4/1 Rupert PMPS 109,+1 73,+2 73,+3.5 75,+5 95,+8 279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67619

yestedays big fat bouncy numbers:

AMPS 451.8
+4 426.6
+5.5 495
+7.5 529.2
PMPS 507.6
+3 385.2
+4 329.4

looks like he may have surfed a bit of yellow tonight and up to pink again this morning. better than the red from yesterday so perhaps the bounce is clearing.

WCR: BEBT, ate half his breakfast and has gone outside for a bit. Clear eyes, energetic, hungry and sleek looking.

I'm going btb for a little longer before we have to get ready to go to the horse show. Hope everyone has a great Sunday.
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert AMPS 334,+3 163

Morning Pip!

Nice to see Rupie clearing his bounce but he doesn't have to be so dramatic about it does he? ;-) I'm never one to argue with going btb but it would have been interesting to see that old, reliable +2 to give a hint of things to come today. Will you or DH be able to monitor him a little more before you leave to make sure he is coming back up and not still dropping?

Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert AMPS 334,+3 163

Rupert has just had his mid morning snack... will test just as we leave, if any concerns DH will stay at home and take care of him.Rupert looks 'mighty fine' today, giving me that King of the World attitude!..

I won't be gone long, back by 12:30 (so we'll test at +4 and be back by +6.5). Agree re getting that +2 but I was in the barn doing braids in my horses mane at that point! only a short btb for me this morning!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert AMPS 334,+3 163

update? That's a pretty big drop at +3.

For what it's worth, I read through yesterday's discussion of shooting through the bounce. That's a good technique for bouncy kitties, but normally we would only keep the higher dose for one cycle or maybe two, unless your data shows that your cat will bounce for days. You want to be sure you take the reduction before the bounce clears out, otherwise you could be stuck with low numbers on a dose that is too much.

Today's 300s AMPS was significantly lower than yesterday's, which is a clue that the bounce was clearing. I would have taken the reduction to 2.25 this morning. Since you didn't, then you'll want to stay on top of the numbers today in case he keeps dropping low.
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert AMPS 334,+3 163

Rupie having a nice surf in the blue today! whee...hoping the crash dive to get to that level won't make him bounce too high tonight! Maybe he's been taking lessons from DH who works repairing submarines!

Horse show was okay, my horse a bit,.. well a COMPLETE twit in his first test but got it together in the second one. Guess not too bad for first show of the season although really beginning to think I'm getting too old for all this excitement!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert AMPS 334,+3 163,+4 124,+7 149

nice numbers here!!

are there pics of the horse show?? hint...hint :-D
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert AMPS 334,+3 163,+4 124,+7 149

:lol: luckily, as far as I know, there will be no photographic evidence!!!!! not this time. maybe later in the season when horsie manages to keep all four hooves on the ground!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert AMPS 334,+3 163,+4 124,+7 149

We definitely need some horse pictures! Celi, how is your baby doing? Woohoo, Rupert! You are going to need some board shorts. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +3 163,+4 124,+7 149,+11 83!!!?? Ideas??

I decided to get a +11. Glad I did! big FAT GREEN NUMBER. Could be another long evening I'm thinking??? Hope someone is around for my PMPS might need some advice! He's had a few bits of raw steak for his 'pokie treat' but that's it. Will not feed him and hope we get a rising number by PMPS... might be looking at a stall???? thoughts everyone?!!!! Am thinking this might be a BOS time???? and am also thinking he's gonna bounce from the rapid dive this morning??? (AMPS 334, +3 163 = 57 pts. an hour?)

I can also stall tonights dose up till about +15 if necessary since I don't have to leave for work till +3 past his usual dose time in the morning, guess we'll see what number I get in 45 mins!

or, I could give him the slight reduction that he earned a couple of nights ago before the monster bounce??
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +3 163,+4 124,+7 149,+11 83!!!?? Ideas??

Pip & Rupert said:
or, I could give him the slight reduction that he earned a couple of nights ago before the monster bounce??

Libby and Lucy said:
update? That's a pretty big drop at +3.

For what it's worth, I read through yesterday's discussion of shooting through the bounce. That's a good technique for bouncy kitties, but normally we would only keep the higher dose for one cycle or maybe two, unless your data shows that your cat will bounce for days. You want to be sure you take the reduction before the bounce clears out, otherwise you could be stuck with low numbers on a dose that is too much.

Today's 300s AMPS was significantly lower than yesterday's, which is a clue that the bounce was clearing. I would have taken the reduction to 2.25 this morning. Since you didn't, then you'll want to stay on top of the numbers today in case he keeps dropping low.

I think it is wonderful Libby stopped by and offered this solid advice earlier in your condo.

Anytime I had to consider shooting a lower number than in the past, I tried to make sure I was shooting into a rising number (especially if green). You could try for a +11.75. Hopefully others will offer you suggestions as your shot time comes around.
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +3 163,+4 124,+7 149,+11 83!!!???? Ideas??

You might want confirmation from other, wiser folks than I...but what I interpret Libby's post to say is to give him the reduction this next shot :mrgreen:

Of course, Rupert...you need to be surfing or rising, buddy!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +3 163,+4 124,+7 149,+11 83!!!???? Ideas??

ok so PMPS is 86, not really 'rising'. I think I am going to stall for 30 mins and see what we have then.. I know, I"m a chicken, but I haven't shot this low so would like to make sure it's a real rising number. He still hasn't had any dinner (no one has and they are mighty miffed!) Will do the 2.25....when the time comes!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, PMPS 86, stalling a little

how about just 15 minutes instead of 30? If you wait too long, sometimes they start to drop again (because they don't get fed!). You have shot 129 before so this isn't much lower.
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, PMPS 86, stalling a little

ok, testing in 5 more mins. Very annoyed kitties in the house right now! Rupert looks fine of course. He's up on the back of the couch sizing up the birds outside in case he never gets any supper!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109

okay got a 109, rising number, no food influence. Shot the reduced 2.25 (awww, sniff! Rupies first reducie!!). He's eaten about half a tin of Friskies/SurfNTurf mix. Will feed at +1 and +2 to try and prevent a dive.. or even a mondo bounce. Will see how the evening goes! egads. could be a fun one. Just when I think I have his patterns figured out.. bazinga he does this. Not complaining, much nicer than those reds and blacks from just a few weeks back. Hoping not to see a massive red/pink number tomorrow morning again. Time will tell!

His little ears are a little sore, not bleeding quite as easily as they have been. Polysporined them, that helps, but it's a lot of pokes, He's so very good about it really, just a low growl this evening when I tested him three times over an hour period!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109

nice shooting!

Please get a +1 and +2 to see which way he is going (sorry, Rupert!).
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

+1 and a 73 (!)... feeding a little bit of FF turkey and gravy....he seems fine, sucking it back after staring at it somewhat indignantly...because he'd just had his ear poked yet again cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

you could try some low carb food to see if that gets him surfing. I usually save the high carb for later, if he doesn't bump up and surf.
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

oops, once again I may have gone for the HC food a little early? he didn't have too much of it and I added water to it to make it more mushy. I'd really like him to surf blue for a while rather than green.. although I'm NOT complaining! I just figure from the 'bounce perspective' his body might not freak so quickly or so much if he hovered in the mid blues for a while rather than heading straight for the grand prize?!! will test again at +2...I'm camped on the couch with Rupert, catching up on a lot of shows that I have on the PVR (yay!). and just about to watch tonights episode of Once Upon a time......
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

Go Rupie, on his first reduction he wants to celebrate with a pj party - luckily I'm still in mine then :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

is it really his first reduction?

CONGRATULATIONS, RUPERT!!!!!!!!!!!!

AND NICE SHOOTING, PIP!!!!!!

now let's hope he just waltzes his way down the dosing scale to you-know-where! (anti-jinx)

\M/ \M/
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

tee hee, I'm just about to get in my jim jams too! Have a nice blankie on the couch (didn't start woodstove tonight, we are just about out of wood, grrr!).

This is all so exciting, and exhausting. Serryn I don't know how you do it! But its so nice to finally see some 'action' for Rupert and I"m hoping that this is all pointing him in the right direction and that his pancreas really is getting a rest and a chance to recover. Fingers crossed. Course I"m sure I'll be down in the dumps tomorrow when he flings a red number at me AMPS!

Given how Rupert (and other cats I'm sure) can react so very quickly to a certain dose, and so quickly need a decrease...what I don't get is how on EARTH vets can send people home with a 'set' dose for their cats and not even suggest home monitoring (mine DID suggest home monitoring so I"m not suggesting she was bad)... we have friends who's cat has been diabetic for 5 years. They give one shot a day, don't home test and take her to the vet once every couple of months or so to see how she's doing. She's doing just fine, it seems, but one wonders if she could possibly have gone OFF the insulin ages ago and they just didn't know it. AND they've had about 5 separate hypo incidents. Just seems amazing to me that you could shoot this hormone into the cat without any supporting data. I"m sure it all works for lots of people. Despite the level of effort involved in the tight regulation protocol, I can't imagine how stressed I'd be if I was NOT following it. The possibility of a cat hypo-ing seems so huge. I gather, from reading, that lantus is one of the best insulins for NOT causing a lot of hypo's and it's very very interesting to see how the cats bodies can take care of themselves (do humans have that same ability to bounce??). Sorry, rambling, just find it all so intriguing and interesting and tiring and stressful and exciting...... I'll shut up now! think I'll go pour myself a nice martini! Hubby will make me an espresso later if I have to stay up!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

tee hee, I'm just about to get in my jim jams too!

I never got out of my boxer shorts and tank top today :lol:
Bins and I just decided to be slobs today...even out in the yard :shock:
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

Pip & Rupert said:
oops, once again I may have gone for the HC food a little early? he didn't have too much of it and I added water to it to make it more mushy. I'd really like him to surf blue for a while rather than green.. although I'm NOT complaining! I just figure from the 'bounce perspective' his body might not freak so quickly or so much if he hovered in the mid blues for a while rather than heading straight for the grand prize?!! will test again at +2...I'm camped on the couch with Rupert, catching up on a lot of shows that I have on the PVR (yay!). and just about to watch tonights episode of Once Upon a time......
Over the years, we have found that the best way to get cats to stop bouncing is to let them bounce. Keep showing them the low numbers over and over again until one day the liver realizes "hey, maybe this number is actually normal" and stops overreacting. Bouncing is a normal part of the process. Rupert's bounces are really only lasting a couple of cycles, which is very good at this point.

See you at +2!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: BUSTED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Binks is his usually dapper self...
I admit...I"M the only slob round here :lol:
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73,+2 73

nice. :smile:

How about a +3, just to be sure he's staying on the surfboard?
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert +11 83, +12, 86, PMPS 109,+1 73,+2 73

no worries, there will be a +3 and a+4, and most likely a +5 given that he can do some really interesting swoops at all points in the curve!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert PMPS 109,+1 73,+2 73,+3.5 75

+3.5 and he's still surfing at 75. Would've got a +3 but he decided to go down to the barn with DH to feed the horses and was zooming about in the yard, and then sitting on the patio table refusing to come in. I am assuming he's feeling just fine! Of course, it means I'm up for at least another hour or two!
 
Re: 4/1 Rupert PMPS 109,+1 73,+2 73,+3.5 75,+5 95

+5 and 95. Could be the beginning of a bounce? he had a bit of a snack at about +4.5 so could be a bit of a food spike too. He has been sitting outside on the cushion on the patio table, listening to the loud frogs. Very bright, alert, happy (well, annoyed cos I stuck him yet again?!!!). Have forced him to come inside now and he's installed in the primo spot on the couch preening and cleaning. I will try to get up at about +8 for 'data research' but not sure I'll make it, DH might be up for it!. Feel okay going to bed now for a bit, now that he's on the rise.

Been a wicked fun surf for him today, best day ever I think?! hopefully the beginning of a pattern. I will try not to be too disappointed if I see a big number tomorrow but am hoping that despite the fairly rapid decent this morning the fact that he surfed for so long, so easily, maybe his body is beginning to clue in?

have a good night everyone!!
 
+8 and KERBOING again to 279. good grief! not sure what this tells me, either bounce, or he runs out of insulin. I'm too sleepy to think about. but at least can safely go btb till morning! ttyl.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top