4/10 Orange AMPS 362, +5 355

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Hi all,

I'm still pretty new here and this is my first time posting on the Lantus Board. I was hoping for some advice on Orange's dose.

A little history: pre-diagnosis he was eating dry Hills C/D. When diagnosed we switched him over to EVO dry, started him on a dose of 1 unit twice per day, and slowly started getting him to eat wet food. He's now completely off dry food and eating mostly Merrick Turducken, with a little bit of random other low carb wet food (to see what he likes) and some shredded boiled chicken thrown in.

A few days after he was totally switched to wet, I got a BG reading of 38, and reduced his dose to 0.5 units. I know I probably should have gone to 0.75, but my syringes only had measurements by the unit and I was having enough trouble just measuring anything in between.

Well, I got in the proper syringes on Sat, and now have 3 days of accuratly measuring 0.5 units. The lowest reading I have seen is 211 (which was at +4 so he might have gone down a little from there that night), so I'm thinking its time to go up to 0.75. Am I headed in the right direction?

Also, today is strange. I swear that the injection went in this morning - I don't think it was a fur shot, but his numbers didn't go down at all.
 
he could be bouncing from something lower during the night last night. i wouldn't worry about it - we're mostly looking at trends of numbers in context rather than individual numbers.

good choice on the reduction - i think that was totally fine. it's less nerve-wracking to be going up in dose when you're new at this than it is to be dealing with a kitty in low numbers right off the bat.

and hey! i'm so happy to be able to welcome you and orange to Lantus Land! :-D

oh, and on the dose, since you've reduced it i'd hold it for a few days and continue getting spot checks and preshot numbers.

all is looking good for orange!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land, Julie & Orange!

it is a magical place. I hope you will be as happy here as Binks and I have been. :-D

celi & binks
 
I just wanted to add your previous posts for continuity.
End of First Week 3/23
Food/Spreadsheet 3/27
Main Health 4/2

When you have time, read the yellow starred stickies at the top of the Lantus forum. They are your friends! i've reread all of them about 100 times and still pick up things from them - plus they get revised occasionally.

Can you do a profile on Orange when you have time, also? that helps us give better advice. i was reading through your past posts - so he's 7, on all canned food now (yay!) and does he have any other health concerns? is he overweight, has he ever had ketones, anything else? does he have any neuropathy?

edited to add link Creating a Profile
 
Thanks! I'll leave him at 0.5 units for a few more days.

I'll work on a profile too - give me a day or two on that though :)

No other major health concerns for my Orange kitty, but here are a couple of comments:
- He's never been overweight, but that's no thanks to him. Whenever we left food out he would just eat and eat and eat til he pukes and then he'd go back and eat some more. So we have always limited him to a 1/4 cup in the morning and 1/4 cup at night. In the six weeks before his diagnosis he had dropped from 13lb at his regular checkup to 11.5lb (he looked really scrawny at 11.5). Now with the wet food I've been letting him have as much as wants he seems to be pacing himself a little better than he did with dry food. He is gaining back weight though and is back up to about 12.5 lb. I'm really glad that he's gaining back the weight right now, but if he keeps gaining past his normal weight I might have to cut back on the free for all with the food.
- No ketones, neuropathy, or other issues
- He was the sickly runt of the litter for the first month of his life, but then quickly turned into the biggest one out of the bunch (and a little bit of a bully too, although he's very sweet - he just wants to play!)
 
thanks for all the background info! you want him to stop at a healthy weight - when they've lost weight, it's good to regain it (unless they were porkers before!) but you don't want him to become overweight. it's a balancing act.

punkin is a hoover - he doesn't eat til he throws up, but he loves his food. :lol:
 
Hi Julie!

Welcome to you and Orange and we hope you learn alot here in LL. We are a close, family group committed to helping each other with the sugar dance.

Julie has given you a lot of good information. I will just add that Turducken is 9% calories from carbs so it is in the higher % carb range then most feed. Having said that, it is awesome you have him on wet food solely now and if that's what he eats well, then that's fabulous. The other thing is that some cats actually do much better on a food that is more in the 8-10% calories from carbs range than 0-2%.

Please let us know your questions...we are here to help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top