4/10 Rupert PMPS 345,+2 313,+4 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68308

yesterdays numbers, entertaining as usual:

AMPS 113.4
+1 93.6
+2 57.6
+2.5 52.2
+3 55.8
+4 77.4
+6.5 108
+9.5 363.6
PMPS 455.4 <- yes.. seriously!
+2 410.4


Well, once again, Rupert - King of the surf and zoom!!!!!!!!!! And today.. well.. another blue AMPS(isn't he doing this backwards? isn't the AMPS supposed to be the one that comes down last, and the PMPS come down first? teehee).

VERY happy bright BETB cat today. I can tell things could get problematic the more 'healthy' he gets. VERY active, but luckily hungry this morning so I was able to test, shoot and feed fairly easily. Catching him for his +2 could be entertaining. I haven't done +1 because I think he's going to have a fair number of pokes today and he's just going to get owlier each time! He's upstairs on the landing right now, swatting at me everytime I walk up and down the stairs. Obviously feeling mighty fine. It's interesting to see the changes in him and how his body is adjusting. At first, when his numbers came down to lower levels you could tell because he would just flake out on the couch and look seriously tired, now he just seems to be unphased by it. Now, if we could just convince his liver not to panic all will be well! I have to go to work, but I'll get +2 and +3 and depending on what the last one shows I'll sneak back for a +4 or 4.5 and then back for +6. Good job I only have a 5 minute drive from work... bad thing that my Durango gets almost negative mileage (doh!!) but I have a full tank of gas so no worries!

Hope everyone is doing okay in LL today. Hugs to Tena on the loss of Curry, so sad. Hope to hear more good news re BigMac.

Rupert will be waiting on the green floor for Checkers and chasing Vyktor around so he doesn't get too darned smug!

edited: so I couldn't wait till +2, did it 10 mins early.. a 41 !!! yay :-D and :shock: all at once.! Feeding him one tsp of fancy feast turkey and gravy. HIMSELF looks fabulous and completely unphased as usual. He's just finished snacking and has upped up on the back of the couch to check out the front yard, giving me that NOM NOM NOM!!! look re the turkey/gravy. and I guess double yay cos he just earned another reduction!!!
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109

Hi guys .. sweet start to the day rupert! Mocha did the same thing as him .. when she first started hitting blues and greens, she felt "blah" much more active in the higher numbers .. but then she got more comfortable with the lower numbers and became more active .. and of course, because she is a meezer and talks a lot, she got even mouthier! :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41

so.. should I start taking bets as to how high he'll bounce off this one?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :lol:
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41

I can't tell from your Profile how you're feeding Rupert. If you're not already doing so, you may want to try to divide up his meals and spread them out over the first couple hours of his cycle. Providing "mini meals" may help to smooth out some of the early drops.
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41

Thanx Sienne, that's what I do, he gets a small breakfast at shot time, then an hour later he gets a tsp of food, then at +2 as well. +5ish he gets a 'lunch' of about 2 tspns. I gave him some turkey/gravy at +2 this morning though, but not as much as I did last time he dipped below 50 (I'm learning I think?!!). Am gonna get changed ready for work then test him again before I leave. He's sitting on the couch like a Sphinx at the moment, looking quite annoyed with the world!
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86

+4 and an 86, wonder if this is the beginning of a mega-bounce?! fingers crossed he surfs the rest of the day.
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86

i think i would try giving him more than a teaspoon at +1 and +2. the idea is to give him enough carbs to slow down these dives and prevent the bouncing. maybe your "teaspoon" is more than the measuring teaspoon that i'm imagining in my head, which is not much.

perhaps trying something like 1/3 of his morning catfood at each preshot, +1 and +2 and just a little boiled chicken at +4, then only tiny pokey treats til the next shot.

i've seen a number of people ask you about how you're feeding - you might want to add it to your sig line so you don't have to keep answering the question.
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86

CONGRATS ON THE REDUCIE, RUPERT!!

Now if he just forgets to bounce ;-)
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86

my tsp is more like a dessert spoon, not sure you have those in US? is that a British thing? i would put tablespoon but that's too big .. so if dessert spoon means nothing then maybe I should put 2.5 tsp or something? anyway, it's not his 'full' quota, but about a 1/3 of what he'd get in a meal, if that makes ANY sense. I find it interesting that he seems to dive at +2 .. when you'd think the peak would be at +5 or 6...hoping that all points to good things. Am anticipating a higher number PMPS but the you know what happens whenever I try to anticipate anything when it comes to Rupie!
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86

:-D Pip! I use dessert spoons for certain recipes...and you're exactly right...dessert spoon=2.5 tsp
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

okay so back to blue for his +6, a 158.... so.. I'm gonna guess (just because I like being proven wrong) that he'll throw me a.. let's see...342 for PMPS. Any takers? place your bets now! Silly boy. (silly mamabean too!)
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

Oh Rupert! You know how to surprised your mom bean, right? So be a good boy & do a graceful cat walk for us! You know cat walk, do you?

Pip, I'm most impressed by your food portion control! My salute!
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

Hi Pip, Rupert just tickles me so much. He really keeps you guessing. He is doing soooo well, from just last month. You both are amazing :-D
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

Go Rupert, you crazy cat!

(If it helps, a US teaspoon is 5 ml)
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

Rupert prepares for lift off! and the subsequent rapid return to earth:

satlol.jpg
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

Pip, that's the best thing I've seen in ages!! :lol:
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

ok, if it's a third of a meal and he's getting the equivalent of 2 meals a day, right? then maybe a higher carb food at +1 would be worth a try. if you usually give a 5%, maybe try increasing the +1 to a 10%. i think the fancy feast elegant medleys are about 11%.

this is a clear pattern that he's established. he wants to dive around +2-3. so if we can cut off his dives, then we might be able to remove the reason for the bouncing. it's not rare or anything - there are other kitties that are early divers. your goal is to flatten out this dive - carbs are your tool to use.

i do keep wondering about rupert's tooth that the vet mentioned. i just wonder why she left it in when there's a problem with it, and related to that, i wonder if you'll be able to get him regulated with a bad tooth in his mouth. i know i brought it up earlier, but perhaps i missed your response. what are your thoughts about it?
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

thanx for input Julie... hm, will have to search out some higher carbed HC food!

re the tooth. The vet said it wasn't bothering him at all right now but that it was going to need somethign doing with it before the end of the year. In other words its 'something to watch'. she didn't feel he was concerned by it at all and there is no infection, it's an internal 'dying' off that is going on. Given how drastically he's improved since the first dental I think we are doing okay at the moment.

I'm trying to 'feed the dives' but it's still so tricky. Still haven't quite figured out when the carbs kick in for him. sometimes he rockets back up as the result of a bounce, sometimes as a result of mamabean being overzealous with the food! We are learning slowly though and I'm not panicking nearly as much as I first did. also learning to take the bounces in stride and beginning to understand what is going on. I'm wondering if the big bounces are an indicator that he really wants to reduce quicker?! Will be interesting to see how he does on the 1.75 tonight and for the next few days. He's had three reductions in a very short period of time, which is GREAT. I'm hoping he'll be at a good point by May 9 which is when we are planning to be over on the mainland for the evening and then back the following evening. I'll be meeting with our cat sitter this weekend and hoping she'll be able to test, but if she isn't willing to do that we'll have to reduce him for the two shots we are gone. Hate to break his run of good numbers but given how he's diving lately I wouldn't feel safe leaving him on whatever his regular dose is at that time.
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert AMPS 109,+2 41,+2.5 39,+4 86,+6 158

PMPS 345 wow, maybe I should buy a lottery ticket! I totally called it on that PMPS! Rupert! you are slipping!!! don't go getting all predictable on me now!

so, no surprise on the Pink. Looking at my 'graph' that I keep, each bounce from super low, is lower in itself so, much like a rubber ball slowly bouncing less and less as it runs out of energy... he IS getting better, just being dramatic about it!

128340361389062500hahahahayoulo.jpg
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert PMPS 345,+2 313

+2 and a 313. still just in the pink, but I guess a much slower, better slide downwards. Once again I wonder what number he'll surprise me with tomorrow morning!!
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert PMPS 345 DOH! ;-)

Pip, buy me a lottery ticket, too! :lol:

The ups and downs are tricky to manage -- I'm still trying to figure it out, too. I've started using FF Elegant Medleys because they range in carbs from 9 to 15%, and both cats like them. You can find the specifics on Binky's list. You're doing great, and so is Himself. :-D
 
Re: 4/10 Rupert PMPS 345,+2 313

+4 and a 241, this seems like a more reasonable 'slide' tonight. Will get some Elegant Medleys... I always figured they were too high in carbs so never got them before. Thanx for the info. off to bed now. Have a good night everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top