4/10 Evey AMPS 140 +11 47 PMPS 47

Evey

Member Since 2024
Evey got 1U this morning at 7:43am. When I got home around 6pm and scan her, the curve shows a long red flat line. As you can see from the Libre curve, her BG had been around 47-54 (2.6-3mmol/L) since 11am. I pricked her ear and her +11 was at 47mg/dL (2.6mmol/dL) (sensor reading was 56mg/dL and 3.1mmol/dL). I fed her 25g of can food immediately.

I was at work all day. I don't know if she had any symptoms of low blood sugar. She seems fine now, walking around the apartment, banging door for food, seems quite normal to me. Should I be worried since she has been low sugar for maybe almost 10 hours?

This is her first time having low BG for such a long time? Does anyone know why this is happening? Did I give her too much insulin?

Here is timeline:
April 10
7:43 Libre: 140mgdl/7.8mmol Insulin:1U Food:100g
18:25(+11) Libre: 56mgdl/3.1mmol Handheld: 47mgdl/2.6mmol
18:36 Libre: lo Food:25g
19:24 Libre: 52mgdl/2.9mmol Food:25g
20:00 Libre: 52mgdl/2.9mmol
20:15 Libre: 52mgdl/2.9mmol Food:25g
20:29 Libre: 63mgdl/3.5mmol
21:33 Libre: 74mgdl/4.1mmol
22:30 Libre: 99mgdl/5.5mmol
22:45 Libre: 113mgdl/6.3mmol Food:25g
23:01 Libre: 97mgdl/5.4mmol
 
Last edited:
Hi there. Based on your post it looks like you're on a different time from us in the states. Also your spreadsheet is in metric which also tells me you're from a different part of the country. Where are you from? I'm sorry I am not well versed in metric. Let's see if @Bandit's Mom is around.
 
How long before PMPS? When was the last time you fed? Do you think you can get another test from the handheld glucometer?
 
How long before PMPS? When was the last time you fed? Do you think you can get another test from the handheld glucometer?

I tested her at 6:25pm with a human handheld glucometer. She is supposed to get insulin at 7:43pm.

I fed her 100g at 8am and I fed her 25g at 6:36pm when I got home. I just scanned her again. At 7:25pm, she is 2.9 (FreeStyle Libre). I will try to prick her ear again.
 
Will you be able to test Evey at all today? How long will you be gone?
Evey is newly diagnosed and although you have a lot of data, we don't have much with a preshot of 52 (2.9). How long could you stall without feeding before you absolutely have to shoot?
 
Hi there. Based on your post it looks like you're on a different time from us in the states. Also your spreadsheet is in metric which also tells me you're from a different part of the country. Where are you from? I'm sorry I am not well versed in metric. Let's see if @Bandit's Mom is around.

I'm in China. I type in both units. hope it helps.
 
Will you be able to test Evey at all today? How long will you be gone?
Evey is newly diagnosed and although you have a lot of data, we don't have much with a preshot of 52 (2.9). How long could you stall without feeding before you absolutely have to shoot?

Sorry, I wasn't being clear. It's evening where I'm now. There is a time difference. I'm staying home all night.
 
Apologies I didn't understand. So when you get a preshot lower than usual, we encourage the caregiver to stall without feeding, and test in 20-30 minutes to see if the number is rising. How long has it been since the 52 (2.9) in minutes?
If you decide to shoot, do you have plenty of testing supplies and high carb food?

Also, since aEvey is ok and this is not a medical emergency can you please remove the 911?
 
Apologies I didn't understand. So when you get a preshot lower than usual, we encourage the caregiver to stall without feeding, and test in 20-30 minutes to see if the number is rising. How long has it been since the 52 (2.9) in minutes?
If you decide to shoot, do you have plenty of testing supplies and high carb food?

Also, since aEvey is ok and this is not a medical emergency can you please remove the 911?

she has been around 2.9 for almost half a day as you can see from this
s!AnPuqY-usOTQgspncxtJuIIQJPOOhQ
curve https://1drv.ms/b/s!AnPuqY-usOTQgspncxtJuIIQJPOOhQ .

i just tested her again at 19:53. She is still at 47mgdl/2.6mmol. The Libre reading is higher than the handleheld glucosmeter.

Sorry, i thought low blood sugar is medical emergency. I will remove it
 
Sorry, i thought low blood sugar is medical emergency. I will remove it
Yes it is, but with symptoms of hypo. The 911 is usually asked to be removed once the situation is ok. If Evey starts showing any symptoms of Hypoglycemia, please put the 911 on again immediately.

We do not shoot a lime number. How about feeding Evey a teaspoon or two of her regular food and get a scan/test in another 30 minutes. Kindly post the result :). I may need to step away for a bit, but I'll ask Bhooma @Bandit's Mom to keep an eye out for the next BG reading.

How long can you stall before you absolutely have to skip inorder to stay on schedule?
 
Yes it is, but with symptoms of hypo. The 911 is usually asked to be removed once the situation is ok. If Evey starts showing any symptoms of Hypoglycemia, please put the 911 on again immediately.

We do not shoot a lime number. How about feeding Evey a teaspoon or two of her regular food and get a scan/test in another 30 minutes. Kindly post the result :). I may need to step away for a bit, but I'll ask Bhooma @Bandit's Mom to keep an eye out for the next BG reading.

How long can you stall before you absolutely have to skip inorder to stay on schedule?

What do you mean by regular food? dry food?

She is already 30 mins past the schedule.
 
A small housekeeping request for when you have the time. Could you please add that you're in China and what food you are feeding ("low carb wet food" etc) to your Signature. Just so people know which timezone you are in and we don't keep asking what food you feed! Thanks :-)
 
Does she get food between shots?


This was with a regular meter? Any tests after this?

1. Yes. I gave her 1U and fed her 100g before I went to work. She finished all the food.
2. No, it's the Libre reading. I haven't tested her again. How often should I test her? At 9:33pm, she is at 4.1 now. big relief.

I probably don't need to give her shot again, right?
 
1. Yes. I gave her 1U and fed her 100g before I went to work. She finished all the food.
Is there someone who can feed her a couple of times when you are at work? Giving food only with the shot is old school - and more suited to in and and our insulins where you want to ensure that a good amount food is on board before you give the shot. With long-acting insulins, you want to feed small meals during the cycle. Without food numbers can keep dropping.
Using Food to Manipulate the Curve


2. No, it's the Libre reading. I haven't tested her again. How often should I test her? At 9:33pm, she is at 4.1 now. big relief.

I probably don't need to give her shot again, right?
Looks like you skipped the shot tonight? With that drop below 50, she has earned a reduction. Her new dose would be 0.75U
 
Is there someone who can feed her a couple of times when you are at work? Giving food only with the shot is old school - and more suited to in and and our insulins where you want to ensure that a good amount food is on board before you give the shot. With long-acting insulins, you want to feed small meals during the cycle. Without food numbers can keep dropping.
Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

Looks like you skipped the shot tonight? With that drop below 50, she has earned a reduction. Her new dose would be 0.75U

22:30 Libre: 99mgdl/5.5mmol
22:45 Libre: 113mgdl/6.3mmol Food:25g
23:01 Libre: 97mgdl/5.4mmol

is it too late to give her a shot tonight? it's 11pm here and she is up to 97/5.4

Is there someone who can feed her a couple of times when you are at work
Unfortunately no. I will buy a autofeeder soon.
 
Don't worry about the skip, she will get back on track soon enough. However much later you are tonight now, you would have to shoot in the morning 12 hours from now if you gave a shot now. Easier just to skip and get sleep.

Until you can get an autofeeder, a trick some people have used is to make some cat foodsicles. Add water to cat food and pop in an ice cube maker. Pull out frozen ones and leave around for them to thaw so Evey has something to eat later.
 
Don't worry about the skip, she will get back on track soon enough. However much later you are tonight now, you would have to shoot in the morning 12 hours from now if you gave a shot now. Easier just to skip and get sleep.

Until you can get an autofeeder, a trick some people have used is to make some cat foodsicles. Add water to cat food and pop in an ice cube maker. Pull out frozen ones and leave around for them to thaw so Evey has something to eat later.

The foodsicle is a really good idea. I would try that. Thank you~
If she is under 6 tomorrow morning, should I give her insulin? I have to leave for work at 7:30am. I don't have much time to stall the shot in the morning.

Do you happen to know why her BG was suddenly so low and flat for such a long time? I was happy to see a low number flat curve but kind of worried at the same time.
 
If you skipped tonight, she likely won't be under 6 tomorrow morning. Could you put "skip" or "NS" for no shot in the units cell for tonight. That tells us you skipped the shot, instead of just forgetting to enter the data. Also, if you decide to skip tonight, you can shoot early tomorrow morning when you get up, if you want. That might allow you some time to decide if you want to stall.
 
If you skipped tonight, she likely won't be under 6 tomorrow morning. Could you put "skip" or "NS" for no shot in the units cell for tonight. That tells us you skipped the shot, instead of just forgetting to enter the data. Also, if you decide to skip tonight, you can shoot early tomorrow morning when you get up, if you want. That might allow you some time to decide if you want to stall.

You're right. She was between 7.8 and 8.5 this morning and I gave her 0.75U. Thank you so much for your help~
 
Back
Top