4/10 Simon PMPS 320 +4 227

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Obviously, something is causing Simon's bg to go up after his dental so I am assuming it is from the antibiotic. My question is, do I increase his dose a little while he is on the clavamox or should I wait a couple of more days to see what happens? Currently, he is on a fat .25 dose.

Simon is doing well since the dental. He hates getting the clavamox squirted in his mouth, but other than that, has all 5 P's in place. My civvie, Cleo, also hates the smell of the clavamox. She hisses and swats at Simon every time he comes near her after he got his medicine. Yesterday, Simon kind of just chilled out all day so I'm waiting to see if he will be more active today.

Have a great Sunday. It is going to be 86 degrees here today and humid. What happened to Spring?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40805
 
Re: 4/10 Simon AMPS 231 dose advice?

hi Georgia

my thoughts wait it out, but see what others can add thru the day.
plus the numbers you collect in the next few cycles may shed some more light on that.

hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 4/10 Simon AMPS 231 dose advice?

No advise on the dose question. But, I'm glad we don't have 86 degrees today. We have a high of 60 today, 81 tomorrow, and then back to 60s the rest of the week. I am not looking forward to the heat.
 
Re: 4/10 Simon AMPS 231 dose advice?

So here's a thought...

Do you know whether the Clavamox contains any sugar? Many of the liquid meds do. From what I can tell, it looks like Clavamox is a powder that's mixed with water. However, I think Gabby got amoxicillin once before she was diagnosed with FD and it was a pink liquid that probably had sugar in it.

An antibiotic wouldn't raise BG on it's own unless it contains some form of sugar. It's possible that Simon is fighting off an infection. Will he let you look into his mouth? It's possible that there may be something going on as a result of the dental.
 
Re: 4/10 Simon AMPS 231 dose advice?

Sienne, the clavamox smells a little like bubble gum so maybe there is some sugar added to it? I looked in Simon's mouth for as long as he would keep it open, and I didn't notice anything really red or swollen. Simon has a follow up appointment on Friday. Should I continue with this dose until the appointment or if his bg continues to rise more, should I call the vet?

Thanks for everyone's input.
 
Re: 4/10 Simon AMPS 231 +6 300

Oh dear, the dreaded pink. Simon just keeps going up and up and i'm a little worried since he has 4 more days of antibiotics. I'm going to give the vet a call in the morning if Simon is still posting high numbers. I am really hoping this is because of the clavamox.
 
Re: 4/10 Simon AMPS 231 +6 300 advice?

i think the ab has sugar in it if you smell bubble gum....you can't stop the abs....so hopefully he won't go much higher....i really have no dosing advise....

continued prayers for you two
 
Re: 4/10 Simon AMPS 231 +6 300 advice?

If it were me, I'd call the vet and see if you can get an AB without sugar. If you can find allergy formula Pill Pockets, they are diabetes friendly. I'm pretty sure the Clavamox is in tablet form.

If Simon's numbers continue to go up, you'll need to raise his dose.
 
Re: 4/10 Simon PMPS 320

Ok, I'm going to up his dose to a fat .50 tomorrow and will call the vet in the AM. He only has a few more days of the antibiotic so I'm not sure I should just go ahead and get it over with or request a tablet form of Clavamox.
 
Re: 4/10 Simon PMPS 320

Georgia, Clav never raised Check's bg, but as Claudia said, it is bubble gum flavored, so may have sugar. If you decide to go to the pill, as Sienne suggested, the duck and pea allergy pill pockets are delicious, Checks tells me. :-D
You won't have time to order them, if Simon is almost done with the meds. Maybe a pet store carries them?

Here is the link to the headlamp, that Ella sugested. It was $12 last week, now it's 15. Sheesh!
I hate to sound like a bore, about a light, but honestly, it has made life so much easier. At night, I can test him on my bed without even disturbing him.
I got it very quickly, within days.

Thank you for visiting our condo, Georgia.

http://www.campmor.com/outdoor/gear/Product___55601
 
Re: 4/10 Simon PMPS 320

Yep...they definitely have tablet form....Gussie just took it for a month. Hope that helps to bring the BG numbers down.....not very Simon like at all. Maybe he needs more KTSS?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top