4/10Max PMPS 202+3=290+5=279

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S RECAP:
AMPS: 234 +4=296 +6=276
PMPS 391 +3=335 +5=264

It's looking even more like the reduction failed yet again. He ate during the night and early this morning, but 2 hours before his shot so I don't think he is having a pancreatitis attack but who knows. Last night's miralax hasn't worked yet. He got a little more miralax than usual this morning and I hope it works. I'm frustrated again and worried. I don't understand why this is so difficult. Another thing, he has been very vocal since the middle of the night. He's drinking water but not excessively.

Elise
 
Re: 4/10Max AMPS 284

Okay, the meowing finally stopped. I gave him a little more food and added squash. There was a tiny pebble in the box. I hope the miralax works soon or I might need to take him to my vet.
 
Re: 4/10Max AMPS 284+4=306 CONSTIPATED TOO

Now I am really getting nervous. Why isn't the insulin working? Why isn't the miralax working? How long do I give it before I need to go to the vet? Today is day 2 of just a tiny amount of poop. I gave him miralax 2x yesterday instead of once and a little extra this morning plus squash. Next meal I will try pumpkin. He ate a lot last night and this morning.
 
Re: 4/10Max AMPS 284+4=306 CONSTIPATED TOO+8.5=236

Still no poop. Do I increase tomorrow morning and still just under 2 units or try again the full 2, Julie?

I'm feeling so sad for Rachel. When I left for Costco I was so hoping the vet would keep her for IV fluids. Well, she's in a better place. It was even harder to see this after I saw her picture. She looks so much like my angel, Tiffany except Tiff had a full tail that was always in action. It brought back a lot of memories for me.
 
Re: 4/10Max AMPS 284+4=306 CONSTIPATED TOO+8.5=236

I would go to the F1.75U again. You don't want to go to the dose that got him to the 30's.

I've seen before that kitties that are constipated can have higher numbers which will come down when they get relief.
 
Re: 4/10Max AMPS 284+4=306 CONSTIPATED TOO+8.5=236

That is encouraging. How long can I let him go without poop before I need to take him to the vet? This is a new one for Max. I gave him pumpkin too. Then I read it can make the poop larger. So I guess tonight I will just give Miralax and hope for poop.
 
Re: 4/10Max AMPS 284+=236PMPS 202+3=290

He finally pooped and ate some baby food but not much of the cat food. There does not appear to be any pattern to his BG. It came down for his pre-shot and rose again. There is a mystery to me. Every time I think I understand what its all about I find that I don't. It's just not logical.

I guess it's a dosecrese tomorrow morning!!
 
Re: 4/10Max AMPS 284+=236PMPS 202+3=290+5=279

Hi Elise,

You know that IBD and pancreatitis are often concurrent, right? Do you add any water to Max's food. Those tiny pebbles signal dehydration.

A little bit about cat poop:

The rectum is the poop storage area of the large bowel (large intestine) once the stool is formed, once it is 'done' and ready to exit. A storage area is handy, it allows the pooper to seek a suitable location for pooping, time to get to the litter box or convenient digging hole or to wait until the coast is clear.

The rectum is designed to store stool. Contrary to common understanding, the stool itself is not toxic while waiting in this storage area, even if several days pass. If something in the stool is toxic, diarrhea is more likely to result than constipation. The problem with stool not passing in a timely fashion is that more water is withdrawn while it sits, the stool gets smaller and drier and harder, all of which indicates another problem that needs addressing. In addition, more stool is forming behind the accumulated stool if nothing is moving. If the rectum is full, stool begins to accumulate in areas of the large bowel not intended for storage. In a worst case scenario, stool backs up into the small intestine.

http://www.felineconstipation.org/introduction.html
 
Re: 4/10Max AMPS 284+=236PMPS 202+3=290+5=279

Hi Tina. Max has had chromium pancreatitis for nearly 4 1/2 years. He doesn't have IBD. His usually is stress related. He never really had a problem with constipation in the past. He needed Miralax occasionally when he had to take ondansetron fir extended periods but often Gerber's squash did the job. I was giving him Vets Best until diabetes hit which helped too. I do add water to his food and lately he drinks a little in addition. Thanks for the info. I hope Ricky lets you sleep this weekend.
 
Hi Elise,

Did you mean that Max has had chronic pancreatitis for the past 4 and 1/2 years? I know you know this, but re-hydration, pain medication, and nutritional support are the three main treatments for pancreatitis. My Jomo also had chronic pancreatitis for 3 and and 1/2 years before I she passed away.. Rehydrating her when she started to get sick was always my first line of defense. That's how I handled it because my vet knew it to almost always be Jomo's number one issue.

I also gave her Squash baby food in every meal, as well as the extra water, sometimes it was Pedialite instead of water.

Are you still thinking of taking Max to get him tested to see if he is having a pancreatitis flair up? Have you ever had him in the hospital for an overnight stay for that, or hooked to IV fluids?
 
Fortunately Mac has never needed to be hospitalized for pancreatitis as he never had had an acute attack. My other cat had to be hospitalized fir it a couple if times. Max doesn't even need sub-q fluids. I'll be talking to my vet Monday if he continues to act off by then. He is eating and drinking normally thank goodness.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top