4/10 Bananas PMPS 186 +1 191 +3 93 +5 143 +7 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nanaskitty

Member Since 2015
Good morning! I reduced her dose to .25 last night to get some insulin in her. I was able the get a couple of PM tests and she was holding steady in the 200's with the reduced dose, but we had a busy day yesterday. She was panicky last night and this am because she thinks she is going to go to the vets again, which is normal for her the day or two after going. Made a call to a new vet this am and have an appt. for Monday evening. All cat specialty, so no worries about dogs upsetting her. This vet actually has a link to the feline diabetes website, which lead me to this forum, which was encouraging! Gave her the .5 unit dose this morning since we were back up. Have a great day!
 
The new vet sounds enouraging. I hope it works out. I hope Bananas settles down. Poor kitty thinking she's going to the vet again.
 
Sounds like a great possibility for a new vet! :cat: :cat:

You do need to get used to giving a consistent dose though. Every time you change the dose or skip, the shed tries to rebalance and you are back to square one on the 6 cycle adjustment period. You probably won't see the full effect of a dose until that is over.
 
I know... I gave the .25 last night because she was over 200, but since she had gone under 200 every other night to be honest, I was completely afraid of how she would react in the night now that we do not have a vet until the new appt. on Monday. The closest emergency vet is about 45 min - 1hour away from where we live. I knew I should of checked here first before giving her that last night. I will be sure not to shoot tonight until checking in and will ask for help. thank you!
 
Sounds very promising on the new vet!!

Looks like Banana's broke the bounce pretty quickly today too! I know you're new, so here's a short explanation on bounces...When our kitties are first diagnosed, they've been diabetic for awhile, so their body has gotten used to living at higher numbers. When the insulin brings them down too low, brings them down too fast (like 150 points in 2 hours) or even into "normal" numbers, the liver reacts by releasing stored sugar and hormones to bring them back up...they "bounce"...It looks like when Banana's got down into the 50's yesterday, that's what happened...he bounced into the 300's by this morning. USUALLY it takes up to 3 days for bounces to "break", but he looks like he already broke it!

Don't be surprised if he goes back high again, but just keep shooting the same .5 dose unless he drops below 50. The good news is that it looks like he may not have been diabetic long since he did clear that bounce so quickly, so he may be one of the lucky ones that goes into remission fairly quickly too and can be diet controlled

I'd also plan on getting a +11 today (unless he bounces again soon and it's obvious he's going to be over 200 tonight). That way we'll know if he's still climbing at PMPS time and can advise you better on what to do tonight.

If you haven't tested again since the 63, I'd test again soon...he may still be dropping and we don't want him to go under 50.
 
Tested again at +6.5 and she had gone up to 64, but she did get up and have some food and now she is watching SpongeBob! Too funny!
 
The new vet sounds soooooo much better....I hope it's a good fit once you actually meet her. How cute that Bananas is watching SpongeBob :joyful:!!!
 
PMPS 186. She ate a 1/4 can FF at 7:30 pm. Should I shoot .25 like last night or stick with .50? Thanks!
 
i would go the .5 but bear in mind you may need to get a few more tests in than you have been of a night time starting with a +2. I'm not sure what your situation is, is that possible? It may not turn it to be necessary because she may be headed into a bounce but you do need to be prepared - plenty of strips, some HC wet food and/or syrup, the ability to stay awake or snooze and get up with the alarm
 
Good job shooting that 186. :cool: In this forum, we suggest that it's OK to shoot. Under 150, don't feed and post for help. Generally when you shoot a lower number, the entire cycle flattens out and it allows Lantus to do what it does best. Paws crossed for a beautiful cycle.
 
Sorry, forgot to take the ? Off before trying to get a bit of sleep! She has been up and down all night, but not low low. I'm not sure how much of that .5 she got in her. I gave her the shot and she took off, which she has never done and I'm sure some ended up on her fur. She must of got some though. I can't update her ss on this iPad for some reason, so will update it when I actually "wake up". It is currently 3:00 am here. Thanks for keeping an eye on me and I do apologize for forgetting that ? Sign.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top