4/10 Mooch AMBG 416 PMBG 414

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68324

416 at 7:10am...gave 1 unit insulin

414 at 6:50pm and gave 1 unit insulin


Just my curiosity...why is Mooch getting only 1unit when his BG is SO high and has been? His foster mom is away but if she was home should he be getting more?

Another question...with MIkey I was not changing his dose based on his BG number each day. I see a few people doing that. I thought you don't increase/decrease until 6 cycles?
 
Re: 4/10 Mooch AMBG 416

Hi guys .. ouch .. kinda high this morning mooch .. how about coming down some? You're close to the pink floor, that would be an improvement! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/10 Mooch AMBG 416

Jenn, based on his readings before I left my vet recommended changing to 1 unit for the next week since he'd been rebounding/going fairly low at 2u and 1.5u. My petsitter is texting the vet with the readings and they are texting back to confirm the doses. They are a bit more conservative on the dosing and if his readings are in the 200's they are cutting back to 0.5u as we can't check him through the day. I'll be able to do more checks once I get back and hold thd dose at 1u, Lisa
 
Re: 4/10 Mooch AMBG 416

I know it's different since you are not there Lisa, that's why I had added if you were home would the same amount be recommended. When Mikey's #'s were that high I ended up having to increase him and the increase was held with each shot for 6 cycles, it never changed from reading to reading unless his BG went under 50.

My question was using Mooch as an example but I still am fairly new to FD and with mikey OJT I don't get to ask many questions to keep my brain thinking ;-)
 
Re: 4/10 Mooch AMBG 416

lisa & jenn, mooch's wonky numbers are likely from the dose changes. whenever a dose is changed, we give it time to settle in to see what it does. as long as you understand that the numbers aren't telling you much with the changes, it's fine. it would likely be better if the petsitter just picked a dose (either 1.0 or .5u if that's more comfy) and stayed with it the whole time you're traveling, lisa.

consider that going from 1.5u to 1.0 u is a decrease of 33%. then from 1.0 to .5u is a 50% decrease, and back up to 1.0u is doubling the dose. when a dose is increased even by 25%, you can see wonky numbers for as much as 3 days.

it's a smart thing to decrease the dose while mooch isn't being monitored much, don't want you to think i'm arguing, i'm just explaining a possible reason why these numbers are all over the map.

the vet responding to preshot numbers with a dose change just lets you know that the vet understands the older kinds of insulin and how they worked. prozinc is one that is mostly based upon the preshot. lantus works differently however, the dosing is based off the low-point of the cycle, the nadir. then the dose is held for a time period - 3 days if you're following TR and a week if you're following the SLGS protocols, and reassessed after that time period.
 
Re: 4/10 Mooch AMBG 416

Once I'm back on Sunday I'll be able to get him back on the tight control protocol and do more testing through the day. The good news ix that he's now happier with the wet food and eating that much better, Lisa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top