4/10 Atlas AMPS 39, +1 133, +3 239 Vet called

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
I just want to post a brief update about Atlas.

He was at 39 this morning, not eating, and very grumpy. We did not shoot. He has had tsp. of karo to keep his numbers up.

I had to do morning rounds and when I came home he had been sneezing blood.

He was immediately taken to the vet. He is currently undergoing light sedation for get an X-ray of his sinus cavity. The vet is suspecting a nasal tumor, but we've been wanting a dental this spring and it may be an abcess has ruptured into the sinus cavity.

I'll know more later.
 
Re: 4/10 Atlas AMPS 39, +1 133, +3 239 Nosebleed at Vet

Beth:

Sending prayers and healing vines for Attie. Please let us know.
 
Re: 4/10 Atlas AMPS 39, +1 133, +3 239 Nosebleed at Vet

i've been wondering too. last i heard you had decided to hold the dose to see if that would stop his bouncing.

sending good vibes to attie! let us know. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/10 Atlas AMPS 39, +1 133, +3 239 Nosebleed at Vet

Vet called!

Good news....

no nasal tumor
no root or teeth issue
not high blood pressure

Bad news....

Lots of testing now needs to be done because we have no idea what is causing it...
 
could he have scratched it?

not to be irreverent when you're trying to figure it out - but attie, is you a nose-picker?

just trying to give you a smile, beth. that's all good news. maybe it was just a random occurrence! that would be the best!
 
Hi Beth,
I'm glad it's "none of the above". Perhaps it's the dry air? Maybe a sinus infection? Sending healing vines to Attie and hoping that whatever is is, it will just go away!

Ella & Rusty
 
Oh Beth! Thinking of you and Attie. Great news on the nasal passage. Hopefully they will figure out what it is quick. Healing vines to Attie and a huge hug to you!
 
Well, I picked up my groggy boy and he is a bit restless and wobbly.

We sent our swabs from the nasal caveties that they got while he was under, plus we are running the clotting factors panal as well.

I saw the x-ray and had it explained to be that there is no visible tumor or bone destruction apparent that would indicate cancer. So he does not see a reason to pursue this.

So the last biggie to rule out is a clotting disorder?

Since we've been fighting this since November, yes the vet does think this is related to last November's serious respiratory 'bout, he was happy I said yes to the nasal swabs tests. Expensive, but our most likely way to figure out the 'what next' step.

He did get a shot of convenia...not happy about that, but what is done is done in that regard.

Now...if I can get him to eat...
 
Great news from the vet.

FWIW, my sister's cat had a couple of nose bleeds. She did similar work-ups with the exception of swabs and tests for clotting factors but i don't think her vet recommended those. What they did suggest and what did seem to help was a humidifier. I believe they concluded that his nasal passages were getting too dry and when he sneezed, he would get a nose bleed.
 
So glad to hear no nasal tumor. I had a cat years ago and it was a root issue.

Sending healing vines and white light for it to just be a dry sinus issue.
 
Healing Vines sent to Atlas for his poor Nosie!! My house is very dry but I am the one who suffers with allergies & dryness...Humidifier would maybe help..Hope he feels better & the nosebleeds stop!
Hugs from us!
 
Beth, that's wonderful news from the vet.
I too, was wondering if it's dry air, as I get spontaneous nosebleeds in winter.. My doc said to lightly coat inside my nose with Vaseline, or run a humidifier.
I hope that's all it is, for Attie, and is an isolated incident.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Great news from the vet.

FWIW, my sister's cat had a couple of nose bleeds. She did similar work-ups with the exception of swabs and tests for clotting factors but i don't think her vet recommended those. What they did suggest and what did seem to help was a humidifier. I believe they concluded that his nasal passages were getting too dry and when he sneezed, he would get a nose bleed.

Thanks for the tips. We have an Aprilaire humidifier attached to the furnace. Plus it has been very soggy here lately.

I feel so bad for him this evening. He is snuggled in his box and is just resting the day off.
 
Sending feel better real soon vines to Attie. Rest well tonight, and feel better tomorrow.
 
Overall good news! I also wonder if it could just be dryness, or a small burst blood vessel from the high pressure of the sneeze. When my Frankie was younger, she sneezed blood a few times, too, but she does have some sinus damage from a herpes infection.

Resting is good...feel better, Attie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top