4/10 Tiki - AMPS 276 - dosing advice needed PMPS 265, +7 227

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92877

Still in the yellows. Baby steps!

Our new vet called yesterday to check in on how things are going. So far nothing but support and no admonishing for taking full control with home testing. I LIKE her!!! She said to not expect too much for the first week but mentioned I may want to increase him up to 2 units after about a week of not too much movement with his numbers.

Given that he's been off insulin for the better part of the last year, and I would really like to get him back there as soon as possible, is there anything I should be doing different this time around?
 
Re: 4/10 AMPS 276 - dosing advice needed.

I think you're doing everything right. I would NOT increase to 2.0u. That would be doubling your dose.

After 10 cycles, since Tiki's nadirs are in the yellows, I'd increase the dose to 1.25u.

ETA - could you put Tiki's name in your subject line?
 
Re: 4/10 Tiki - AMPS 276 - dosing advice needed.

Is a cycle a full day (ie 10 cycles is 5 days). I am having to re-train my brain back into FD speak! LOL
 
Re: 4/10 Tiki - AMPS 276 - dosing advice needed.

Hello.
haven't visited you before.
A cycle is a 12 hour period, you have your am cycle and your pm cycle....

It'll all come back...
 
Re: 4/10 Tiki - AMPS 276 - dosing advice needed.

I just looked at your ss... I count 9 cycles thus far... tonite's shot would be the tenth cycle since you started insulin.
So from what Sienne said, tomorrow morning you would increase to 1.25 units.

Whether or not you could do that tonite, I can't say. Maybe someone who advises on dosing will come back by.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top