Laura and Harley (GA)
Member Since 2011
Just wanted to say hi and let you all know we are so glad to be here at last, for awhile I wasn't sure we would. We switched from ProZinc tonight with Harley's PM shot and I'll try to get some spot checks in to see how he's doing. His starting dose is 0.5u.
The short story so far...Harley was Dx'd in February 2009 and we were on Vetsulin until July 2009 at 1u bid. Fortunately I'd switched him to low-cab wet Fancy Feast classics, but unfortunately I had not found this site and was not home testing so I was dependent on my vet to tell me now he was doing. When we went OTJ Harley was very well regulated according to his fructosamine tests (perhaps TOO well regulated as those don't take into consideration close hypo calls). He was Re-Dx'd in January of this year and we started ProZinc at 1u bid. I shot blindly for about a month until I found FDMB and got my Newbie kit thanks to Lori & Tom. (((God Bless you both!) My first test was a PMPS at 89. Needless to say I skipped the shot and called my vet to tell her 1u was WAY too high. From there we were happily micro-dosing for about a month, even shotting TID, trying to see if Harley could go OTJ. But Harley developed pancreatitis and for the last 4 weeks or so that has been our number one health priority. His spec-fPL at Dx on 3/16/11 was 20 and right after a real bad flare last week it was up to 40. He's showing signs of feeling better but is not out of the woods yet. He's still on prednisolone 2.5 mg bid, Anzemet 0.12 ml sid, 100cc SubQ fluids sid, and buprenex prn as needed for pain.
My vet and I consider the switch to Levemir as also part of the treatment for healing his pancreas because while on ProZinc he would drop hard and fast +2-4 and mostly be on the way back up by +6-7. As a result, he would demand food as though he were experiencing a hypo event and eat frantically in an effort to raise his BGs which we believe may possibly have put too much stress on the pancreas.
Just so everyone knows, I've changed his food from uber low-cabs to some of the higher cab, lower fat foods from Janet & Binkys charts. I view the pancreatitis as his number one health condition and the diabetes secondary. I'd love to see him as well regulated as he was on ProZinc but if that is not to be, I at least want him to be as pain-free as possible. As anyone who has ever dealt with acute or chronic pancreatitis attacks knows, it can be agonizing.
Thank you to everyone who contributed to the clear, concise, well organized stickies and newbie information. I read and re-read it and think my head understands what it is we're trying to accomplish with Lev. I may need you all to cover my itchy trigger finger with a mitten though.
Purrs and scritches!
The short story so far...Harley was Dx'd in February 2009 and we were on Vetsulin until July 2009 at 1u bid. Fortunately I'd switched him to low-cab wet Fancy Feast classics, but unfortunately I had not found this site and was not home testing so I was dependent on my vet to tell me now he was doing. When we went OTJ Harley was very well regulated according to his fructosamine tests (perhaps TOO well regulated as those don't take into consideration close hypo calls). He was Re-Dx'd in January of this year and we started ProZinc at 1u bid. I shot blindly for about a month until I found FDMB and got my Newbie kit thanks to Lori & Tom. (((God Bless you both!) My first test was a PMPS at 89. Needless to say I skipped the shot and called my vet to tell her 1u was WAY too high. From there we were happily micro-dosing for about a month, even shotting TID, trying to see if Harley could go OTJ. But Harley developed pancreatitis and for the last 4 weeks or so that has been our number one health priority. His spec-fPL at Dx on 3/16/11 was 20 and right after a real bad flare last week it was up to 40. He's showing signs of feeling better but is not out of the woods yet. He's still on prednisolone 2.5 mg bid, Anzemet 0.12 ml sid, 100cc SubQ fluids sid, and buprenex prn as needed for pain.
My vet and I consider the switch to Levemir as also part of the treatment for healing his pancreas because while on ProZinc he would drop hard and fast +2-4 and mostly be on the way back up by +6-7. As a result, he would demand food as though he were experiencing a hypo event and eat frantically in an effort to raise his BGs which we believe may possibly have put too much stress on the pancreas.
Just so everyone knows, I've changed his food from uber low-cabs to some of the higher cab, lower fat foods from Janet & Binkys charts. I view the pancreatitis as his number one health condition and the diabetes secondary. I'd love to see him as well regulated as he was on ProZinc but if that is not to be, I at least want him to be as pain-free as possible. As anyone who has ever dealt with acute or chronic pancreatitis attacks knows, it can be agonizing.
Thank you to everyone who contributed to the clear, concise, well organized stickies and newbie information. I read and re-read it and think my head understands what it is we're trying to accomplish with Lev. I may need you all to cover my itchy trigger finger with a mitten though.
Purrs and scritches!