4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180 +6 243 +9 239

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
Good way for him to start his day.

We'll wait a bit, test and make a call.

Today, I'm going to visit Chubby early and spent some time with him. I want him home.

The Vet better have good news for me. So we can go ahead and get him better.

I hate having to make adult decisions,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11459
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127

Jay, I see in your spreadsheet, a note about 1 can. Did Frankie eat yet?
I'm not experienced enough to give dosing decisions, if he was my cat, I would test again in 30 minutes and then decide what dose to give. If I felt uncomfortable giving the full dose, then I would give a reduced dose if he keeps dropping, rather than skip a shot. Whatever I felt comfortable in giving, like 2.25 units or 1.75, or something like that, just to keep something in the shed. I know you're going to be away part of the day, and you don't need to worry about Frankie, too. These are just my thoughts. Others will be along to help you make your decision.

The Best Of Luck with Chubby today. I hope he is feeling a lot better today, and everything is all right and he gets to come home and get all better soon.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127

Dyana said:
Jay, I see in your spreadsheet, a note about 1 can. Did Frankie eat yet?
I'm not experienced enough to give dosing decisions, if he was my cat, I would test again in 30 minutes and then decide what dose to give. If I felt uncomfortable giving the full dose, then I would give a reduced dose if he keeps dropping, rather than skip a shot. Whatever I felt comfortable in giving, like 2.25 units or 1.75, or something like that, just to keep something in the shed. I know you're going to be away part of the day, and you don't need to worry about Frankie, too. These are just my thoughts. Others will be along to help you make your decision.

The Best Of Luck with Chubby today. I hope he is feeling a lot better today, and everything is all right and he gets to come home and get all better soon.


I fed him (rather put food out, and he nibbled a bit) at +13.

I'm going to test again before I head to the Vet. then dose him.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127

Well I just want to wish the best for Chubby when you go see him today and hope you are able to bring him home soon and I know dose advice for Frankie will be along soon
Hang in there I know its got to be tough when one of your best buddys is missing :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Well I just want to wish the best for Chubby when you go see him today and hope you are able to bring him home soon and I know dose advice for Frankie will be along soon
Hang in there I know its got to be tough when one of your best buddys is missing :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:


I'm not so much worried about dosing Frankie..as you can see he comes down quick 2 cycles after I skipped a shot. I'm more concerned over whether or not I am doing the right thing for Chubby. You've heard all the questions here before. Quality of life after an operation, if we even get to that point and my selfishness vs his comfort.

Tough questions that I knew one day would come (thinking it would be Frankie first) however, didnt think that they'd come this soon nor did I ever really want to deal with them.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99

My goodness Frankie is trying to get your attention away from Chubby it seems! Frankie, you know we all still love you! Chubs is a sick kitty right now though and he needs all the loving and healing vines we can send him. *skritches Frankie's chin* Be patient and hopefully soon Chubs will be home with you guys again and you can all get back into the usual routine.

Sending lots of love and white light to Chubby, let us know what you find out from the vet!
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99

I hope you get good news about Chubby today. Sending healing vines and a blizzard of snowflakes (well, I live in Charleston so at the moment a blizzard of pollen might have to do).
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99

You too? It's horrid here. They showed a clip on the news, a section of the Chesapeake Bay where the pollen was so thick on the water.... nasty, thick waves of yellow pollen. Blech. I'd rather have winter back. I'm enjoying the heck out of these cool days we just got =)

No pollen for Chubby, might make him sneezy, which probably wouldn't feel good right now. But lots of love and healing vines!
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99

Jay do you have any baby food or even tuna in the house you can give Frankie so that he will at least eat something? It would be swell. like everyone said, if you could see a rising number so you could at least shoot a reduced dose as Frankie needs his insulin.

I also do feel what you're going through, you know that, but Frankie is special needs as well so it would be great if you could get him through this with you :)
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99

Wishing you well today Jay!!!! Hoping for the very best!

(tell Chubby when you go to see him that we are ALL praying for him and thinking of you all...kiss him from us!!)
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99

Caryl and Alex said:
Jay do you have any baby food or even tuna in the house you can give Frankie so that he will at least eat something? It would be swell. like everyone said, if you could see a rising number so you could at least shoot a reduced dose as Frankie needs his insulin.

I also do feel what you're going through, you know that, but Frankie is special needs as well so it would be great if you could get him through this with you :)

I'm at the Vet waiting to see Chubby and to talk to the doc.
I am having serious doubts as to whether I am doing the right thing with him. There is only one creature that will let me know an I'm waiting to see him now.
Frankie was still dropping even after nibbling (he'll eat, he finished his food from last nite in the middle of the nite) He'll get his dose when I get home. I'm not
concerned about a schedule right now. I'll deal with a schedule one cycle at a time
Hopefully by Monday AM we will back on one
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99

Jay said:
Caryl and Alex said:
Jay do you have any baby food or even tuna in the house you can give Frankie so that he will at least eat something? It would be swell. like everyone said, if you could see a rising number so you could at least shoot a reduced dose as Frankie needs his insulin.

I also do feel what you're going through, you know that, but Frankie is special needs as well so it would be great if you could get him through this with you :)

I'm at the Vet waiting to see Chubby and to talk to the doc.
I am having serious doubts as to whether I am doing the right thing with him. There is only one creature that will let me know an I'm waiting to see him now.
Frankie was still dropping even after nibbling (he'll eat, he finished his food from last nite in the middle of the nite) He'll get his dose when I get home. I'm not
concerned about a schedule right now. I'll deal with a schedule one cycle at a time
Hopefully by Monday AM we will back on one

whatever you do don't make any snap decisions that you aren't comfortable with!!!!!
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212

Chubbs is looking better, (he got sort of a haircut, belly is shaved and so his is arm, next he'll want to join the Marines) head butts, paws on my hand, very happy to see me, as I was to see him.

He looks comfortable, isnt in distress, jusu wondering what he is doing there, and when I'm going to take him home.

Still waiting for the report on the fluid that was removed from his abdomen and we age getting a biopsy done on Monday.

On the other hand. I wish I had the gonads to give Frankie some amount of insulin. At +18 or so, he is still only at 115.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212

Back to the Vet.

Finally got a dose into Frankie

What can I say, I'm chicken
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99 +18 115

Jay, Frankie did really good today.
If Chubby has to stay at the vet, if you bring an old not laundered t-shirt or someting with your smell on it and give it to him, it will comfort him somewhat while he's there.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99 +18 115

Dyana said:
Jay, Frankie did really good today.
If Chubby has to stay at the vet, if you bring an old not laundered t-shirt or someting with your smell on it and give it to him, it will comfort him somewhat while he's there.

Before my first visit to Chubby today, I put on a clean TShirt for an hour. Then changed and left it for him to lie on, on top of a fleece blanket that I had left in his carrier.

Just got back from my 2nd visit, and left him some EVO and TunaFlakes and his at one time favorite toy. He hasnt been eating much solid food, is still on IV and it will be a while before I can bring him back home.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99 +18 115

Frankie is starting to like the good numbers. Interesting day, bringing himself down from the +12. Looks like some pancreas action in there -- you know what that means.
You might consider changing dose so that you can shoot 12/12 -- bet things would even out quite nicely. ((((((((((Chubby))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie +12 151 +13 127 +14 99 +18 115

D and Noisy said:
Frankie is starting to like the good numbers. Interesting day, bringing himself down from the +12. Looks like some pancreas action in there -- you know what that means.
You might consider changing dose so that you can shoot 12/12 -- bet things would even out quite nicely. ((((((((((Chubby))))))))))))))))


Change dose. To what? I have absolutely no clue as to how to approach this at this point. The past few days we get have been getting very very long duration into double digit or very low 100's and given that I am not comfortable shooting that low during the week, I skip a dose. When I skip a dose he is high for 2 cycles and then comes back down over the next 3 or 4 cycles to the mid 200;s then down to the 100's and around we go.

How much should I reduce the dose? 1/4 unit down to 2.5? 1/2 unit? I have no clue
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 181

D and Noisy said:
Frankie is starting to like the good numbers. Interesting day, bringing himself down from the +12. Looks like some pancreas action in there -- you know what that means.
You might consider changing dose so that you can shoot 12/12 -- bet things would even out quite nicely. ((((((((((Chubby))))))))))))))))


Change dose. To what? I have absolutely no clue as to how to approach this at this point. The past few days we get have been getting very very long duration into double digit or very low 100's and given that I am not comfortable shooting that low during the week, I skip a dose. When I skip a dose he is high for 2 cycles and then comes back down over the next 3 or 4 cycles to the mid 200;s then down to the 100's and around we go.

How much should I reduce the dose? 1/4 unit down to 2.5? 1/2 unit? I have no clue
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180

I'd try the 2.5u. Things are changing for Frankie. Think the 2.5u will work this time, it's worth a look see. It would be very cool if he started going down the dose ladder, which is what Lantus is great for.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180

Hi Jay! Healing vines being sent to Chubby, and good luck wishes for the new dose being sent to Frankie. You are doing heroic work. Keep it up. Your kitties will help you!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180

D and Noisy said:
I'd try the 2.5u. Things are changing for Frankie. Think the 2.5u will work this time, it's worth a look see. It would be very cool if he started going down the dose ladder, which is what Lantus is great for.

It would, so I wont have to worry about giving him a dose when I have to head to work.

There is one major element here that some may not be aware of who read this. He eats when he wants to, not when I put food out. With that in mind, although its time for a shot, I test, feed, and shoot. He eats a bit, and then wlaks away and comes back later in mid cycle. I'd feel much more comfortable if all of his food went onboard, as I was dosing him.

Case in point, he made 3 excursions to his bowl (which I put out a 5 AM) between +12 and +18, and there was still some left at 2PM today, I'm not going to punish by taking his food away because his eating habits dont happen to coincide with the protocol.

A long time ago using PZI Vet (yeah they may be different but tight reg is the same with both, and both are slow onset, long duration insulins) I had been dosing him when I caught him rising at very low BGs (minimum 120 and rising), I gave him his dose one night, as he was rising (up from 138) and I just happened to spot check him at +3. He was 45, with the dose just about to really kick in (onset happened after +4, sound familiar). I saw him start to shake his legs while he was walking, immediately Karo came out, high carb, lots of strips, and the hair on the back of my neck stood up.

We made it through a very long night (a testament to testing, by the way) and from that moment on I stopped shooting so low. Instead of playing with his dose (reducing it based on his numbers) I'd play with the length of time between shots and hold the dose constant and wait till he was high enough for me to be comfortable about dosing, Basically what I have been doing here.

That happened 3/12 or 4 years ago, Since then I have been really gun shy about shooting low. No one should ever have (although most of us had some close calls like that) to go thru that.

Next time I catch him at +12 between 175 and 220 he gets a 2.5 un shot. Maybe tonight (rather tomorrow morning, I first gave him a dose today at 2PM or +21, thats real good duration)

Does anyone SID dose using Lantus or is that too much Protocol heresay. Just curious. I dont want to hear from anyone reading this that "I cant do that" I am only asking a question

I'm a tough guy who is really a chicken with a low BG and a loaded syringe.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180

Tugger doesn't chow his food when I put it out either... unless it's a particular favorite. Otherwise he does just like you describe. I think it's actually better for them to eat many smaller meals per day than two big ones. I've been told it supports the pancreas better. So I don't think you should worry about his eating times at all, as long as you care fairly confident he will eat on his own. Tugger feeds his own lows as long as there is food out. If he wasn't a good eater, I'd worry more, but he loves food. As long as I'm offering his favorite flavor of the minute ;-) I know his current loves though, so if I'm concerned I can feed something he likes a lot at shot time and leave out something he likes but doesn't love for the rest of the day.

I've been shooting some pretty low numbers, but I'm around to watch him and feed him up. So far I think 44 was his lowest, which I don't think is really that low. I don't have to feed him Karo. Just a bit of high carb gravy over his low carb food or a tablespoon of the high carb food+gravy. It brings him up over 50 and depending on where he is in his cycle, I might feed him one more little bit if he starts to go down again before his nadir. Tugger feels good in the 50's and he gets downright playful in the 40's. That's often how I know he's dipping. It was scary the first time, I admit. I fed him high carb food and let him chow. Then he bounced. I now know how high carb effects him lol.

I'm not sure I'd be that brave if I had to shoot and leave for work without at least one or two checks. There are people who do though and I'm sure they could tell you on how they handle it all.
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180 +6 243

Hope you get a positive report on Chubby...Frankie is doing so great! I understand the being safe thing, I mean I feel that Moonie, after 2 years, isnt going OTJ-unlikely, so I keep her in good numbers for her & dont take many unsafe chances..
Frankie's numbers were really beautiful today--That would be ideal numbers for Moonie...
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180 +6 243

Roni and Moonie said:
Hope you get a positive report on Chubby...Frankie is doing so great! I understand the being safe thing, I mean I feel that Moonie, after 2 years, isnt going OTJ-unlikely, so I keep her in good numbers for her & dont take many unsafe chances..
Frankie's numbers were really beautiful today--That would be ideal numbers for Moonie...


I think his PM shot is tanking out. As you can see he started to go back up after +3. Which means I can do one of two things. Dose him again at +8 (I try to follow the protocol as close as I can, however I dont live in a lab or a highly controlled environment, in which the protocol was developed) if he is still rising, or I can wait till the morning at which time he might be over 350.

I'm inclined to give him a dose at +8 but we'll see.

My focus is really on Chubby. We both want him home safe, healthy and annoying
 
Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180 +6 243

Please wait for someone to answer that question. Shooting again at +8 is where you came in (in the first place) I believe. I could be wrong and I'm the first to admit I know little about dosing since I get personalized help for Alex....but two shots in 8 hours just sounds like too much insulin.
 
Caryl and Alex said:
Please wait for someone to answer that question. Shooting again at +8 is where you came in (in the first place) I believe. I could be wrong and I'm the first to admit I know little about dosing since I get personalized help for Alex....but two shots in 8 hours just sounds like too much insulin.


Nah...he's dropping. Gonna wait, Gonna get some sleep (finally), wake up take care of Frankie, and off to see Chubbs at the Vet when they open.

I need a life. Wait a sec. These two guys are my life
 
Does anyone SID dose using Lantus or is that too much Protocol heresay. Just curious. I dont want to hear from anyone reading this that "I cant do that" I am only asking a question
dosing sid is rare. it has been done, but usually with kitties who are almost ready to go OTJ.

I'm inclined to give him a dose at +8 but we'll see.
glad it didn't work out for you. :-D
shooting early *can* be an effective tool when used wisely. shooting earlier than +10 can end up getting you in a jam. the exception to this is when dosing bid just doesn't work. in those cases, shooting very small doses tid can be effective. personally, i'm not seeing the need for that with frankie...
 
Jay said:
Caryl and Alex said:
Please wait for someone to answer that question. Shooting again at +8 is where you came in (in the first place) I believe. I could be wrong and I'm the first to admit I know little about dosing since I get personalized help for Alex....but two shots in 8 hours just sounds like too much insulin.


Nah...he's dropping. Gonna wait, Gonna get some sleep (finally), wake up take care of Frankie, and off to see Chubbs at the Vet when they open.

I need a life. Wait a sec. These two guys are my life



I can relate to that :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top