sense of security. Was the 75 before you fed I'm assuming?
 
Oh, thank you, @Marje and Gracie!

I've already fed Zoey. She's insists on being a test and feed cat .. but I do split her meals up in extra small portions and I've just switched (last night) to a feeding schedule kind of based on feeding the curve as she usually clears (wendy sent link to feeding the curve). The night nubmers are always her worst but feeding her along when she shows the biggest drops in her curve seems to have worked well for her today and she's stayed pretty flat and level all day.

That's where we are at the moment. Just wanted to catch you up if you're wondering about her feed change.

Just read your post ... no, not cup. Sorry .. CAN. She gets one can A DAY. half and half with each shot. Yes, low carb. Friskie's Special Diet/Tuna with Water added.
 
Divide the can in 4ths, divide a 1/4 into (1/8) and then divide an 1/8 in half (1/16). I fed her half of the fourth of the can.
 
Thanks for confirming.

Zoey is clearing a pretty substantial bounce today. The 106 and 119 are essentially the same number. So you would be shooting a dropping number. We usually exercise a bit of caution when a new member has a dropping number for the first time. Numbers can continue to drop.

Do you have plenty of test strips, HC food, karo, etc? Can you monitor all night if need be?

You have a couple options.

--stall a little bit and retest to see where she is although it's likely to be a food influenced number so won't really tell us much if it's on the way up (unless it is much higher than what we'd expect 1/8 can of LC to raise her).

--shoot a reduced dose

--shoot the full dose now but you may be dealing with low numbers tonight.

I'm a big fan of shooting on time with the regular dose as much as possible as it is better for the cat. You have handled low numbers before so I feel better about you shooting a dropping number. I like to shoot dropping numbers, myself, because they let you take advantage of carryover and overlap.

I can check in on you if you feel you want to shoot. I'd just get another test before you do just so we can see where she is. And if you do shoot, you absolutely must get a +1 and +2 to start.

Thoughts?
 
Yes! I will shoot the low number. Helicopter mom on patrol here and will get a new test and shoot and repost so you'll know. (Plenty of strips, karo, h/c food.)

Thank you for the company tonight!
 
You're welcome. Please just let me know once you've shot so I can set my clock to be back in an hour.

The number you get before you shoot will be her PMPS. The 75 would be at whatever time you tested and got it; if you tested at +11.5, just enter it as 11.5 on the SS. If you got it at +12, then enter it that way and show her actual PMPS (the number you shot) at the amount of time past +12 you shot. For example, if you normally shoot at 5 pm and the 75 was at 5pm, then you would show the 75 @ +12; if you test right before you shoot, say at 5:30pm, and she's at 90, then you would put "90 @ +12.5" in the PMPS column. Make sense?
 
Okay. She was rising. I test 15 minutes prior to shot so I will change the one to 11.75 and then make the 99 her shot number. Her shot was about ten minutes late.

I'll be sure to post in an hour.
 
Great. Thank you so very much. You could probably just record her shot as being at +12.25 (that's 12 hours, 15 minutes). That's plenty close.

That is likely a food spike number so we'll just be careful and watch her. While she usually goes up at night....not always.

And it is a lantus/levemir land tradition that you get these for your first green shot....much less a dropping number! Great shooting!! :):):)

bos_zpsb029e400.jpg


See you in an hour.
 
Last edited:
LOL ... Love them. I'll put them with the other trophy's that have been earned along the way. ;)

Okay. I'll keep adding the numbers as we go to this post so it will be concise. And I'm giving you my thoughts about feeding so you can correct them and teach me the better way to think so please don't hesitate to say .. no, don't do that. :)

+1 80 fed 1/8 c will check in 30. (Figure I'd rather check more often and steer with her normal food than to overfeed/correct with HC, if possible.)
+1.5 112 (tuna treat) will check in 45 (7:45 ET) .. this will be 15 minutes past her normal feed and I will gauge which type of food to feed at that time. (If it's low again, will feed a higher carb selection)
 
Last edited:
Good idea to have fed and check in 30 because she might have a busy night in store for you. Normally if the +2 is similar to or lower than the PS, you can expect a busy cycle but she's already a wee bit lower at +1.

Do you know the %calories from carbs in the FSDT? I don't see it on Dr. Lisa's food table. I wonder if a 9-10% carb food might help a bit.

See you at +1.5.
 
Yeah, you're right; LC might not necessarily be what I'll be worried about as the night goes on. I went and looked up all of the foods we have on hand and labeled the tops in marker so if the numbers drop low and I need to feed a higher carb, I won't have to think which one is which. :) I'll check her again in 45 minutes which will be 7:45 ET and +2.25. Even with an upward moving number I'm kind of worried about going too long since she starts dropping her best after the +2. I am checking these posts after you reply so if I should do something different, just let me know. I'll get the message.

thank you again for spending Saturday night with us!
 
You're welcome!! :):)

It's great that she got that bump from LC. I think checking her again at +2.25 or +2.5 is fine.

One thing I would ask is if you could please keep the subject line updated. You can take out the 437 and just update as you go. That gives me a quicker reference than pulling up her SS. Or even continue to post it in her condo as below:

PMPS: 99
+1: 80
+1.5: 112

Either way is helpful. Thank you very much. See you soon. I am watching the thread so I get a notice when you post.
 
Okay. I had updated the subject line but it was after the post. I put the current reading with that post up above so it woudl all be in one place, concise but that's probably a bad idea as you will have to scroll there. I will copy and paste and add it to each update post so it stays current and easy for you. Thanks for letting me know!
 
Sorry about that! I guess I was too quick on the draw :):)

If it turns into a long night, it is convenient to have it in the posts as we move forward. For both of us ;)
 
...

And it is a lantus/levemir land tradition that you get these for your first green shot....much less a dropping number! Great shooting!! :):):)

bos_zpsb029e400.jpg


See you in an hour.

Love these! but I didn't get a pair this a.m for shooting my first green! (course it wasn't dropping...but!)
Go Rose and Zoey! Hope the night is a safe surf! Oren spent a fair bit of time in the lagoon this morning too, but zoomed again. However, he was dropping at PMPS again so who knows!
 
+1 80 fed 1/8 c will check in 30. (Figure I'd rather check more often and steer with her normal food than to overfeed/correct with HC, if possible.)
+1.5 112 (tuna treat) will check in 45 (7:45 ET) .. this will be 15 minutes past her normal feed and I will gauge which type of food to feed at that time. (If it's low again, will feed a higher carb selection)
+2.0 136 1/16 c will check in 1 hour.

@Marje and Gracie No apology needed. Posts get crossed and no way to clarify except to ask. Want to make sure what we need is where we need it. :)
@Megan & Oren ... told you they were conspiring. At least it's all good mischief. We can keep each other company tonight. :D
 
Normally I would say to give her a break if she's climbing at +2 and she hasn't eaten since PMPS except a tuna treat (I'm assuming LC). She does have a couple times where she's been flat at +2 and dropped at +3. You know her best so if she's doing ok with the tests and you would feel better with a +3, then go ahead. Otherwise, you could wait and get a +3.5 and just give her a bit of extra time. Up to you.

And thank you for the synopsis :cool: Perfect.
 
She seems to always start her drop around 3.5 so with this night thing being new I wanted to be sure I checked it and had a heads up if she might follow the day trend. Looks like she might (anti-jinx) see some green again tonight. +4 to +6 are her biggest drops. I've fed her another 1/16 c and some cooked chicken. i will check her again at 10:00 (4.5) (oh, fixed the mistake on the previous post.. she was +2.5 instead of +2.0 on that last check)

+1 80 fed 1/8 c will check in 30. (Figure I'd rather check more often and steer with her normal food than to overfeed/correct with HC, if possible.)
+1.5 112 (tuna treat) will check in 45 (7:45 ET) .. this will be 15 minutes past her normal feed and I will gauge which type of food to feed at that time. (If it's low again, will feed a higher carb selection)
+2.5 136 1/16 c will check in 1 hour.
+3.5 130 (1/16 c with cooked chicken) will check in an hour: 10:00 ET (+4.5)
 
Doing great!!! Nice and flat for now. Just keep it up Zoey.

Love her photos...she sits like a Scottish Fold :cat::cat::cat:

See you in an hour.
 
Looks like she might be starting her normal nightly climb now. I have fed her again so I don't expect it to suddenly drop into scary low numbers. She's got one more small feed in an hour so she should be safe the remainder of the evening. To be sure, I'll plan to check her another 2 - 2.5 hours. Whatchoothink?

+1 80 fed 1/8 c will check in 30. (Figure I'd rather check more often and steer with her normal food than to overfeed/correct with HC, if possible.)
+1.5 112 (tuna treat) will check in 45 (7:45 ET) .. this will be 15 minutes past her normal feed and I will gauge which type of food to feed at that time. (If it's low again, will feed a higher carb selection)
+2.5 136 1/16 c will check in 1 hour.
+3.5 130 (1/16 c with cooked chicken) will check in an hour: 10:00 ET (+4.5)
+4.5 145 (1/16 c with cooked chicken)
 
I think a +6.5 would be fine so you can get to bed. If you plan to be up until +7, you could wait until then but I think as long as you do a before bed around mid-cycle, then you could hit the sack.

Good job!!!! I'm on west coast time so I'll be up many more hours and will check back in.

I think we are having a PJ party at our house tonight anyway :cat::p:cat::p
 
If PJ party is a pajama party (never know with the abbreviations I've learned since being here), then it sounds like a fun time! Hope you all enjoy it!

Thank you again for checking in on us. I will check Zoe at +7 and post the number.

Your sweet Gracie is such a little lady with her crown; she could teach our Zoe a thing or two about being ladylike. :oops:
 
Way to go, Rose! You've had quite the week! I'm so sorry I missed your tag earlier. The board occasionally decides to stop alerting me about tags and posts on threads I'm watching (plus I think it says I'm always online since I've just saved my login info on mobile!). You were in much better hands with @Marje and Gracie anyways ;)

Hope you get some well deserved rest tonight and a little respite from the sugar dance fog. GREAT JOB!!
 
Thanks, Patricia!

Ah yes....pj party is synonymous with low nighttime numbers. But we're all ready.



image.jpg


Gracie may appear ladylike but she better fits the description of a tomboy in a pink tutu.
 
LOL... Now I don't feel so bad for the things I've done with our furbabies.... (smh) I hope you girls behave yourselves tonight!

+7 251 and fed a bit of food to get her through the night. I will be tucking her in shortly and hopefully she'll revisit her pretty perfect day today. :)

@Patricia & Noodle Ah, thanks for following up with us. I know it often looks like I'm online because I leave my browser open, when really I'm not. So no worries. I know there are many wearing white hats and we've been blessed with all of the help we've received so far. Thank you!

g'night everyone!
 
I know @Wendy&Neko ! Thanks for posting that link to the Feeding the Curve. I don't know if I interpreted it right, but the changes I made to her feed based on that read seem to be helping. Who knows... but thanks and gratitude anyway for feeding us the information. Good luck at your races tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top