4/10 Mr Grey Dose Advise AMPS 132;+1 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
Please look at his ss.... As you can see 3u AMPS has Mr Grey in the blue 130's. Should I raise dose to 3.25 with the goal of a lower AMPS say in the :mrgreen: 90's ? Thanks
 
Re: 4/10 Mr Grey Dose Advise AMPS 132

I'm not a person to give dosing advice, either. All I know is that dosing consistency, combined with food, would give you better results than inconsistent dosing. I saw on your SS that you don't have some doses marked down. Not sure what the reason is for that, however, Lantus is given, and works better, when given every 12 hours and not every 24 hours. Hopefully an expert can come by very soon to answer your dosing question for you. :-D
 
Re: 4/10 Mr Grey Dose Advise AMPS 132

no dose means I skipped a dose. In Mr Grey's case, he is known as a high dose cat. The protocol is different and more by the gut with these types. I put in the comments why exactly a dose was skipped. Most of the time it's a dosing strategy, although sometimes I get stuck out of town and can't get back in time to dose him. He happens to do well even after skipping a dose. :-D
 
Angela said:
All I know is that dosing consistency, combined with food, would give you better results than inconsistent dosing. I saw on your SS that you don't have some doses marked down. Not sure what the reason is for that, however, Lantus is given, and works better, when given every 12 hours and not every 24 hours.
TR rules don't always apply to high dose cats. It looks like Mr. Grey has broken through insulin resistance. In this situation, dose reductions or skipping shots is necessary in order to keep the cat safe.

Rick --
I think you need to remember that you want to dose based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot numbers. You're still seeing green nadirs. I'd want to look at today's cycle and see what the numbers tell you. With the skipped shot the other evening, you may want to evaluate the 3.0u dose for a full 4 cycles and consider an increase tomorrow based on what the numbers are looking like.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top