? 4/10 Walter AMPS 62, +1 62, +2.5 67, +4 118, +5 183, +7 333 , PMPS 376 - dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo (from two days ago)

Good morning, L&LL :coffee:

What a week! In what was probably the world's worst scheduling decision, I got new windows installed yesterday - after being out of town for two days. My poor animals can't wait for their life to return back to normal.

My original plan was to move the cats into my basement for the day and put the dogs into the garage. Little did I know that the temps would be in the 30s and that we would get 2 inches of snow.... so the dogs stayed inside and got to bark for 12 hours. The cats also didn't approve of my decision at all. Sparrow panicked when I tried to put her into a carrier to take her downstairs, which somehow inspired Capone to attack Walter. After that, no one wanted to cooperate anymore and Mandarin basically went back to being feral. I eventually managed to pick him up, but he did a number on my arm (I'm pretty sure it was "just" his claws, not a bite, but my arm is still red and swollen).

Now let's hope that we will finally get some spring-like weather soon so that the cats will actually get to enjoy the new windows. My house is 70 years old and the old windows were original to the house. Half of them didn't open at all and the other half only opened when it wasn't too humid out.

Not surprisingly, Walter's numbers have been all over the place. Since I figured that I would't be able to test much, I kept him on a reduced dose yesterday (after reducing the dose from 2.25 to 1.5 for my pet-sitter, I went with 1.75 yesterday). He spent the day in the 300s, which was to be expected, but then he started dropping pretty fast after his PM shot (STILL at the reduced dose). This morning, he started with a 62 pre-shot. Since I will be home all day and can monitor, I gave him a shot. But I have no clue what to make of all of this.

So, here's the question: Do I continue with 1.75 U and see where that takes him? Or, since he technically hasn't earned a reduction, do I take him back up to 2.25? We are now three weeks post-dental and that might certainly explain his lower numbers. But, then again, last year, I gave him several reductions close together and had to take him way back up the dosing scale. Suggestions would be appreciated!
 
I'm sorry for all the chaos at your house. I hope your arm heals quicky. The advice I've always seen when someone gives a reduced dose for a petsitter is to go back to the last good dose when they get back. But it's tricky with the skipped shot and the 62 this morning. I think I'd wait and see what he does today. He may answer your question and stay green all day.
 
Glad you're home and hope things calm down. Put some triple antibiotic on you scratch. Don't know how to guide you with the dosing question. So here's a bump for you.
 
With the 62 this morning I wouldn't be in a terrible hurry to go back to the 2.25 dose. However would watch and increase quickly if his numbers start going up...Just my 2 cents. Sorry about the craziness yesterday but new windows are exciting. Our house in NJ was built in 1948 and with new windows it was a dream! Hope your arm feels better soon and all your babies have much needed relaxing day with you.
 
I don't have any dosing advice either! It's my understanding that stress can make levels go down as well as go up so maybe Mandarin is still reacting to the stress of you being away?
I hope your arm heals quickly!
 
What a day for you. We replaced all windows and doors 2 years ago.

The house had double hung wood windows with the grey metal storm windows. No window sills. All the screens were bad and you couldn't open the windows because the bugs got in. In the winter they would freeze and we would have ice on the inside. The wood on some of them was moldy. The storm windows would slam down on your fingers if you could get them open.

The new vinyl double pane, tilt in are wonderful. And it helps block some of the outdoor sound. Husband made window sills so the cats can sit. Just can't open to much because Tux will go through it if sees something out there.
 
Sounds like chaos!! hope the weather warms up for you soon.

With that green ps this morning after the missed shot 3 cycles ago, I would be tempted to stick with the 1.75, his depot isn't full yet. Just thinking that he was working his way down the dosing ladder before he went to the pet sitters and wondering if what you are seeing here is the effect of lower BG from improved oral health?.
That said, I would watch for an upward trend and go back to the pre sitter dose if you feel the reducie is failing.
 
The house had double hung wood windows with the grey metal storm windows. No window sills. All the screens were bad and you couldn't open the windows because the bugs got in. In the winter they would freeze and we would have ice on the inside. The wood on some of them was moldy. The storm windows would slam down on your fingers if you could get them open.

That sounds exactly like my house! In the winter time, I sometimes had to scrape ice off of my windows from the inside. Several of the windows were permanently stuck in a position where they were about half an inch open and very drafty. Getting them replaced was way overdue and I am sure that the cats will love their window perches even more now. I just put one of them back in and Capone and Walter were both waiting for me to be the first one to try it out. :)

So far, everyone is extra snuggly and glued to my side. Walter is surfing in the 60s and just got a little LC snack at +2.5 .
 
I think I'd be tempted to stay with the 1.75u as well. He's already had 3 cycles on it, and that followed 5 cycles of 1.5u and one skipped shot, so there is no residual depot from a larger dose that might be bringing his blood sugar down today.

It could be some positive response from the dental as well.

It's great to see in any case.

And congrats on the windows getting done! I looked for a condo for you yesterday but didn't see one - I'd wondered if you collapsed after your trip. Hopefully now things will settle down.
 
Walter is bouncing into the sky again - 333 by +7... and I am really concerned that he dropped even lower late in his PM cycle.:eek:
 
Well, I guess bundling all the confusion and stress into one short-span gets it out of the way faster. Maybe.

So much going on in Walter's world right now. Tough call on the dose. I'm sorta in the wait-and-see club.

Marilyn and Polly
 
It's been the perfect day to be lazy and not leave the couch. It's cold, rainy, and all of my animals are content to just hang out and snuggle. Now let's hope that Walter's BG levels will start to settle down soon...
 
I'd hold the 1.75 dose, too. The bounce today was probably window-related. Stress can do lots of stuff. And all of your fur kids went through a rough time with the window installation. Come on, Walter, you can do it!

I'm sure you'll love the new windows. Our house (built in 1923 and on the historic register) still has the original double-hung windows with the old, wavy glass, so we couldn't very well put in new windows. But the old storm windows were beyond repair, so we had new storms made. They make a tremendous difference (our winters routinely go down to -20 F.).

Have a nice, calm evening!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top