4/10 Max AMPS 395 (increased dose)

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-9-max-amps-427-3-432.261793/#post-2935518

Good morning. I increased Max’s dose to 7 units this morning. I always question accuracy in drawing up 6.75 units in the syringes I have. It could have even been closer to 7 units the night we got to green recently, I am not really sure. If it’s too much, I will have to learn to use calipers and what kind to get. I’ve read some posts that they are used here. I have never used them. Maybe 7 units will be a better dose for him though. Poor guy seems to have lost his momentum when I look back at his SS. This week Max goes to the vet to have his T4 checked, but I think I will go ahead and get the full senior panel because he’s been in high numbers so much recently. Also he’s been on Budesonide for 3 months now and doing great on that. He still needs Zofran bid though. I am curious about his kidney values and his LFTs.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-10_8-38-45.jpeg
    upload_2022-4-10_8-38-45.jpeg
    64.1 KB · Views: 130
Last edited:
Yes, too much red and pink the last few days. I know what you mean about eyeballing a .75 unit dose! Somewhere between that half unit mark and the whole unit mark. Good idea to go to 7.

What a cute photo of Max! I am glad I didn’t miss today’s condo so I could see it. :)
 
Don't get discouraged, Max is still doing great and especially great if the Budesonide is helping, I am all for that! I love that picture, so sweet!

FWIW, yes to using calipers for doing. My aging eyes really needed that accuracy, plus @Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) suggested (If I remember correctly) , showed us a pair of magnifying goggles to help see better) That really helped me out anyway!

I'll be on the lookout for your report from the vet!
 
Don't get discouraged, Max is still doing great and especially great if the Budesonide is helping, I am all for that! I love that picture, so sweet!

FWIW, yes to using calipers for doing. My aging eyes really needed that accuracy, plus @Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) suggested (If I remember correctly) , showed us a pair of magnifying goggles to help see better) That really helped me out anyway!

I'll be on the lookout for your report from the vet!
Thank you Ruth! I’m trying to stay positive! He is doing pretty good though so I’m happy with that. I really don’t know how to use calipers to be truthful. I hope that’s not a dumb thing to say, but I really don’t lol. There’s still a lot that I don’t know, and I learn so much by reading other condos of cats with high dose conditions like Max. I came across some other condos where people are using calipers and was curious. I have some of those lighted magnifying glasses that I got from Amazon that are great. My eyesight is not the best either. It’s still hard to guess the .25 and .75 units though without a mark. I will post his labs whenever I get the results. Thanks for checking on us, and you too @Suzanne & Darcy. :)
 
Does it look like he’s clearing a bounce or is it just because I increased that he’s made it to blue? While I’m glad about that, I think I read somewhere that you shouldn’t increase on a bounce clearing cycle. I also increased when I knew I had a fur shot yesterday. May be a crazy question, but if he does get to green should I go ahead and give the 7 units as planned? @Wendy&Neko if you’ve seen Max’s SS lately, I was wondering what you thought?
 
Does it look like he’s clearing a bounce or is it just because I increased that he’s made it to blue? While I’m glad about that, I think I read somewhere that you shouldn’t increase on a bounce clearing cycle. I also increased when I knew I had a fur shot yesterday. May be a crazy question, but if he does get to green should I go ahead and give the 7 units as planned? @Wendy&Neko if you’ve seen Max’s SS lately, I was wondering what you thought?
I noticed that partial fur shot, but overall it looked like Max was ready for an increase so I didn’t want to say anything about starting cycle counts over from the PFS. Good luck!
 
Depending on how low the green, if it happened, I would still stick with 7 units. He seemed to need a little nudge.
Okay. That makes me feel better. I really value your opinion so much Wendy! I’ve looked at Neko’s SS several times to see how you managed her numbers. I feel like I should know by now what I’m doing, but I still feel lost when it comes to managing Max’s issues sometimes. Thank you.
 
I noticed that partial fur shot, but overall it looked like Max was ready for an increase so I didn’t want to say anything about starting cycle counts over from the PFS. Good luck!
I considered that too but still felt like he might need it. Max likes to prove me wrong sometimes so I started second guessing myself.;)
 
Don't get discouraged, Max is still doing great and especially great if the Budesonide is helping, I am all for that! I love that picture, so sweet!

FWIW, yes to using calipers for doing. My aging eyes really needed that accuracy, plus @Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) suggested (If I remember correctly) , showed us a pair of magnifying goggles to help see better) That really helped me out anyway!

I'll be on the lookout for your report from the vet!

It wasn't I who recommended magnifying goggles. But it sounds like a good idea. You could ask an optomotrist. I always used calipers. I am one of the fortunate people who have always been very nearsighted. As I got older and my eyes did, too, I was able to see up close without my glasses. My eye doctor called it the "second sight"! I could see every detail.

Good luck!
 
Back
Top