Re: 4.10 Frankie PMPS 212 +3 180
D and Noisy said:
I'd try the 2.5u. Things are changing for Frankie. Think the 2.5u will work this time, it's worth a look see. It would be very cool if he started going down the dose ladder, which is what Lantus is great for.
It would, so I wont have to worry about giving him a dose when I have to head to work.
There is one major element here that some may not be aware of who read this. He eats when he wants to, not when I put food out. With that in mind, although its time for a shot, I test, feed, and shoot. He eats a bit, and then wlaks away and comes back later in mid cycle. I'd feel much more comfortable if all of his food went onboard, as I was dosing him.
Case in point, he made 3 excursions to his bowl (which I put out a 5 AM) between +12 and +18, and there was still some left at 2PM today, I'm not going to punish by taking his food away because his eating habits dont happen to coincide with the protocol.
A long time ago using PZI Vet (yeah they may be different but tight reg is the same with both, and both are slow onset, long duration insulins) I had been dosing him when I caught him rising at very low BGs (minimum 120 and rising), I gave him his dose one night, as he was rising (up from 138) and I just happened to spot check him at +3. He was 45, with the dose just about to really kick in (onset happened after +4, sound familiar). I saw him start to shake his legs while he was walking, immediately Karo came out, high carb, lots of strips, and the hair on the back of my neck stood up.
We made it through a very long night (a testament to testing, by the way) and from that moment on I stopped shooting so low. Instead of playing with his dose (reducing it based on his numbers) I'd play with the length of time between shots and hold the dose constant and wait till he was high enough for me to be comfortable about dosing, Basically what I have been doing here.
That happened 3/12 or 4 years ago, Since then I have been really gun shy about shooting low. No one should ever have (although most of us had some close calls like that) to go thru that.
Next time I catch him at +12 between 175 and 220 he gets a 2.5 un shot. Maybe tonight (rather tomorrow morning, I first gave him a dose today at 2PM or +21, thats real good duration)
Does anyone SID dose using Lantus or is that too much Protocol heresay. Just curious. I dont want to hear from anyone reading this that "I cant do that" I am only asking a question
I'm a tough guy who is really a chicken with a low BG and a loaded syringe.