? 4/10 Kosmo AMPS 322, + 2: 288 +5: 304 +6: 347 +8: 226

Kosmo

Member Since 2025
Hello everyone,

My cat had a clear bounce on April 5, 2025, after having a day of healthy BG levels the day before.

I was advised to hold the same dose for 10 cycles, which I did. The 10th cycle will end tonight, but I haven't seen much improvement in the results. (I think) ?

Should I consider increasing the dose starting tomorrow?

Previous thread of mine:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...hed-should-i-up-the-dose.299814/#post-3263037
 
It's been 9 cycles since that stretch of green on 4/6. Enough time for him to have cleared any bounce. No greens since and his numbers have been trending higher. You are good for an increase to 2.25U.

You want to evaluate the dose again in 3 days/6 cycles.
 
It's been 9 cycles since that stretch of green on 4/6. Enough time for him to have cleared any bounce. No greens since and his numbers have been trending higher. You are good for an increase to 2.25U.

You want to evaluate the dose again in 3 days/6 cycles.

Thank you for taking the time to look at my SS and responding!

I know that it’s been 9 cycles but I already counted the one for the eventing. :cat:

I will give 2,25 then tomorrow morning and hopefully see some better BG insulin response in a few days!
 
Thank you for taking the time to look at my SS and responding!

I know that it’s been 9 cycles but I already counted the one for the eventing. :cat:

I will give 2,25 then tomorrow morning and hopefully see some better BG insulin response in a few days!
good luck with the increase!! :bighug:
 
I know that it’s been 9 cycles but I already counted the one for the eventing. :cat:
Oh I didn't mean to correct your counting. Was just my way of saying that it has been enough number of cycles after that stretch of green for any bounce to clear! :-)

Good luck with the increase!
 
Good luck with the increase. You actually started seeing greens on April 3rd, which were repeated on April 4th then April 6th, but afterward looks like the nadirs are trending upward. He broke the last bounce on April 9th, but it was only to high blues, so you’ve given this dose enough of a chance ;)
 
Good luck with the increase. Did you see the info I left for you yesterday on your last post about food? Let me know what you think.
 
Thank you all for your responses!

@Marje and Gracie, I just saw the post you mentioned; I must have missed it earlier because I was busy doing some research today.

To give a bit more context:

I actually have two cats, not just one, and I’m looking to switch both of them to a high-quality wet food diet. However, the commercial options I’ve looked into would cost around €250–€300 per month, which is more than I’m comfortable spending on cat food.

During my research, I discovered that it’s possible to prepare balanced homemade cat food using the right ingredients and supplements. This way, I can ensure a high-quality diet at a lower cost.

Here’s what I’ve purchased to get started:

With this setup, I’ll be able to feed both cats a fully homemade wet food diet for around €160 per month, including the cost of chicken and other ingredients, and supplements.

For now, I still have a supply of Thrive Complete Chicken, which my diabetic cat is currently eating since today. It contains 2% of calories from carbohydrates, so I’ll monitor his blood glucose this week to see how he responds.

Once the supplements arrive, I plan to start transitioning to homemade food.

My cat's glucose levels were a bit higher than usual today. This might be because I lowered the carbohydrate percentage in his food, as you mentioned earlier, but it could also be due to the fact that I gave in a few times when he was begging for food.

I didn’t keep track of exactly how much I gave him, so that might be the reason.

Let’s hope that’s all it is.

I sent you the PDF via PM, would you be willing to take a look and let me know which recipe would be most suitable for my diabetic cat?

I would really like to take good care of both my cats from now on after I found out what dry kibble did to one of my cats.

By the way this is my other cat!
upload_2025-4-11_0-31-14.jpeg


I hope this isn’t too much to ask, I truly and sincerely appreciate all the help you’ve given me so far.

And of course all the other help I got from members on this forum!

It means a lot!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-11_0-31-14.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-11_0-31-14.jpeg
    47.2 KB · Views: 123
Thank you all for your responses!

@Marje and Gracie, I just saw the post you mentioned; I must have missed it earlier because I was busy doing some research today.

To give a bit more context:

I actually have two cats, not just one, and I’m looking to switch both of them to a high-quality wet food diet. However, the commercial options I’ve looked into would cost around €250–€300 per month, which is more than I’m comfortable spending on cat food.

During my research, I discovered that it’s possible to prepare balanced homemade cat food using the right ingredients and supplements. This way, I can ensure a high-quality diet at a lower cost.

Here’s what I’ve purchased to get started:

With this setup, I’ll be able to feed both cats a fully homemade wet food diet for around €160 per month, including the cost of chicken and other ingredients, and supplements.

For now, I still have a supply of Thrive Complete Chicken, which my diabetic cat is currently eating since today. It contains 2% of calories from carbohydrates, so I’ll monitor his blood glucose this week to see how he responds.

Once the supplements arrive, I plan to start transitioning to homemade food.

My cat's glucose levels were a bit higher than usual today. This might be because I lowered the carbohydrate percentage in his food, as you mentioned earlier, but it could also be due to the fact that I gave in a few times when he was begging for food.

I didn’t keep track of exactly how much I gave him, so that might be the reason.

Let’s hope that’s all it is.

I sent you the PDF via PM, would you be willing to take a look and let me know which recipe would be most suitable for my diabetic cat?

I would really like to take good care of both my cats from now on after I found out what dry kibble did to one of my cats.

By the way this is my other cat!
View attachment 73504

I hope this isn’t too much to ask, I truly and sincerely appreciate all the help you’ve given me so far.

And of course all the other help I got from members on this forum!

It means a lot!
Well, first I must say that little girly kitten (I’m assuming she’s a girl since she’s a torbie) is absolutely adorable!!! What is her name?

I think it’s wonderful you want to switch to homemade; I’ve been feeding homemade, balanced raw since my Tobey was 2 and he’s now 15 and Livia has had it since we adopted her at 12 weeks. The difference in their coats, poop (they poop much less and it doesn’t smell), and their gut health can be truly monumental. I’m happy to look at the info you provided.

Insofar as his BGs today, it looked like he was going to try and break the bounce last night but he didn’t. We don’t have much info on Kosmo yet especially with a changing diet BUT, many cats will get a “high before the break” in their glucose so watch him for it. The pattern is the BG comes down a bit so it looks like it’s breaking, then it goes back up a little, then alot, and then clears. It’s “possible” tonight might be the high before the break, but, again, we don’t have enough info on him yet on a consistent diet to really tell what his patterns will be. He didn’t do it after those greens on 4/4 so he might not be one that does. But....let’s get him on a more consistent diet and then we will see what he does. IF tonight is the high before the break, he might be lower in the morning and you’ll have to decide whether to increase the dose. He looks to me like he needs 2.25u and, for an experienced member, it’s ok to increase the dose as a bounce is clearing. However, for you, I would suggest if you get a PS 150 or below, it might be best to hold the 2u and raise as he starts the next bounce unless he sees a string of BGs below 100. If he does, hold the dose a bit longer.
 
Back
Top