4/10 Eleanor AMPS 372 +2 352 +3 314 +5.5 318 +9 338 PMPS 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...99-3-290-7-5-346-pmps-326-3-295-6-299.155917/

Eleanor started vomiting before her A.M. shot. I did not know what to do, her BG was so high I didn't want to skip, or give a reduced dose. Decided the only alternative was to shoot the full dose, I fed 1/2 her food portion, waited 1/2 hour, she held it down, so I gave the full dose of insulin and fed the rest of the food portion in another 1/2 hour. It' s coming on to +3 now. No more vomiting.
Neg for ketones.
 
I'm so sorry about the vomits and glad to hears she held down the later food. Also think you made the right decision on giving her the full dose. It's fine to feed many small meals through out the day to make sure she gets enough calories. Hopefully your vet can get her a good safe combo of meds. Have you thought about trying a different brand of food? Sending vines and prayers she feels better today.
 
PMPS 310. Vomited once three hours ago. Cerenia at 12:30 pm. Bupronorphine as well. She is letting me force feed without fighting it. Purred while I injected her insulin, that's a new one, don't know if it's a good sign or not.
Going to the vet tomorrow morning.

Huge thanks to everyone who has been so supportive. It means so much.
 
FWIW Vyktor has mouth issues (stomatitis) and I often have difficulty getting him to eat. I would be skipping or reducing all over the place if I paid attention to that so I go ahead and shoot the full dose regardless and have found that he actually tends to run a bit higher if he isn't eating well. A couple of times I have been caught out with lows and a cat that won't eat but in those circumstances have syringed syrup to keep him safe. With her running so high and you monitoring well I think it's a good call to keep giving Eleanor her full dose for the time being, regardless of the vomits.

Sending vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top