4/10 boo AMPS 4.1; delayed an hour (4.6/83) [edit]

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheNewTeddy

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

74

Vidya and I have to be out and this is by far his lowest preshot number, and neither of us are too comfortable shooting at this number, so we are going to hold off and hope for the best nailbite_smile PM shot should be no problem.

If we could be here to test reliably, we would, but without testing, we are not comfortable.
 
Re: 4/10 boo AMPS 4.1 (74) no shot

Aaaaand, change of plans. I'll be able to be at home all day today after all, and his 10am (his usual '+1') reading, pre-feeding, was 4.6 (83 US), so we decided to delay and shoot at 10am (1.5u, his newly reduced dosage as of last night's PM shot).

We'd certainly welcome any feedback based on our spreadsheet numbers and trends, re: at what low PS numbers have others felt comfortable shooting, in light of Boo's patterns of response so far. (I know that some people do shoot at or around 50 / 5.5.)
 
Re: 4/10 boo AMPS 4.1 (74) no shot

If you have shot an hour late, your PM shot should be 12 hours from when you shot. You can move your shot time in 15 min. increments at each shot or 30 min. once a day. Since Boo is running in lower numbers, I'd encourage you to use the 15 min. adjustment option. The reason for this is that an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose decrease.

Most people work their way down to shooting low. Initially, we recommend that for someone who's new, you don't shoot numbers lower than 150 and then work down from there. Most experienced Lantus users will shoot above 50. We do not recommend shooting below 50 with certain rather notable exceptions (e.g., a cat with a late nadir). It takes a while to get comfortable shooting low numbers. You also need some experience with knowing how to steer the curve with food so you have the confidence to manage the numbers should your cat end up in low numbers.

A housekeeping note: Could you change your subject line to reflect what you did (i.e., remove the "no shot." You will need to edit your first post in this thread.
 
Re: 4/10 boo AMPS 4.1; delayed until +1 (4.6/83) [edit]

Hi guys .. nice shooting today! Glad you will be home and able to get spot checks .. I hope it's a day filled with green numbers! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/10 boo AMPS 4.1; delayed until +1 (4.6/83) [edit]

Great job on managing the delay this morning.

Couple of things:

*Row 2 of your spreadsheet would be inaccurate now because you shot an hour later. This is why we generally don't have a row with clock times in it. Inevitably you encounter a situation such as this one where you have to delay the injection.
My workaround for this would be to take out row 2 with the clock times and instead insert a comment (right click the cell and then choose "Insert Comment" from the drop down) and make a notation on your spreadsheet that way.

*The 74 (4.1) you have in the AMPS cell of the spreadsheet would get backed up to the +11 cell of the previous day with a notation that it was done at +12. AMPS stands for AM Pre-Shot number and since you shot at +1, the +1 number would become your new AMPS number for today.

I follow this practice on Cini's spreadsheet if you are looking for an example.

When you do decide you are ready, willing and able, to shoot a number you haven't encountered previously, make sure to get a +1 and a +2 reading to ensure Boo is headed in the right direction. The +2 is a good indicator of how the day will go for you since the insulin should be taking affect by then.

It is exciting and scary at the same time to see those lower numbers, especially at shot time. I had a threshold of 150 for a while, then I dropped it to 100, then to 70, and now I shot a 58 a few days back on 3/21 :-D

Good luck !
 
Re: 4/10 boo AMPS 4.1; delayed until +1 (4.6/83) [edit]

Oh, good point about the times/numbers. For now, I've just adjusted today's spreadsheet entries according to post-shot hours, rather than clock times. I'll ask TheNewTeddy to have a look at the spreadsheet when he gets home.

Thanks for all the support, folks!
 
PMPS: 5.3 (95 US), after 24 hours on his newly reduced dosage. :smile:
But tonight's shot was another partial fur-shot. :sad:
(Note to self: make sure he's *really* engrossed in eating before shooting, 'cause he's totally on to you now.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top