4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +4.25-42, +4.5-58, +5.15-72, +6.25-59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116964

So....we basically skipped both AM and PM shots yesterday, and Jersey stayed below 85 at all bg checks. In total, she was without insulin for 32 hours. We did move her shot time last night. Her old PM+9 is now her new AMPS.

We also decreased to .25 units for this morning's dose in an attempt to taper off per TR protocol. I snuck home from work for the +7 check, and I'm really glad I did that now. The +7 showed me a 51, and I'm wondering if she may have gone lower than that. Unfortunately, I couldn't stick around to see if her number was falling, rising, or steady. I'm also wondering if she is bouncing a bit right now from a lower number. The 106 is good, but it's the highest number we've seen since Tuesday morning.

At this point, it appears the .25 may still be too much insulin. Of course, I'm emotionally invested and biased. With that in mind, I would love to hear some others' thoughts on this. Do we hold the .25 dose? Drop down to .10? Go to a "breath" of insulin? Try OTJ? Any guidance is sincerely appreciated.

Keeping all of the ailing kitties and their struggling beans in my thoughts and prayers today! :YMHUG:
Shelly
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey AMPS-85, +2.5-76, +4.5-60, +7-51, +10-106

Hi Shelly:

I am not an advice giver, but in my opinion, Jersey has not yet earned that next reduction. She needs to have a BG below 50 as she is pretty much a "newly diagnosed" cat. Please don't take this as gospel. I'm sure a more experienced member will be along soon to give you the correct advice. That's just my two cents' worth.

I will say that Jersey is looking mighty good, and appears to be on a mission! Good luck with whatever you decide to do, and keep up the great work! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey AMPS-85, +2.5-76, +4.5-60, +7-51, +10-106

Tricia is 100% correct! You really want to make them EARN those reductions, so need to wait until the drop below 50

It's better that they have to "work for them" a little more now, and you get a strong remission than try to rush it and have it fail later.

If she can stay in normal numbers (50-120) for a week on .25, then she'd "earn" the reduction to .1 and you wait another week

Looking great so far though!

GO Jersey!!
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey AMPS-85, +2.5-76, +4.5-60, +7-51, +10-106

Thanks so much for your advice, Tricia and Chris. It's hard for me to be impartial right now, so others telling me to stay the course really helps. We lost a diabetic kitty to hypoglycemia about 10 years ago. Even though he was on the vet's watch at the time, it's really affected me. Now that (paws crossed) the finish line is in sight for Jersey, I'm getting especially nervous. Of course, it doesn't help that Jersey has been throwing me low numbers all week! :roll:

Thanks again!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey AMPS-85, +2.5-76, +4.5-60, +7-51, +10-106

Shelly, I think Jersey is going to make YOU earn it, rather than the other way around! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey AMPS-85, +2.5-76, +4.5-60, +7-51, +10-106

Hi Shelly,
I agree that you should stick with .25 unit. The time without insulin drained Jersey's shed and now it will refil to .25. If that still looks like too much insulin after the dose settles in, you can reduce again. If she goes below 50, you can reduce right away. At least that is my understanding. Hopefully one of the experts will be along.

Good job!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey AMPS-85, +2.5-76, +4.5-60, +7-51, +10-106

Jersey is looking good. I know it is hard to be patient, but the longer she can remain in good numbers on insulin, the better chance she has for being OTJ to last.
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey AMPS-85, +2.5-76, +4.5-60, +7-51, +10-106

Yep, keep those patience pants on! A little slower right now will be worth it in the long run! :thumbup
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68

Thanks for the visit, Jen. Jersey has definitely made me earn every gray hair I have!

Carla, Ella, and Ann - thanks for reassuring me to stay the course. It helps - a lot. I did shoot the .25 at PMPS, and it looks like Jersey may already be on a mission to earn her reducie tonight. I'm trying to slow her down a bit with food, but she's looking at me like I'm out of my mind if I think she's going to eat again.

PMPS - 95, .25 units
+2 - 68

My deepest condolences go out to Rachel on the loss of her precious Chyna. My heart is heavy with sadness.
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68, +3.75-51

we're all feeling it. it's so hard for us to lose a cat - they are our companions and best friends. my heart is going out to rachel - this is so painful.

i think tonight will tell you Jersey's dose. you're doing a good job. this situation is different that the weekend at the vet's. you're in control, you're monitoring and you're on top of things. i wonder if that 106 is a mini-bounce too. just keep it up - you're coming down to the finish line.
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68, +3.75-51, +4.25-42

I'm struggling with Jersey tonight. She just fell to 42 at +4.25. I can't get her to eat any high-carb food. She also wouldn't go for the syrup. We tried syringe feeding syrup, but that did not go well - at all. I also tried rubbing some syrup on her gums. I've gotten her to eat a few bites of a Twinkie - I'm hoping the sugar in it will help. A recheck is coming up in about 20 minutes.

Ugghhhhh........

I really feel like she's trying to tell us that she's done, and I just won't listen to her. Like I said, though, I'm too emotionally involved to see the picture clearly.
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68, +3.75-51, +4.25-42

Shelly, that chart is looking really good. Would you trade some greens for some blues? :razz:
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68, +3.75-51, +4.25-42

Yes, the sugar in a Twinkie will help, but it's the same as any other sugar. It will wear off

If you absolutely can't get her to eat any of the high carb things she should should eat, do you have some ice cream or yogurt she might like? Just trying to think of other things you could give her to try ....Not a lot, just enough to get her above 50
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68, +3.75-51, +4.25-42

many cats will eat ice cream.

with that 42, we may need to rethink the insulin. she may be ready for a trial. some cats do it this way.
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68, +3.75-51, +4.25-42, +4.5-58

Hey Chris,

Thanks for the suggestions. I did get enough sugar in her to get her up to 58, so I'm breathing a bit easier right now. I'll get another check in about 20 minutes.

Edit: I cross-posted with Julie. Julie - I do have some ice cream, so I may try that if we end up hovering low tonight.
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68, +3.75-51, +4.25-42, +4.5-58

Come on Jersey, eat for your mama please. Looks like you are nearing the end of lots of ear pricks and shots so come up above 50. You have already earned a reduction. Don't be so hard on your mom.

Elise
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +2-68, +3.75-51, +4.25-42, +4.5-58

also, shelley, as a last resort (but i see your post that you got her up to 58 - yay!), you can use a food syringe and put karo syrup up her rectum. not to be indelicate, but it will work. keep that in mind - it's an option if you need it.

i'm asking for some other's opinions about what to do next for her.
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +4.25-42, +4.5-58, +4.7-78

We're up to 78 now, so I'm thinking we got more syrup in her than we realized. We'll recheck in another 20 minutes or so.

Thanks, Julie. I had forgotten about the rectal administration, so I'm glad you mentioned it. We'll definitely resort to that method if needed.
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +4.25-42, +4.5-58, +4.8-78

I think I'd try the ice cream first...but not rectally...LOL

Glad to see she's up into a much safer number!
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +4.25-42, +4.5-58, +4.8-78

Believe me, if I administer ice cream to a cat rectally, you all will be getting a video of it! :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 4/10 Jersey PMPS-95, +4.25-42, +4.5-58, +4.8-78

Whoa Jersey - please eat for your momma. You really don't want her to have to administer ice cream! :shock: :shock: :shock:

21726-Ben--Jerrys-cat-u2Ms.gif


Just make sure it's not chocolate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top