4/10 shakes day time numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Well he went down last night but he stayed high all day today

I gave him FF oceanfish andhe ate the whole can this morning
he normally gets the tender beef everyday and fish once or twice this week
not sure if that had anything to do with it

I gave him his beef for dinner and I will check him tonight
probably around +5 tosee where he is

Any input would be great
hopefully his will go low tonight because i hate to raise him to 2.5 and not be around to check him

Thanks
Denise and shakes
 
I saw from your SS that you accidentally left the insulin out all day. While your numbers have not changed dramatically, it is possible that the insulin lost potency. Any chance you know of someone with some other vial you can use for 1 shot to see if there is a difference? Would your vet consider doing that?
 
But I left it out on Friday,
and he went down yesterday and last night
so it was
just today that he stayed 300's
hopefully not but I am going to check him tonight to see what he is doing

I dont know anyone around here, much less anyone who has a diabetic cat
my vet told me friday that the insulin should be fine and that she doesnt want me
testing him for awhile so I dont want to say anything to her
thanks
 
ok his +4 tonight is 290so he is moving down again
IT must have been the food this morning

I will try to check him later
Thanks
Denise and shakes
 
Good info to have. Be sure to put it in your ss so you remember. If he is really carb sensitive (either direction - fish is usually lower carb than beef) or if it is just eating at that time that made the difference, it is good to know.
 
Hi Sue!
hope you had a nice day!

His system does the best on the beef ff
I have given him the zero carb fish and his numbers still go up!
I give him the beef every day except once or twice a week
becaause he gets sick of it after awhile

his amps today was 334 so that isnt too bad
I was thinkig of keeping him at 2 units until maybe Thursday
then bring him up a little so I can take his numbers on Sunday

What is your opinion in this

Thanks
Denise And Shakes
 
You need to go with what you are comfortable with. I think I would consider upping the dose by .25 units. You have given 2 for 4 days and are only seeing a few yellows. But it is harder to raise the dose when you are not around during the day. You could either wait or do raise in the pm and get some tests in overnight. Your kitty, your choice.
 
ok thanks for your input
maybe I will go up .25 tonmorow at night and see what happens
from there.

Thanks as always!

Denise and Shakes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top