4/10-Read this thread! I Desperate need help! :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

NadjaAndSam

Active Member
So last night I reduced Sam's dose to 0.75u.
I just tested him now and he is 552. This isn't his pre-shot time actually, I tested him 1 1/2 earlier. Once he is done eating I will give his shot also 0.75u. I wonder if I should have reduced it to 0.9u instead of 0.75, or maybe it's too soon to tell.
I also read that PZI lasts between 8-10 hrs, it's +10.5 now and will give his shot earlier since he is so high :cry:

****UPDATE*** I just tested him +6 and he is 526, I thought I fur shot him but I felt the needle going inside his skin, he could also be bouncing. But from what? I'm so lost.
Cathy has brought up very interesting points, please read the thread and let us know what you think!!

Thanks
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning :/

Well, not sure really what is going on here. Since you already have decreased for 2 cycles, I guess hold that dose for a few andd see if things settle down.
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning :/

Thank you Cathy. Yes I will hold this dose for at least 1 week unless there is something obvious indicating I should change it.
I noticed your kittie was on a semi-raw diet, did you make the food yourself? I've been thinking about making his food to see if it will help Sam. Sam and your cat were diagnosed around the same time in February, we started insulin on Feb. 16th. I looked at your kitten SS and it is VERY impressive!
Congrats!
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning :/

In fact I just purchased the supplements to make his food, recipe from catinfo.org. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning :/

Yes, we're on that very diet. I make a double batch and freeze 2 days worth into sandwich baggies, I started off just making one batch which lasts us about 2 weeks but found that it would run out at a really inconvenient point in my schedule. My vet said the diet is a good one, so no worries about that. It is really a zero carb diet, the only carbs come from the chicken liver and there is so little of it in the batch. Hope Sam will eat it, my other non-diabetic won't touch it. You do want a highly purified fish oil made from small fish to avoid the mercury, but if you ordered it I'm sure that's what you're getting. All cats are different, and mine was very carb sensitive so the food makes a huge difference, I hope Sam will see some improvements as well.

Sam seemed to get the same odd low blue nadir and surf to PS on the .75u, so if lowering gets rid of the hi readings that might be the way to go. The hard thing is too much insulin and too little insulin can look nearly the same. Continue getting the +6 tests because it will let you rule out low numbers as a cause of high ps's and then you can go from there with dosing. Right now you just need a better picture of what is happening.



As for Ms. Kitten, I just got lucky and the help I received here was amazing. She is most definitely not typical in any way, her dosing was insanely small and not something that will work for 99%. I
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning :/

Thanks Cathy :D
I really hope Sam will eat the food, I also have another cat, he is a bit chubby and needs to lose some weight! I had gently baked some chicken to see if they were going to eat it as snack and they did for several days, but then I realized they were eating everything :-| Sam also has very few teeth left in his mouth so I'm sure it was hard for him.
I purchased a food processor (a grinder is out of my budget right now). I purchased the fish oil from Iherb, it was a link from Dr. Pierson's recipe.

I jhust tested Sam +6 and he is 526!! I probably fur shot him ughhhhhhhh I can't believe it :-x
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning :/

After looking at your ss again, I am wondering why you increased from the 0.5u? I was caught up reading the last few weeks and didn't pay much attention to the initial few weeks. Sam had some really low numbers for 0.5u and even 0.25u going into red numbers, and some really long cycles-looks like his pancreas was working too. I am suspicious that the 1u was way too high and he was constantly rebounding. I know you just decreased, but how do you feel about starting over again and going to 0.5u? The reason I suggest this is working down in doses it is harder to tell what's happening because if the dose is still too high and you're getting bounce-inflated numbers you don't know it. It looks like 0.5 might be a much more reasonable dose.

Does anyone else see this???
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning :/

NadjaAndSam said:
Thanks Cathy :D
I really hope Sam will eat the food, I also have another cat, he is a bit chubby and needs to lose some weight! I had gently baked some chicken to see if they were going to eat it as snack and they did for several days, but then I realized they were eating everything :-| Sam also has very few teeth left in his mouth so I'm sure it was hard for him.
I purchased a food processor (a grinder is out of my budget right now). I purchased the fish oil from Iherb, it was a link from Dr. Pierson's recipe.

I jhust tested Sam +6 and he is 526!! I probably fur shot him ughhhhhhhh I can't believe it :-x

I wouldn't just assume it's a fur shot, you may be having some really serious bounces right now. You've seen my SS? Those first 2 weeks our dose was too high, she was all over the place.
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning

Do you think he was getting nicer numbers on a lower dose because we had just started on insulin? So his body wasn't used to it and worked well at first?
I honestly had no idea of what I was doing, people would suggest me to change doses and that's what I did. :oops: I pretty much did what others suggested me. I didn't even stick with a dose for more than 1 or 2 days. I didn't know any better.
If you look at March 9th, I started from 0.5u again, tried it for 3 days but he was still on pinks and reds, except for 3/09, he was on yellows. From 3/09 up to now I've been increasing the dose gradually to get him out of those pinks and reds that a lower dosage was giving him.
Looking back at March I thought he didn't better on a higher dose. The way I"m seeing is: if he is on pinks and reds mostly the dose isn't high enough. Am I wrong then?
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning

I looked at your SS. I see what you are saying now. Gosh I'm sad and frustrated! I don't know how to help Sam :-|
Do you think he is still bouncing the blue numbers he had 3 days ago? or the high dose? I don't understand why he is bouncing.
 
Re: 4/10-Reduced dose last night, he is 552 this morning

You know, I am just really suspicious that he was originally attempting to be diet controlled and that it was missed and dose was increased and you've been rebounding ever since. I am at a loss of how to confirm this, I do see where you came back down to .5 in March and the only change was no blacks or highs.

Can you edit your title to get some other eyes to look this over? I almost think you should get the diet change happening if that's what you plan on doing and cut way way back on insulin to see what happens.

edit: I believe prozinc actually starts working better once you're on it 45 days, to answer your previous question.
 
Re: 4/10-Please help! Sam got 556 this morning and 526 +6.

Thank you Cathy, I've changed the subject line. I hope more people will give us some enlightenment.
The supplements should get here 1-3 days and I will make his food as soon as it get here this week.
:/
 
wow I just read it. How informative! Thank you SOOO much for sharing this. I wish I had read it at the very beginning of this process :-| . I just feel like I screwed things up..
Well now to clean up this mess, I will make this food this weekend but until then should I continue with 0.75u? or should I start back again on 0.5u since it will take few days for him to be adjusted to this dose?

In that article said "It may take a few days after the insulin dose has been adjusted downward for the high blood glucose which follows hypoglycemia to return to normal". I was a little confused by this Because Sam hasn't had a hypo yet but are they saying once the dose is lowered it will take few days until he sees a lower number? Poor Sam :( I feel like an idiot.
 
I'm not good at the dosing side and still learning with my cat. But i do know that EVERYONE is learning and you did not mess him up. He will recover and things will settle down soon. Hang in there and don't beat yourself up so much. You kitty doesn't know he is sick and doesn't hold it against you and you are doing the best you know how to. We are all here to support each other and give encouragement! It's ok! You are doing a good job and loving your Sam well!

Lori
 
Thank you Lori I REALLY appreciate your sweet comment :] You are right, we are here to support one another, and also learning. I've been putting a lot of hrs and I"m trying to do my best. We learn as we go..I just love Sam soo much :]

Thank you!!
 
NadjaAndSam said:
In that article said "It may take a few days after the insulin dose has been adjusted downward for the high blood glucose which follows hypoglycemia to return to normal". I was a little confused by this Because Sam hasn't had a hypo yet but are they saying once the dose is lowered it will take few days until he sees a lower number? Poor Sam :( I feel like an idiot.

With Sam we are not talking about a true hypo episode, the article mentioned a Dr. something who proposed that a cat could rebound from even a 150 if they had hyperglycemia (high BG) for some time just because the 150 is so much lower than normal. I think this is what you are seeing. Don't beat yourself up if it turns out this is the case, there is such a steep learning curve for FD....not one of us would have caught something like this when we first started.

I would go to the 0.5 and hold it through the food change since you're going to be going from around 7% carb (i think, can't remember your food) to basically 0% carb. You would probably have to reduce from the carb change anyways.

Hopefully some others will chime in shortly, it's about shot time for most people now.
 
Thank you Cathy!
I will reduce his dose tonight to 0.5u.
I feed him Nature's Variety Rabbit and Duck, sometimes Merrick's Cowboy Cookout. I don't remember seeing what the caloric value for duck and rabbit on Binky's list. On her list I saw Beef and other flavors for NV and it said 4% carbs if I'm not mistaken, but Sam only likes his rabbit and duck :lol:
 
Hi Nadja, I agree that you should lower your dose to .5u, but you need to hold it for at least 5 days, it takes 3 to 5 days for the rebound hormones to clear their system. Then you should start seeing his real bg numbers. Especially if you are removing all dry food now.

Good luck. We will be rooting for you.
 
Thank you :] He stopped eating dry food about 1 month before he was diagnosed with diabetes. He stopped eating it on his own, it was probably hard for him to eat it with the 3 teeth he has left :lol:
I'm excited to make his food too. I'm really hoping it will make a difference.
Yes, I'm thinking about holding the new dose for about a week. Something HAS to start happening soon!
I'm even considering changing insulin brands when mine runs out if things don't start going to a right direction. Well one thing at a time :D
thanks!
 
Just wanted to check in and reiterate that it's all gonna work out eventually, it just might take a little time to get him to calm down. Hopefully your PS numbers will drop over the next few days, getting rid of those hi and black values would be a great start.
 
Not a problem, I know how it feels to be completely lost with a kitty who depends on you.

That AMPS is great, close enough to yellow I'd call it peach even! Hope he continues to stay there or even go yellow...No more blacks or hi Sam!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top