Julie & Orange
Member Since 2012
Hi all,
I'm still pretty new here and this is my first time posting on the Lantus Board. I was hoping for some advice on Orange's dose.
A little history: pre-diagnosis he was eating dry Hills C/D. When diagnosed we switched him over to EVO dry, started him on a dose of 1 unit twice per day, and slowly started getting him to eat wet food. He's now completely off dry food and eating mostly Merrick Turducken, with a little bit of random other low carb wet food (to see what he likes) and some shredded boiled chicken thrown in.
A few days after he was totally switched to wet, I got a BG reading of 38, and reduced his dose to 0.5 units. I know I probably should have gone to 0.75, but my syringes only had measurements by the unit and I was having enough trouble just measuring anything in between.
Well, I got in the proper syringes on Sat, and now have 3 days of accuratly measuring 0.5 units. The lowest reading I have seen is 211 (which was at +4 so he might have gone down a little from there that night), so I'm thinking its time to go up to 0.75. Am I headed in the right direction?
Also, today is strange. I swear that the injection went in this morning - I don't think it was a fur shot, but his numbers didn't go down at all.
I'm still pretty new here and this is my first time posting on the Lantus Board. I was hoping for some advice on Orange's dose.
A little history: pre-diagnosis he was eating dry Hills C/D. When diagnosed we switched him over to EVO dry, started him on a dose of 1 unit twice per day, and slowly started getting him to eat wet food. He's now completely off dry food and eating mostly Merrick Turducken, with a little bit of random other low carb wet food (to see what he likes) and some shredded boiled chicken thrown in.
A few days after he was totally switched to wet, I got a BG reading of 38, and reduced his dose to 0.5 units. I know I probably should have gone to 0.75, but my syringes only had measurements by the unit and I was having enough trouble just measuring anything in between.
Well, I got in the proper syringes on Sat, and now have 3 days of accuratly measuring 0.5 units. The lowest reading I have seen is 211 (which was at +4 so he might have gone down a little from there that night), so I'm thinking its time to go up to 0.75. Am I headed in the right direction?
Also, today is strange. I swear that the injection went in this morning - I don't think it was a fur shot, but his numbers didn't go down at all.