? 4/10 Callie AMPS 151 1U; +3 135; +7 42; +7.5 79; +8 ; Could someone look at her numbers and SS to

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would give more gravy with the actual food - a little, like 2 teaspoons with gravy on top.
I did. Thanks! She ate it. It's now up to 79. She seemed absolutely fine. Reminds me of how you say Ducia acts, just normal. Well, except for that first time with Ducia. Thanks for your input and help.
 
Last edited:
Okay, so it looks like back to the .75 then? I don't know. Her numbers were so bad at that dose. Maybe I didn't give it enough time? Today looked so good till the 42.
 
Sounds good. Maybe I can quit shaking within the next day or so.
LOL.
I think you can stop shacking right now. The 79 after a little food is beautiful number. Really. I wish my Ducia has more of it.:bighug:
Because you gave some HC gravy I would test in 30 min just to be sure you are aware of where Callie is heading. The HC wears of quickly but also gave some regular food with it which is good. You guys doing good!
:bighug:
 
Okay, so it looks like back to the .75 then? I don't know. Her numbers were so bad at that dose. Maybe I didn't give it enough time? Today looked so good till the 42.
Hmmm.. I am at the same crossroad with Ducia. I took the reduction but still woder if it was right:confused:.
One opinion is that below 50 warrants a reduction.
Another is that if Callie has history of ketones than you should get there 3 times before reducing.
It is better to re-write your Title with that concern, keep the ? prefix and wait for someone with good knowledge to weigh in.
 
LOL.
I think you can stop shacking right now. The 79 after a little food is beautiful number. Really. I wish my Ducia has more of it.:bighug:
Because you gave some HC gravy I would test in 30 min just to be sure you are aware of where Callie is heading. The HC wears of quickly but also gave some regular food with it which is good. You guys doing good!
:bighug:
Thanks, Tanya. I have read your experiences with Ducia, and honestly I don't know how you've done it, especially that first time when you were waiting for your husband to get home to take you in. My whole family was sweating it out with you.:nailbiting: And I was crying.

I will test again in 16 minutes. I don't know how to record the in-between numbers on the SS. I tried and it comes up some error.
 
Hmmm.. I am at the same crossroad with Ducia. I took the reduction but still woder if it was right:confused:.
One opinion is that below 50 warrants a reduction.
Another is that if Callie has history of ketones than you should get there 3 times before reducing.
It is better to re-write your Title with that concern, keep the ? prefix and wait for someone with good knowledge to weigh in.
Okay, I will do that after I test again. No ketones in her history.
 
I will test again in 16 minutes. I don't know how to record the in-between numbers on the SS. I tried and it comes up some error.
Just type in the same cell using comma as a separator. So, in the cell where the 42 currently sits alone put comma, then 79 @ 30 min later.
Delete 79 from the next cell.
 
Could someone look at Callie's SS, her recent reduction and increase, and then her 42 at +7 and see what you think? Keeping the 1U is really scary now, but the .75 gave her some bad numbers. Was it just new dose wonkiness, do you think? Any thoughts?
 
Just type in the same cell using comma as a separator. So, in the cell where the 42 currently sits alone put comma, then 79 @ 30 min later.
Delete 79 from the next cell.
Thank! I did that, but it is staying white rather than a color. Maybe I did it wrong. +8 is 187.
 
I just saw the SS update. Fantastic! :bighug: Because it is getting late in the cycle I think that being in upper 100 is OK. What did you feed to her?
The +7.5 reading should go into the same cell as the 42 is, not below. It is readable but will be messy for tomorrow. Just retype 79 @+7.5 in the same cell as 42 @+7.
Great job with the title. Someone will answer, I am sure.
:bighug:
 
I did that, but it is staying white rather than a color. Maybe I did it wrong
You did right!
Because there are two numbers now you have to color it yourself - there is an icon looks like bucket of paint, click on it and choose GREEN so the ppl who will look at it later will notice the 42 immediately. It is ok that the 79 in the same cell is actually a blue one. I would also change the letter color to white - easier to see than the black letters.
 
I just saw the SS update. Fantastic! :bighug: Because it is getting late in the cycle I think that being in upper 100 is OK. What did you feed to her?
The +7.5 reading should go into the same cell as the 42 is, not below. It is readable but will be messy for tomorrow. Just retype 79 @+7.5 in the same cell as 42 @+7.
Great job with the title. Someone will answer, I am sure.
:bighug:
Thanks so much for your help with the SS. I haven't been able to figure it out, and you explained it very clearly. The color still won't come up though?

I fed her Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, Chicken Hearts and Liver Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy. Sounds disgusting, but hey, it worked. The way she scarfed it down shows she wouldn't mind doing this everyday. Not me though!

I appreciate your help and your encouraging words. :bighug:
 
You can ease off the testing now, she is bouncing. For the SS, you have to manually use the paint tool to add the colour if you put more than a single number in the cell. Select the cell, then the paint tool and pick the colour from the drop down.

As for dose, you should try the reduction again. It's not unusual to have to seesaw between doses. With SLGS you reduce for any number below 90. The three drops method, which can also work for kitties that fail reductions, is a method only for those using Tight RegulTion.
 
The color still won't come up though?
It's okay; the number that concerns you is there - it is all what's needed
I fed her Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, Chicken Hearts and Liver Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy.
I am not familiar with the brand - are all of them MC?
I appreciate your help and your encouraging words
You very welcome!:bighug: I am glad I 've learnt enough to be useful :)
 
You did right!
Because there are two numbers now you have to color it yourself - there is an icon looks like bucket of paint, click on it and choose GREEN so the ppl who will look at it later will notice the 42 immediately. It is ok that the 79 in the same cell is actually a blue one. I would also change the letter color to white - easier to see than the black letters.
All right! Thank you! You are a good teacher!
 
It's okay; the number that concerns you is there - it is all what's needed

I am not familiar with the brand - are all of them MC?

You very welcome!:bighug: I am glad I 've learnt enough to be useful :)
The Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers are HC. The grilled ones are MC. I know with the grilled word in the name it's confusing, but with it being Gravy Lovers, it's the HC. I just grabbed the first can I could reach that said HC. I put an MC and HC in magic marker on all my cans in my hypo stockpile.

Well, you have learned enough to be very helpful, but what a hard way to learn, huh?!
 
You can ease off the testing now, she is bouncing. For the SS, you have to manually use the paint tool to add the colour if you put more than a single number in the cell. Select the cell, then the paint tool and pick the colour from the drop down.

As for dose, you should try the reduction again. It's not unusual to have to seesaw between doses. With SLGS you reduce for any number below 90. The three drops method, which can also work for kitties that fail reductions, is a method only for those using Tight RegulTion.
Thanks, Wendy! I will drop her to .75U tonight. So if her numbers do what they did with last reduction attempt, what should I do? How long should I hold the dose? I just reread the protocol, and it said to hold the dose a week. I only held the .75U 5 AMPS and 6 PMPS, but the numbers were so bad, I increased. Could just those few days have made a difference? I guess so because of this happening. Any ideas? And thanks for taking the time to advise.
 
LOL!

Some more LOL.

I didn't even know how to set the spreadsheet before Ducia's Dx. LOL. Look at me now, A TEACHER:D:D. LOL!

This Forum and my cat taught me A LOT in month!
:):bighug:
Yep, you're doing great! The school of hard knocks, huh?! And you were really a help and a blessing to me today so thanks! :D:):cat::bighug:
 
The Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers are HC. The grilled ones are MC.
That's explains the jump to 187 after only 2 teaspoons and some additional gravy. Very powerful stuff - I am making a note for the future.
In cases like today I give Ducia the gravy only immediately with my hands shaking but no more that 2 teaspoons. Then I add 2 teaspoons of her regular food, the LC pate with some more of the MC gravy. I don' give the actual MC or HC food itself, just the gravy. I should have been clearer on what to do to Callie but 187 closer to the end of the cycle is not bad. If you still had the shacking this number beat it to death, I hope. :)
 
That's explains the jump to 187 after only 2 teaspoons and some additional gravy. Very powerful stuff - I am making a note for the future.
In cases like today I give Ducia the gravy only immediately with my hands shaking but no more that 2 teaspoons. Then I add 2 teaspoons of her regular food, the LC pate with some more of the MC gravy. I don' give the actual MC or HC food itself, just the gravy. I should have been clearer on what to do to Callie but 187 closer to the end of the cycle is not bad. If you still had the shacking this number beat it to death, I hope. :)
Yes, the 187 stopped the shaking, the icy cold hands, the sick stomach, and the shaky, quavering voice. I was getting ready to go to the vet, rollers in the hair and all. And now I'm tired but really thankful. And all this time she has looked the same!:banghead: :facepalm: :cat:
 
Each cat is different in how they respond to carbs. Keep good notes when you feed higher carb, how much at what percent and at what time. It'll be a good reference in the future. I found with Neko that 16-17% was high enough carbs. Some people need to feed 25%+ carbs.
I just reread the protocol, and it said to hold the dose a week. I only held the .75U 5 AMPS and 6 PMPS, but the numbers were so bad, I increased. Could just those few days have made a difference? I guess so because of this happening. Any ideas? And thanks for taking the time to advise.
The SLGS method (it's not a protocol) says to hold for a week after a reduction, but you test enough you could do TR. Which also means it gives us a good enough picture of how she's doing after a reduction. I think you were OK increasing a little bit sooner. It wouldn't have made a difference holding the dose a little longer. Like I said, it's quite common to see cats toggle between two doses.
 
Each cat is different in how they respond to carbs. Keep good notes when you feed higher carb, how much at what percent and at what time. It'll be a good reference in the future. I found with Neko that 16-17% was high enough carbs. Some people need to feed 25%+ carbs.

The SLGS method (it's not a protocol) says to hold for a week after a reduction, but you test enough you could do TR. Which also means it gives us a good enough picture of how she's doing after a reduction. I think you were OK increasing a little bit sooner. It wouldn't have made a difference holding the dose a little longer. Like I said, it's quite common to see cats toggle between two doses.
Okay, thanks! Method then. I am embarrassed to say I don't know the difference. :confused::)

I don't think I have the intestinal fortitude for TR. If I knew for sure it would guarantee remission, I would do it, but without that, I don't think I can.

She seems to be sensitive to carbs. Next time that happens, I'll try MC rather than HC. I'm just happy I didn't use the corn syrup I had out and opened. I'll record the food on the SS.

Thanks for reassuring me that it was understandable to do the increase. I was feeling bad about not waiting a bit.

I want no toggling. LOL Like that's going to help, huh?! :bighug:
 
I see Callie is keeping you on your toes. I agree with Wendy that you should take the reduction. You did a good job handling things.
 
I see Callie is keeping you on your toes. I agree with Wendy that you should take the reduction. You did a good job handling things.
Thanks! I appreciate the help and the support. Yep, just drew up the .75U while she eats. Yes, she is keeping me on my toes. :confused:And her PMPS was just 494. :eek: Wow, just wow! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top