? 4/10 Binie AMPS 247, + 8 78, earned a reduction?

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-9-binie-amps-427-3-384-6-360-9-305-pmps-240.288609/

Good afternoon,

I had a very stressful day so far. Today I was supposed to go on a teamevent at work in another town so I was a little nervous to leave Binie alone. When I woke up I realized, that the bg was still going down even though it was shottime. At shot time it was 220 but still going down. So I feeded her and waited for 40 minutes. The bg was going further down (to 180) but then up again. When it was at 247 I decided to shoot the full dose and stay home. Thank god my boss was quite nice and so I worked the day from home while my collegues walked through nature.

Everything went quite relaxed until Binie startet dropping at +8. I tried not to intervene before she reached 89 but then I started to feed her something with higher carbs. She dropped further until she reached 78. It is an hour later now and she is at 125 now. I hope she will not start to go too much down again. I know many of you handle lower numbers than that but it scared the hell out of me. I am also wearing a libre at the moment myself and the bg shoot up while Binies was going down. Did I do a mistake in the morning to shoot the full dose? Many times I was to careful but maybe today I risked too much?

Shall I reduce the dose tonight to 2,5 IE?

Hope you all have a relaxed and calm day! :bighug:
 
Was that reading of 78 @+8 with the hand held meter?
Even if it the 78 BG was with the Libre following SLGS anytime the BG drops under 90 you reduce by 0.25 units
Let's see what others have to say :cat:
Can you add when Heike was diagnosed to your signature also please
@Heike & BInie
 
Last edited:
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-9-binie-amps-427-3-384-6-360-9-305-pmps-240.288609/

Good afternoon,

I had a very stressful day so far. Today I was supposed to go on a teamevent at work in another town so I was a little nervous to leave Binie alone. When I woke up I realized, that the bg was still going down even though it was shottime. At shot time it was 220 but still going down. So I feeded her and waited for 40 minutes. The bg was going further down (to 180) but then up again. When it was at 247 I decided to shoot the full dose and stay home. Thank god my boss was quite nice and so I worked the day from home while my collegues walked through nature.

Everything went quite relaxed until Binie startet dropping at +8. I tried not to intervene before she reached 89 but then I started to feed her something with higher carbs. She dropped further until she reached 78. It is an hour later now and she is at 125 now. I hope she will not start to go too much down again. I know many of you handle lower numbers than that but it scared the hell out of me. I am also wearing a libre at the moment myself and the bg shoot up while Binies was going down. Did I do a mistake in the morning to shoot the full dose? Many times I was to careful but maybe today I risked too much?

Shall I reduce the dose tonight to 2,5 IE?

Hope you all have a relaxed and calm day! :bighug:
@Bandit's Mom
@Angela & Cleo
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Was that reading of 78 @+8 with the hand held meter?
Even if it the 78 BG was with the Libre following SLGS anytime the BG drops under 90 you reduce by 0.25 units
Let's see what others have to say :cat:
Can you add when Heike was diagnosed to your signature also please
@Heike & BInie

Thank you Diane! 78 was on the Libre, so maybe on the handheld it was higher. I will add the date of the diagnose later!
 
When every you get lower numbers on the Libre, it is good to double check with the hand held meter. I seem to remember yours has been fairly close, but not sure how much low number testing you have done with Binie. A number below 90 does earn a reduction, hopefully that was also below 90 on the handheld.

Did I do a mistake in the morning to shoot the full dose? Many times I was to careful but maybe today I risked too much?
No, you were fine to shoot. 78 is a very safe number still. You want her to spend more time in normal BG numbers, so her body gets used to lower numbers and the pancreas starts to heal. You shot a lower number last night and she was also fine last night.
 
It’s best to get an ear prick when the Libre reads under 80. Would you test with an ear prick now? That 78 looks out of place.

Sorry... I had a work meeting and couldn't anwer. She bounced after the 78 and now is back to 327 on the libre. When she went so low I saw her going down over an hour on the libre. It was fast but I didn't intervene because I wanted to know if she goes under 90. I should have measured on the handheld but because she went down so fast after crossing 90 but I concentrated on feeding her. I was a bit overwhelmed because I thought I could stop the drop easier. My experience is that in the higher ranges the handheld is lower and in the normal or lower ranges the libre is lower. So maybe 78 was not a 90 on the handheld.
 
When every you get lower numbers on the Libre, it is good to double check with the hand held meter. I seem to remember yours has been fairly close, but not sure how much low number testing you have done with Binie. A number below 90 does earn a reduction, hopefully that was also below 90 on the handheld.


No, you were fine to shoot. 78 is a very safe number still. You want her to spend more time in normal BG numbers, so her body gets used to lower numbers and the pancreas starts to heal. You shot a lower number last night and she was also fine last night.

I don't have much experience with numbers so low so there was not much opportunity to double test. But I will for sure the next time. So a reduction should only be made on the basis of the handheld, right?
 
Update: Maybe because I am such a scaredy cat I shoot a reduced dose with 2,5 IE tonight, even though I can not be sure, that it was also 78 on a handheld meter. I understand that 78 is still safe but I wonder what happens if I am not at home and can not stop the drop with high carb stuff. Tomorrow, unfortunately I have appointments I can not do from home but I have to leave the house. I know many people here are working and doing even TR. But hopefully I get cooler with experience. Thank you so much for your help!
 
Back
Top