4/1 Neko PMPS 395 +2 344

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/1 Neko AMPS 523 - what to shoot?

I know those numbers are hard to see. Neko likely dropped over 200 points last night. What you're probably seeing this morning is a bounce.

I think you need to essentially ignore the readings you had on the Freestyle meter. If you look at Neko's SS for the last 2 weeks, the numbers have been pretty flat. Granted the numbers have been in high ranges, but they have been flat.
 
Re: 4/1 Neko AMPS 523 - what to shoot?

Hi Sienne,

Given that Neko had dropped 182 in 4 hours, she likely did go down over 200 points last night. I ended up shooting 3.25 (up .5) this morning but with such a high AMPS I probably won't see a lot of effect until the wee hours tonight.

Expecting very little sleep tonight. Wonder if I should just stay up past night nadir (which I don't know when it is) or nap with the alarm set except staying up when numbers start to get low.
 
Re: 4/1 Neko AMPS 523

good luck with the increase!

I don't think you are at a point (yet) where you need to worry about staying up at night all the time. It is helpful to get those before bed tests, though. If you see a big drop, then it can help to stay up and get one more test just to see if the drop is continuing, how fast, and at what point it starts to turn around and head back up. It's not something you need to do all the time. Once Neko starts getting into a lower range, then yes, more late nights will probably be needed.

One thing that is interesting about Lantus is that it seems like most cats see very little response, dose increase after dose increase, until one day all of a sudden they are at a good dose and things start to happen. It's not a gradual response, the way you might expect, it's just that one day all of a sudden there will be GREEN. Hang in there. Neko is actually doing pretty well, hitting nadirs even in low yellow on this dose, so the big breakthrough might not be that far off.
 
Re: 4/1 Neko AMPS 523

I should have expected the "high, high, high, high BG then suddenly low" from Neko. When she was on Caninsulin she did the same thing. That was back in the days before I did home testing, but was a combo of fructosamine and spot testing at the vet - they use a OneTouch. I remember upping the dose and then getting a fructosamine that was worse than her previous one and even worse than when she was diagnosed. And then after we went to just spot testing at the vet followed by increases and testing every 3 days, she suddenly dove down at nadir from a previously quite high number (around 150 points once I've done the translation to US numbers). The problem with Caninsulin was that it didn't last long enough and she was STARVING for 2 hours before dinner.
 
Re: 4/1 Neko AMPS 523 +2.5 439 +4 308

+2,5 439 +4 308

Elevator going down through the colours - yellow floor up next. Pretty big drop so far today. I expect lots of reaction to this.

Neko is hungry, but finally settling on "her" chair for a snooze post poke/dried chicken snack. It's finally a sunny day outside as well.
 
Re: 4/1 Neko AMPS 523 +2.5 439 +4 308 +5 453

+5 453

I spoke too soon. Seems to be some hard barrier to getting to yellows during the day. 200 points in 4 hours is a little hard on Ms. Liver. At least I can ease back on testing and maybe get the lawn done and a nap before tonight's fun.
 
PMPS 395, an inch of chicken neck at +1, +2 344

That's more like it, a slower steadier decline. I'll stay up for a couple of hours yet to see where this goes. Now time for more chicken dinner. I guess raw is very low carbs. I don't have the analysis on this brand, but the amount of veggies is 2-3% and kale is the first ingredient.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top