4/1 RosyPMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72/+8 50/+10 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67562
Rosy stayed in the red & purple zone yesterday which made me worry about her condition. Other than noticing her take some some from bowl, nothing much different. Ever since she was switched to have canned food with lots of water added, I seldom see her going to the water bowl other than times when she's on those high figures. I think that's a good sign.

AMPS 495 What an alarming figure! Gave her the canned food & 1u

:?: Do I need to increase the dose from 1u back to 1.25?
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495 Need increase dose??

Patience pants for you Helen, Miss Rosy looks like she is still bouncing from those blues on 30/03 AM cycle and we don't increase in a bounce as there is the risk Rosy will finish the bounce and go too low with extra insulin. Lets leave her for a little longer to see how low she goes when she finishes the bounce. Don't forget she had green at this dose on 28/03 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495 Need dose increase?

Thankou Serryn for the advice!
I know the need to have more patience with these curves but staring at those figures are just eating my heart out :shock:

Happy April fools day to all! Have fun with your loved ones!
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495 Need dose increase?

i think serryn's right. i was looking at the greens on the 28th and thinking she was bouncing from that, but she could be bouncing from the blues on the 30th also. i think if you don't see some lower numbers after the next shot, though, i'd go back up. can you try to hit in between the 1.0 and the 1.25 on the next dose change, helen? maybe that will be the sweet spot for miss rosy.
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495/ +5 292 That's better!

Thanks Julie. You're righ about that. Rosy's papa obviously got more patience than me. He said we should give her a bit more time to settle with the 1u dosage before making change ( more patience because he's not staying home 24x7 with them?) Okay, the man rules ; this time.

Rosy seems to understand her papa? AM +5 292; that's beter Rosy!
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495/ +5 292/+9 371

I have no advice to give you with regards to dosing. However, I have also noticed that when you add some water (I add 2 tsps. with her meals, and more with her raw snack), mine doesn't go to the water bowl nearly as often, either. Adding water to meals DOES help. :) Hoping for a day of lower numbers for you. Have a good day. :)
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495/ +5 292/+9 371PMPS 351

Thanks Angela! I do add lots of water to their canned food & steamed chicken; making it kinda soupy. I beleieve raw is a good diet but the raw meat we have in HK is not that safe to be taken uncooked :roll:

Rosy PMPS 351 gave her steamed chicken & 1u.
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495/ +5 292/+9 371PMPS 351

13 cycles on this dose, 9 cycles since the last green. It looks to me like you have room to increase to 1.25u. What do you think?

Sometimes dose reductions don't hold, and the guidance is to go back up to the last good dose. In Rosy's case, that was 1.25u. Often that will cause another breakthrough and help them get back on track with better numbers.
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495/ +5 292/+9 371PMPS 351

Libby and Lucy said:
13 cycles on this dose, 9 cycles since the last green. It looks to me like you have room to increase to 1.25u. What do you think?

Sometimes dose reductions don't hold, and the guidance is to go back up to the last good dose. In Rosy's case, that was 1.25u. Often that will cause another breakthrough and help them get back on track with better numbers.


Just when I think Ive to go back to the 1.25u, Rosy gave me a green, PM +5 61. No wonder she is too restless to sit down for my pricking. How do we explain this 61 ? She has finished her bounce? the start of another bounce? I really dont know. How did that body handle a steep jump of 300 ponits? Maybe she loves roller coaster? I dont.
Gave her the canned supper.

I'd gladly increase her dose back to 1.25u if this is the right dose for her to make her stable.
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495+9 371PMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72

I cannot believe it; I can put a green smilely on the topic line! ohmygod_smile

I was thinking maybe this old brain of mine was too sleepy for testing...I tested again at +4 which is 1/2 hr after giving food. It is a really a green 72!

:?: So now what? stick with this dose & let her bounce? I should not increase to 1.25u, right?
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495+9 371PMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72

hmmm, well, I wouldn't increase just yet. Let me ask you this, is your schedule flexible enough to allow you to shoot early if she starts to bounce?

What I'm thinking is that if you test at +10 and she is already zooming up, go ahead and give the shot then. If she is not bouncing yet at +10, then test at +11 and see if the bounce has started yet. The catch is that your next shot would be due 12 hours after that one, so you would need to be able to adjust your next shot time too. Getting the insulin in early might help keep the bounce from going so high. What do you think?
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495+9 371PMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72

It looks like the threat of a dose crease worked :cool:
I think you will be staying with the same dose, but let's see what others have to say.
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495+9 371PMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Rosy has made her opinion on increasies known!!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

celi
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495+9 371PMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72/+8 50

PM +8 50 Glad I catch her going further down... ohmygod_smile gave her a bit of food.
 
Re: 4/1 Rosy AMPS 495+9 371PMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72

Libby and Lucy said:
hmmm, well, I wouldn't increase just yet. Let me ask you this, is your schedule flexible enough to allow you to shoot early if she starts to bounce?

What I'm thinking is that if you test at +10 and she is already zooming up, go ahead and give the shot then. If she is not bouncing yet at +10, then test at +11 and see if the bounce has started yet. The catch is that your next shot would be due 12 hours after that one, so you would need to be able to adjust your next shot time too. Getting the insulin in early might help keep the bounce from going so high. What do you think?


Giving an early shot would be difficult to fit in since the current time of shooting has already been brought forward by 2 hrs a while back. If the 2 shots must be 12 hows apart makes it worse to fit in.
 
Re: 4/1 RosyPMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72/+8 50/+10 65 DOSAGE AD NEED

PM +10 65


:?: Need dosage advice. As Rosy has showed us some green in this PM session, guess we should not increase on her dose? Maybe not time to reduce either? Since she is on lots of red & purple during this 1u dose.

AM shot due in 2 hrs time.
 
Re: 4/1 RosyPMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72/+8 50/+10 65 DOSAGE AD NEED

hehe rosy said no thanks to the dose increase. if she didn't get below 50 today, then just hold the dose tonight. all of the earlier advice today was before rosy showed her end of the day opinion about getting more insulin.

stay with your current dose. and this is not what libby was referring to about shooting early. go ahead and stay on your regular time, based on what is going on right now.
 
Re: 4/1 RosyPMPS 351/+5 61/+6 72/+8 50/+10 65 DOSAGE AD NEED

Definitley no increase since she nearly got to reduction levels :mrgreen: it's amazing how often kitty's read about the threat of a dosecrease in their condo and move into action. All those hours in the green last night were hours that Rosy's pancreas was healing - this is great :mrgreen: so don't take those patience pants off just yet Helen!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top